Menu
Highlighted
Tuning in
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Hub 3 auto reboot on loss of connection

Hi all,

Isn't it stupid that because there are faults in my area with the broadband, and the modem keeps losing connection, it keeps rebooting, who designed this device, some imbecile? The modem is also a router, I have other local devices connected to it, such as CCTVs, printers etcetera, and the stupid thing keeps making my LAN drop as it trys to connect, I am an IT engineer, and worked on many routers, non of them needs to reboot the entire device, and drop all the LAN connection to attempt reconnection, fix the firmware Virgin Media!

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 auto reboot on loss of connection

I know this will come across as inflammatory, it isn't intended that way.  If you're an IT professional, why are you relying upon an ISP supplied router that a moment's consideration will tell you was specced and built to be as cheap as inhumanly possible?  If you want robust wifi, then spend the price of a month's coffee addiction on a respectable router or mesh wifi setup, as many round these parts have.

That won't solve any cable connection and reliability issues, but at least gets you better and more reliable wifi.  In some areas VM seem unable to provide reliable connections, and if that is the case for you and matters then the only answer is to tolerate it, or find another ISP.