Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
175 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Hub 3 keeps restarting

My Hub 3 keeps restarting many times during the day, which has been an ongoing issue for months now. It started with a couple of restarts a day but it's getting consistently worse now. It takes 5-10 min to reconnect, which very disruptive as I am working from home these days. 

Here is the network log: 

21/10/2020 15:38:33criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=***-MAC=***;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 15:37:11Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=***-MAC=***;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 15:37:11criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=***-MAC=***;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 15:35:17Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=***;CMTS-MAC=***;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 15:35:17criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=***;CMTS-MAC=***;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 15:33:11Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=***-MAC=***;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 15:28:47criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=***-MAC=***;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 15:28:7criticalUnicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=***;CMTS-MAC=***;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 15:28:7criticalRanging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=***;CMTS-MAC=***;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 15:27:47criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=***;CMTS-MAC=***;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 15:27:27criticalUnicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=***;CMTS-MAC=***;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 15:27:27criticalRanging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=***;CMTS-MAC=***;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 15:26:47criticalUnicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=***;CMTS-MAC=***;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 15:26:47criticalRanging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=***;CMTS-MAC=***;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 15:25:47criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=***;CMTS-MAC=***;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 15:21:16Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=***;CMTS-MAC=***;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 15:21:16criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=***;CMTS-MAC=***;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 15:21:16Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=***;CMTS-MAC=***;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 15:20:18noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=***;CMTS-MAC=***;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 15:04:42criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=***;CMTS-MAC=***;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

Can someone from the Virgin team please help me resolving the issue? Reaching the customer support via phone is close to impossible at this point and it hasn't helped in the past.  

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 24.72K
  • 1.43K
  • 3.15K
Alessandro Volta
169 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 keeps restarting

Post the upstream and downstream logs too


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
161 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 keeps restarting

Here: 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

13950000007.838256 qam33
22190000006.638256 qam11
32270000006.338256 qam12
42350000005.638256 qam13
52430000006.538256 qam14
6251000000738256 qam15
72590000005.538256 qam16
82670000005.438256 qam17
9275000000738256 qam18
102830000006.438256 qam19
112910000005.938256 qam20
122990000007.438256 qam21
133070000007.338256 qam22
143150000006.838256 qam23
153230000006.638256 qam24
163310000006.638256 qam25
173390000007.338256 qam26
183470000007.838256 qam27
193550000006.138256 qam28
203630000006.840256 qam29
213710000007.638256 qam30
223790000006.538256 qam31
233870000006.138256 qam32
244030000006.138256 qam34



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.31161373
2Locked38.91101099
3Locked38.91061585
4Locked38.61452289
5Locked38.6972724
6Locked38.91342557
7Locked38.61392430
8Locked38.91522838
9Locked38.61112484
10Locked38.61632292
11Locked38.61242562
12Locked38.61212071
13Locked38.91332454
14Locked38.91251673
15Locked38.61273132
16Locked38.61232258
17Locked38.91121974
18Locked38.61351877
19Locked38.61732565
20Locked40.31225725
21Locked38.61411399
22Locked38.61692232
23Locked38.61221794
24Locked38.91231697

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

15370000042512032 qam2
23940000043.5512032 qam4
34620000042.5512032 qam3
46030000046.5512032 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Thanks for looking into this! 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 24.72K
  • 1.43K
  • 3.15K
Alessandro Volta
159 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 keeps restarting

When was the last time you powered it off at the mains and back on again?


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
148 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 keeps restarting

I'm not sure. Do you think this could help?

I usually switch the power button on the hub off and on a couple of times a day because of these issues. 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 24.72K
  • 1.43K
  • 3.15K
Alessandro Volta
141 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 keeps restarting

Power it off an on again and post the logs back again in an hours time.


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
117 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 keeps restarting

OK, here are the new logs about an hour after switching it off and on: 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

21/10/2020 21:19:6criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=****-MAC=****;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 21:17:46criticalUnicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=****;CMTS-MAC=****;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 21:17:46criticalRanging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=****;CMTS-MAC=****;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 21:16:34criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=****;CMTS-MAC=****;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 21:16:13Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=****;CMTS-MAC=****;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 21:16:13criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=****;CMTS-MAC=****;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 21:14:55Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=****;CMTS-MAC=****;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 21:07:35criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=****;CMTS-MAC=****;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 21:06:15criticalUnicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=****;CMTS-MAC=****;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 21:06:15criticalRanging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=****;CMTS-MAC=****;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 21:04:55criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=****;CMTS-MAC=****;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 21:04:40Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=****;CMTS-MAC=****;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 21:04:40criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=****;CMTS-MAC=****;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 20:49:14Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=****;CMTS-MAC=****;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 20:49:14criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=****;CMTS-MAC=****;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 20:31:12Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=****;CMTS-MAC=****;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 20:31:12criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=****;CMTS-MAC=****;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 19:14:15criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=****;CMTS-MAC=****;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 19:12:20criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=****;CMTS-MAC=****;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 19:12:19criticalUnicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=****;CMTS-MAC=****;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 24.72K
  • 1.43K
  • 3.15K
Alessandro Volta
106 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 keeps restarting

And the upstream and downstream logs please 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
99 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 keeps restarting

Ah, here:

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

139500000013.438256 qam33
22190000001440256 qam11
32270000001440256 qam12
423500000013.938256 qam13
524300000013.940256 qam14
625100000013.938256 qam15
72590000001338256 qam16
82670000001338256 qam17
927500000013.840256 qam18
1028300000012.938256 qam19
1129100000012.638256 qam20
1229900000014.538256 qam21
1330700000013.838256 qam22
1431500000012.538256 qam23
1532300000013.438256 qam24
1633100000013.538256 qam25
1733900000013.338256 qam26
1834700000013.338256 qam27
1935500000012.938256 qam28
2036300000012.840256 qam29
213710000001338256 qam30
2237900000012.538256 qam31
2338700000012.338256 qam32
2440300000011.538256 qam34



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.31161373
2Locked38.91101099
3Locked38.91061585
4Locked38.61452289
5Locked38.6972724
6Locked38.91342557
7Locked38.61392430
8Locked38.91522838
9Locked38.61112484
10Locked38.61632292
11Locked38.61242562
12Locked38.61212071
13Locked38.91332454
14Locked38.91251673
15Locked38.61273132
16Locked38.61232258
17Locked38.91121974
18Locked38.61351877
19Locked38.61732565
20Locked40.31225725
21Locked38.61411399
22Locked38.61692232
23Locked38.61221794
24Locked38.91231697

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

15370000035512032 qam2
23940000033.5512032 qam4
34620000034512032 qam3
46030000035512032 qam1

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA00260
2ATDMA00130
3ATDMA0020
4ATDMA00620

 

Does this give you a better idea of what might be causing the issue? 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 24.72K
  • 1.43K
  • 3.15K
Alessandro Volta
94 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Hub 3 keeps restarting

So, downstream power levels are too high.

Upstream levels are too low and are only QAM32 and should be QAM64.

You need a tech visit. 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply