Menu
Highlighted
Tuning in
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Hub 3 Wifi keeps disconnecting

Hi there, 

I wondered if anyone can help me? 

We recently changed from sky to virgin but ever since we have had the hub 3, the Internet connection has been really poor and regularly disconnects. 

The hub has been reset multiple times but nothing has changed and it always seems to display a solid yellow light.

I know that WiFi connections are not guaranteed by virgin but the hub 3 is situated in a very similar location to the old sky router and yet we never had connection issues with that.

The hub 3 is less than 6 metres away from the smart TV and xbox but it still regularly loses connection. I have tried all the steps online and spoke to a very unhelpful virgin employee online who said I should buy boosters for £3 extra a month....

I am no IT expert but our virgin socket is connected to an old and very damaged telewest wall socket (that comes in from outside) by a long coaxial cable extension that passes through a splitter, which I assume was installed by a previous tenant.

Is there any chance that a faulty wire could be a cause of the connection issues? 

Any help much appreciated. 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Alessandro Volta
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Wifi keeps disconnecting

What are wired connections like? Do they also disconnect?

Theres no point comparing it to another ISP’s router as they’re all different specs and hardware. 

If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Tuning in
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator