Menu
Reply
sladep
  • 34
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
502 Views
Message 1 of 47
Flag for a moderator

Hub 3 Randomly Rebooting Itself

Hi,

My Hub 3 is randomly restarting itself, just happened twice in the last 10 minutes. This started happening about two weeks ago. No changes to the setup. The Hub is in Modem mode. It's not overheating as it is in the open and doesn't feel hot to touch. 

Can anyone advise, including VM support if you read these forums?

This is extremely irritating especially during during COVID times when we are working at home.

Thanks,

Paul.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
nodrogd
  • 16.82K
  • 1.97K
  • 4.08K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
496 Views
Message 2 of 47
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Hub 3 Randomly Rebooting Itself

Rebooting may be a symptom of signal issues. If your signals are borderline, increasing temperatures outside can cause them to go out of spec as well.

Access your hub stats via 192.168.100.1 and click on the stats link (no need to log in).

Copy & paste the Downstream/Upstream values & the error log entries to the forum & that will give us an idea what is going on.

 

VM BB TV Landline PAYG mobile. Freeview/Freesat HD, Tesco Mobile. Customer since 1993

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
sladep
  • 34
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
493 Views
Message 3 of 47
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Randomly Rebooting Itself

Just to add further info after reading other posts.

When this happens all internet connectivity is lost until the Hub has fully restarted/rebooted and internet services re-established. Usually only takes a minute or two but frustrating if you are in the middle of a Teams call! Usual light sequences noted on the front of the Hub as it restarts itself until it is fully on line in Modem mode.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
sladep
  • 34
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
490 Views
Message 4 of 47
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Randomly Rebooting Itself

thanks for the quick reply. Info below but don't see a tab for error logs?

Downstream.

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1402750000-440256 qam30
2202750000-1.740256 qam9
3210750000-2.440256 qam10
4218750000-2.540256 qam11
5226750000-2.540256 qam12
6234750000-2.740256 qam13
7242750000-340256 qam14
8250750000-3.240256 qam15
9258750000-2.940256 qam16
10266750000-2.940256 qam17
11274750000-3.240256 qam18
12282750000-3.540256 qam19
13290750000-3.240256 qam20
14298750000-340256 qam21
15306750000-3.440256 qam22
16314750000-3.540256 qam23
17322750000-3.440256 qam24
18330750000-3.240256 qam25
19370750000-3.540256 qam26
20378750000-438256 qam27
21386750000-4.440256 qam28
22394750000-4.240256 qam29
23410750000-4.240256 qam31
24418750000-4.540256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.350
2Locked40.360
3Locked38.970
4Locked40.370
5Locked40.950
6Locked40.370
7Locked40.350
8Locked40.300
9Locked40.340
10Locked40.340
11Locked40.970
12Locked40.340
13Locked40.960
14Locked40.390
15Locked40.340
16Locked40.300
17Locked40.360
18Locked40.990
19Locked40.310
20Locked38.9110
21Locked40.940
22Locked40.350
23Locked40.350
24Locked40.3130

 

Upstream

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

15369996946.5512064 qam6
23939998145512064 qam8
34619998146.5512064 qam7
46030003146.5512064 qam5



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
nodrogd
  • 16.82K
  • 1.97K
  • 4.08K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
468 Views
Message 5 of 47
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Randomly Rebooting Itself

It’s the tab marked “network log”.

VM BB TV Landline PAYG mobile. Freeview/Freesat HD, Tesco Mobile. Customer since 1993

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
sladep
  • 34
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
463 Views
Message 6 of 47
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Randomly Rebooting Itself

Thanks, see below.

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

13/06/2021 19:39:34noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/06/2021 12:36:8criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/06/2021 10:19:44noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/06/2021 10:19:44ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/06/2021 13:35:14criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/06/2021 22:19:43noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/06/2021 22:19:43ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/06/2021 19:38:46criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/06/2021 18:54:56noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/06/2021 18:54:56ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/05/2021 07:22:8criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/05/2021 07:07:40noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/05/2021 07:07:40ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/05/2021 01:13:3criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/05/2021 09:39:52noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/05/2021 09:39:52ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/05/2021 14:18:39criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/05/2021 21:39:52noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/05/2021 21:39:52ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/05/2021 21:18:3criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
sladep
  • 34
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
455 Views
Message 7 of 47
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Randomly Rebooting Itself

Apart from the sporadic hub reboots service is not a problem. Speed tests generally show the speeds I pay for e.g. 100Mbps down/10Mbps up/6ms latency. 

0 Kudos
Reply
Tudor
  • 8.48K
  • 675
  • 1.52K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
451 Views
Message 8 of 47
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Randomly Rebooting Itself

There are NO reboots, the hub is losing connection to the CMTS and try to reconnect all the time. If the hub is rebooting you will see a date of 01/01/1970 in the log.


Tudor
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't and F people out of 10 who do not understand hexadecimal c1a2a285948293859940d9a49385a2
0 Kudos
Reply
sladep
  • 34
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
447 Views
Message 9 of 47
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Randomly Rebooting Itself

ok thanks, good to know.

Why does it lose connection and how do I get it fixed?

0 Kudos
Reply
goodbodyj
  • 15
  • 2
  • 5
On our wavelength
356 Views
Message 10 of 47
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Hub 3 Randomly Rebooting Itself

For what it's worth I had very similar symptoms.

Hub 3 appeared to be rebooting:  wifi SSIDs disappear from being broadcast for about 4 minutes, lights on the Hub 3 go through the same sequence as when the Hub 3 is powered on.  BUT, no  "01/01/1970" in the log, so no evidence of a reboot there.  Apart from the seeming reboot internet was fine, levels looked good, error levels low, post-RS usually zero, occasionally 1 or 2.

Virgin engineer came round.  He seemed a little sceptical of my "reboot" claims given he lack of log entries, but what can you say, it looks exactly like a reboot in terms of lack of connectivity and Hub lights.  He put a new Hub 3 in place.  Sadly, exactly the same as the previous one, no improvement.

Note I'd done a pin-reset previously.  That took the firmware version back and the Hub was stable until the firmware updated again.  Hmmm.  Suspicious.

Anyway, I bought a router, moved to modem mode and all is now super-stable.  So, you could battle Virgin or maybe just give up and go down the modem mode route.

Good luck!

0 Kudos
Reply