Menu
Highlighted
zachwg
Just joined
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Hub 3 downstairs, plusnet hub one wireless router upstairs

Hi everyone,

Please forgive me for any inaccuracies or confusion i'm new to this. 

I currently have a hub 3.0 downstairs in the lounge set up working as a normal router, that my devices are connected to wirelessly. from my previous house i have a plusnet hub one router. 

Upstairs in my gaming room the wireless connectivity experiences large lag spikes and slower connection. 

the idea is to plug the plusnet hub one router upstairs into the mains and have it communicate wirelessly with the hub 3 downstairs to extend the wifi range, providing better coverage upstairs. ideally ethernet cables would be run from the plusnet hub one into my gaming consoles, however i understand when setting up the second router i may not be able to run the ethernet cables from the router?

is this possible with the routers i've got, ive done some research into wireless bridging and think that may be the answer but could be wildly wrong. 

thanks for any help anyone can offer! 

Zach

0 Kudos
Highlighted
legacy1
Alessandro Volta
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 downstairs, plusnet hub one wireless router upstairs

Not going to work your plusnet hub one router is not a connecting client.

You should run wire to the upstairs would be best or buy a better wireless router with 1Gb ports and use the hub in modem mode.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

@zachwg wrote:

Hi everyone,

Please forgive me for any inaccuracies or confusion i'm new to this. 

I currently have a hub 3.0 downstairs in the lounge set up working as a normal router, that my devices are connected to wirelessly. from my previous house i have a plusnet hub one router. 

Upstairs in my gaming room the wireless connectivity experiences large lag spikes and slower connection.