Menu
Reply
chriswb
  • 23
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
317 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Hub 3 drops internet connection

Hi,

 

I have a Virgin media Hub 3 in modem mode that has started recently dropping the connection to the internet. My internal network is fine, however once this happens I usually have reboot the Hub or wait for it pick the connection back up again. I am on M600.

There hasn’t been any issues in the area. Do these stats from the hub look ok? Thanks 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1203000000-240256 qam9
2211000000-2.240256 qam10
3219000000-2.240256 qam11
4227000000-240256 qam12
5235000000-2.240256 qam13
6243000000-2.240256 qam14
7251000000-2.440256 qam15
8259000000-2.440256 qam16
9267000000-2.540256 qam17
10275000000-2.740256 qam18
11283000000-2.740256 qam19
12291000000-2.740256 qam20
13299000000-2.740256 qam21
14307000000-340256 qam22
15315000000-3.240256 qam23
16323000000-3.540256 qam24
17331000000-3.440256 qam25
18339000000-3.440256 qam26
19347000000-3.240256 qam27
20355000000-3.540256 qam28
21363000000-3.540256 qam29
22371000000-3.740256 qam30
23379000000-3.740256 qam31
24387000000-3.740256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.38237355
2Locked40.36757633
3Locked40.96936460
4Locked40.96275292
5Locked40.96074133
6Locked40.36484159
7Locked40.97373492
8Locked40.31287933
9Locked40.91084878
10Locked40.9978669
11Locked40.3648549
12Locked40.3878677
13Locked40.311731775
14Locked40.311741604
15Locked40.39242964
16Locked40.38012366
17Locked40.36672943
18Locked40.37973586
19Locked40.37993434
20Locked40.38933115
21Locked40.39412959
22Locked40.312092099
23Locked40.312091913
24Locked40.39573175

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13260000046.3512064 qam5
23940000046.5512064 qam4
34620000046.8512064 qam3
45370000047512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 24K
  • 2.54K
  • 4.36K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
310 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 drops internet connection

Stats look ok - but to be sure can you do this and then set up a BQM as per below.
__________________________________

Switch the Hub off and unplug it for a few minutes and then start up. Whilst it's off, do a quick check that all of your coax cable connections are in nice and "finger" tight - at the Hub and wall box and also at any connectors etc. Ensure there are no “unterminated cable loose ends. Disconnect all the connections and reconnect to be sure.

When done, check back in the settings and ensure that the RS error counts have all reset to 0. Then check every hour or so to see if they start reappearing - they shouldn't. If they do (particularly the postRS ones) you have a problem (noise) that only a Tech visit will sort.
___________________________________

If you haven’t already, set up a free and secure “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts , latency issues, packet drops, etc - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” to the “share live graph” (as per instructions on the TB website) when it starts to develop.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
chriswb
  • 23
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
255 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 drops internet connection

The intermittent dropouts continue, looking at the network log in the router, does this have anything to do with it?

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

22/07/2021 08:00:44Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/07/2021 08:00:44criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 24K
  • 2.54K
  • 4.36K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
249 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 drops internet connection

Lets see the BQM

For log messages - see this.....

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Hub-status-data-understanding-network-log-messages/td-p/4...

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
chriswb
  • 23
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
244 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 drops internet connection

Here is the RS logs after starting restarting  the modem 

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.350
2Locked40.950
3Locked40.950
4Locked40.360
5Locked40.900
6Locked40.300
7Locked40.300
8Locked40.960
9Locked40.950
10Locked40.350
11Locked40.350
12Locked40.350
13Locked40.350
14Locked40.350
15Locked40.340
16Locked40.900
17Locked40.340
18Locked40.340
19Locked40.950
20Locked40.360
21Locked40.350
22Locked40.350
23Locked40.3130
24Locked40.300
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 24K
  • 2.54K
  • 4.36K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
239 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 drops internet connection

Looks fine

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
chriswb
  • 23
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
212 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 drops internet connection

Lots of Post RS Errors now 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.32854274
2Locked40.92744938
3Locked40.32804420
4Locked40.32683356
5Locked40.34112094
6Locked40.34062180
7Locked40.35601738
8Locked40.32570
9Locked40.360398
10Locked40.3680
11Locked40.3130
12Locked40.344971
13Locked40.9817904
14Locked40.9735784
15Locked40.328516
16Locked40.3999868
17Locked40.37241485
18Locked40.3928558
19Locked40.3513165
20Locked40.390
21Locked40.380
22Locked40.3770
23Locked40.39581114
24Locked40.93932179
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 24K
  • 2.54K
  • 4.36K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
138 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 drops internet connection

Not good - try calling in and see what t hey say. Or a VM person should pick this up in a day or so.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Hayley_S
  • 1.12K
  • 32
  • 84
Forum Team
Forum Team
103 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 drops internet connection

Hello @chriswb.

 

Welcome back to the community page, thank you for posting on here.

 

I am sorry to see that your internet connection is dropping recently.

 

I was unable to locate your account using your forums details, can you please tell me if you have the same issues on your wired connection?

 

Look forward to your response.

Hayley
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
chriswb
  • 23
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
89 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 drops internet connection

Hi,

A engineer visited today and determined that a lot of the cabling and endpoints were old and therefore causing noise on the line.

He replaced with new cabling/endpoints. Once he left I turned the router off, then on again to clear the logs. Unfortunately the POST RS Errors started to increase again: 

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.3104116
2Locked40.949354
3Locked40.374167
4Locked40.934397
5Locked40.347234
6Locked40.352216
7Locked40.310388
8Locked40.970
9Locked40.3100
10Locked40.9110
11Locked40.93434
12Locked40.97228
13Locked40.39742
14Locked40.3463
15Locked40.9220
16Locked40.3562
17Locked40.96334
18Locked40.366198
19Locked40.950220
20Locked40.990176
21Locked40.311345
22Locked40.36552
23Locked40.32150
24Locked40.32051
0 Kudos
Reply