Menu
Reply
Teppotastic
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
265 Views
Message 1 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Hub 3 Rebooting every day between 1000 and 1100

Well, it looks like our Hub 3.0 has decided it wants to reboot itself between 1000 and 1100 every day, which as both my partner and I work from home, is more than a little disruptive to meetings and video calls etc.

I seem to have 4 upstream channels and 24 downstream channels. I can also see the following error every couple of days, but nothing in the timeframe where the Hub reboots itself.
(MACs obfuscated, obviously)
No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CMTS-MAC=YY:YY:YY:YY:YY:YY;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

Anyone else got some clever ideas on how to resolve this? It's been going on for months now 😞

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 937
  • 70
  • 141
Well-informed
261 Views
Message 2 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Rebooting every day between 1000 and 1100

Can you post your Hub status and logs?
Someone should be spot if there is a problem
Navigate to http://192.168.0.1 (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode)
Don't log in!
Click on 'router status'
Copy/paste the data from each of the tabs. The forum software will remove the MAC addresses for you (you may need to click the 'post' button again).

Also, set up a 'Broadband Quality Monitor'. This will monitor the state of your connection and record any network dropouts etc - You can do this at ThinkBroadband (https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality)



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

Teppotastic
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
249 Views
Message 3 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Rebooting every day between 1000 and 1100

Thanks for the quick response!
Already set up a BQM just before posting as I'd seen it was helpful in some other posts, so will leave that running.
Info dump, though bear in mind it's not long after the router rebooted itself so if there's any counters that reset on boot, they've done so 😞

BQM: https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/354077afd7f997994473aba4fcdfe76980...


Status

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
267000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
32599956
Locked
Provisioning State
Online


Downstream

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

126700000011.340256 qam17
22750000001140256 qam18
328300000011.140256 qam19
429100000011.440256 qam20
529900000011.140256 qam21
63070000001140256 qam22
731500000010.940256 qam23
832300000010.640256 qam24
933100000010.540256 qam25
103390000001040256 qam26
113470000009.840256 qam27
123550000009.140256 qam28
133630000008.840256 qam29
143710000008.540256 qam30
153790000008.540256 qam31
163870000008.640256 qam32
173950000008.840256 qam33
184030000008.640256 qam34
194110000008.538256 qam35
204190000008.340256 qam36
214270000008.340256 qam37
224350000008.140256 qam38
234430000008.340256 qam39
244510000008.440256 qam40



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.370
2Locked40.960
3Locked40.340
4Locked40.390
5Locked40.390
6Locked40.950
7Locked40.350
8Locked40.380
9Locked40.380
10Locked40.360
11Locked40.380
12Locked40.360
13Locked40.370
14Locked40.3140
15Locked40.380
16Locked40.380
17Locked40.980
18Locked40.360
19Locked38.950
20Locked40.950
21Locked40.370
22Locked40.3170
23Locked40.3100
24Locked40.310

 

Upstream

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13259995640512064 qam5
23940000040512064 qam4
34620001040512064 qam3
45370000040.3512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0010
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000




0 Kudos
Reply
Teppotastic
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
248 Views
Message 4 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Rebooting every day between 1000 and 1100

Configuration

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060+voc-b.cm



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID20350
Max Traffic Rate230000061
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID20349
Max Traffic Rate22000061
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

Network log

Network Log

Time Priority Description

16/04/2021 12:20:0noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/04/2021 22:49:52criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/04/2021 07:41:52ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/04/2021 15:18:12criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/04/2021 22:37:54ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/04/2021 11:23:7criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/04/2021 10:32:11noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/04/2021 06:28:44ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/04/2021 00:52:54criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/04/2021 00:47:52criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/04/2021 00:45:26Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/04/2021 00:45:23Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/04/2021 00:45:23criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/04/2021 00:45:22Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/04/2021 00:45:22criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/03/2021 06:37:27criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/03/2021 12:03:5ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/03/2021 02:33:30criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/03/2021 23:03:5ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/03/2021 15:27:46criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 937
  • 70
  • 141
Well-informed
243 Views
Message 5 of 15
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Hub 3 Rebooting every day between 1000 and 1100

Downstream power levels look a little high to me..

I think you may need VM to fit an attenuator!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
Teppotastic
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
241 Views
Message 6 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Rebooting every day between 1000 and 1100

Interesting! Roughly what should we expect to see?

And how do I go about getting VM to take a look? Their "contact us" pages aren't the most helpful.

0 Kudos
Reply
Corey_C
  • 3.46K
  • 187
  • 273
Forum Team
Forum Team
108 Views
Message 7 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Rebooting every day between 1000 and 1100

Thanks for your post and welcome to the Community Forums, Teppotastic,

 

Sorry to hear that you have been having issues with your hub, how has things been since your last post? Is it still rebooting?

 

Cheers,

Corey C

0 Kudos
Reply
Teppotastic
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
101 Views
Message 8 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Rebooting every day between 1000 and 1100

Thanks for the welcome Corey_C.

I was in phone calls all morning so didn't notice any drops, however I've checked the log and it doesn't look like the router rebooted this morning as it's up-time is more than 3 days.

Perhaps it's more intermittent than "every" day - but we definitely go through stretches (like last week) where it happens on consecutive days for a few days.

Do you have any insight into the Power levels that were highlighted earlier in this thread? Or anything else we can look at?

Cheers

0 Kudos
Reply
Corey_C
  • 3.46K
  • 187
  • 273
Forum Team
Forum Team
97 Views
Message 9 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Rebooting every day between 1000 and 1100

Thanks for reply, Teppotastic, yes, you might need an vist. I'll send you a private message because I couldn't get your details.

0 Kudos
Reply
Corey_C
  • 3.46K
  • 187
  • 273
Forum Team
Forum Team
87 Views
Message 10 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Rebooting every day between 1000 and 1100

Thanks for your message and clearing data protections, Teppotastic

 

I have set up an engineer’s visit for you which you will be able to view from your online account here.

 

Cheers,

Corey C