Menu
Reply
  • 28
  • 0
  • 0
shack69
Joining in
335 Views
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Hub 3 keeps loosing connectivity

Over the last few week I have noticed that on a frequent basis my Hub is loosing connection to the internet and the wifi lights just flashes on the device and some times to fix it all i can do is a full power off of the device.  I have included a copy of the network log and you can see numerous errors .  I have however experience the loss of connectivity at times not listed below.   Do these errors indicate a issue on my hub or in the local area to the virgin cabinet in the street.

Note: i have also notice the occasional pixelization on some tv channels also.

In addition on the downstream channel 6 has 7856 post rs errors.

Hub mac address replaced with ****************  below

Time Priority Description

29/03/2019 20:19:37criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=****************;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/03/2019 20:46:45Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=****************;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/03/2019 04:17:31criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=****************;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/03/2019 04:49:9Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=****************;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/03/2019 23:01:4criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=****************;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/03/2019 00:32:16Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=****************;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/03/2019 19:12:28criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=****************;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/03/2019 19:50:43Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=****************;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/03/2019 21:01:18criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=****************;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/03/2019 21:06:59Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=****************;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/03/2019 22:00:12criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=****************;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/03/2019 22:00:32Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=****************;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/04/2019 00:16:19criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=****************;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/04/2019 00:50:25Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=****************;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/04/2019 07:13:23ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=****************;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/04/2019 08:09:27Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=****************;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/04/2019 22:57:58ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=****************;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/04/2019 23:03:28Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=****************;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/04/2019 06:50:15ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=****************;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/04/2019 07:17:43Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=****************;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6.39K
  • 492
  • 1.06K
Tudor
Hero
302 Views
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 keeps loosing connectivity

We need your up/down stream stats as well. 


Tudor
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't and F people out of 10 who do not understand hexadecimal c1a2a285948293859940d9a49385a2
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 28
  • 0
  • 0
shack69
Joining in
288 Views
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 keeps loosing connectivity

the current figures are as follows

Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1461999914.975512064 qam3
2325999794.975512064 qam5
3393999814.975512064 qam4
4536999224.975512064 qam2


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1283000000-6.236256 qam19
2139000000-1.236256 qam1
3147000000-1.436256 qam2
4155000000-1.737256 qam3
5163000000-236256 qam4
6171000000-2.237256 qam5
7179000000-2.737256 qam6
8187000000-3.237256 qam7
9195000000-3.737256 qam8
10203000000-436256 qam9
11211000000-4.536256 qam10
12219000000-4.737256 qam11
13227000000-536256 qam12
14235000000-5.236256 qam13
15243000000-5.436256 qam14
16251000000-5.537256 qam15
17259000000-5.536256 qam16
18267000000-5.936256 qam17
19275000000-5.936256 qam18
20291000000-6.736256 qam20
21299000000-736256 qam21
22307000000-6.936256 qam22
23315000000-7.236256 qam23
24323000000-7.536256 qam24



Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked36.3500
2Locked36.61800
3Locked36.3950
4Locked37.3104889
5Locked36.31120
6Locked37.32423280396
7Locked37.3510
8Locked37.6400
9Locked37.3420
10Locked36.3590
11Locked36.3410
12Locked37.6670
13Locked36.6610
14Locked36.6620
15Locked36.6450
16Locked37.3430
17Locked36.6390
18Locked36.3360
19Locked36.6170
20Locked36.3540
21Locked36.3650
22Locked36.6470
23Locked36.67010
24Locked36.69217

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 4.35K
  • 499
  • 1.42K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
273 Views
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 keeps loosing connectivity

The recommended range for downstream channels is -6 to +10 and several of your channels are below -6.  Combined with the errors in the log and this looks like a fairly unhealthy connection that needs some TLC.

This will need a technician to visit you to investigate and sort these issues.  You can call VM and try to book a visit or wait for the VM staff to get to this thread and they can help you book a visit.  It may take the staff a few days to get to this thread.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out.
My setup: V6 TV box, Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

 

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 28
  • 0
  • 0
shack69
Joining in
251 Views
Message 5 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 keeps loosing connectivity

I'll wait as calling can involve a long wait time on the phone.
I also know that nothing has changed with the connection of my router to the street, so this is either a intermittent router issue or cabling in the street.

But what interests me is that other people are also complaining and this has only started happening since I was notified of the change to intelligent wifi.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 4.35K
  • 499
  • 1.42K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
229 Views
Message 6 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 keeps loosing connectivity


@shack69 wrote:
I'll wait as calling can involve a long wait time on the phone.
I also know that nothing has changed with the connection of my router to the street, so this is either a intermittent router issue or cabling in the street.

But what interests me is that other people are also complaining and this has only started happening since I was notified of the change to intelligent wifi.

The intelligent WiFi update can't have changed your power levels, that is just a coincidence.  You may have additional wireless issues due to the update, but you need your levels corrected and the hub stable and staying online before investigating any potential wireless issues.

______________________
Scott

As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

 

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 105
  • 2
  • 4
Forum Team (Retired) Ellen_C
Forum Team (Retired)
206 Views
Message 7 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 keeps loosing connectivity

Thank you for reaching out @ shack69

Sorry to know about this.

We need to run some test with you and investigate further, we can do this via our online chat.

Let us know how it goes. ^Ellen_C

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply