Menu
Reply
PaulH2011
  • 173
  • 0
  • 17
Dialled in
168 Views
Message 1 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Hub 3.0 takes ages to connect

Frequently up to 20 minutes, continually switching between 'connected' and not connected' on the desktop screen, and even when showing 'connected' email can't connect.  Sometimes I have to reboot the router before it will connect.  This is both ethernet and wifi, and it has been doing it ever since I got it several years ago.

Someone elsewhere mentioned he received a superhub 3 replacement via a link after similar issues, but so far I've not been able to find a link to request this.

Any ideas?

0 Kudos
Reply
Andruser
  • 5.52K
  • 970
  • 2.28K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
150 Views
Message 2 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 takes ages to connect

Could be a power or noise issue, which is more likely than a faulty hub.  Connect to the hub by clicking on this link http://192.168.0.1/  That should pull up the log in page for the hub.  But don't log in, just click on the link "Check router status"  That'll bring up a window with five tabs.  Open the Downstream tab.  Select all the text (Ctrl-A if using a keyboard), copy it (Ctrl-C), then paste it (Ctrl-V) into a reply here.  Post that, do the same for the Upstream and Network log.  You'll get an error message when you post the Network log, just click on "post" a second time.

Then we can check for any obvious problems with power, noise or error counts.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
PaulH2011
  • 173
  • 0
  • 17
Dialled in
147 Views
Message 3 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 takes ages to connect

Thanks:

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

13230000003.740256 qam24
21390000003.238256 qam1
31470000002.237256 qam2
41550000002.937256 qam3
51630000002.737256 qam4
61710000002.938256 qam5
71790000002.538256 qam6
81870000002.538256 qam7
91950000002.538256 qam8
10203000000238256 qam9
112110000001.738256 qam10
122190000001.238256 qam11
132270000000.238256 qam12
14235000000038256 qam13
15243000000-0.538256 qam14
16251000000-0.238256 qam15
172590000000.538256 qam16
18267000000138256 qam17
192750000001.238256 qam18
202830000001.738256 qam19
21291000000240256 qam20
222990000002.538256 qam21
233070000002.738256 qam22
243150000003.240256 qam23



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.3540
2Locked38.6151826
3Locked37.642326
4Locked37.645263
5Locked37.643361
6Locked38.932230
7Locked38.629153
8Locked38.92964
9Locked38.618032
10Locked38.616922
11Locked38.914834
12Locked38.614527
13Locked38.912428
14Locked38.914125
15Locked38.61131
16Locked38.61040
17Locked38.9900
18Locked38.9480
19Locked38.6650
20Locked38.68535
21Locked40.37927
22Locked38.98514
23Locked38.9300
24Locked40.38319
0 Kudos
Reply
PaulH2011
  • 173
  • 0
  • 17
Dialled in
146 Views
Message 4 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 takes ages to connect

Upstream:

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

12580000041.5512064 qam6
23260001441512064 qam5
33940004641.5512064 qam4
44620007044512064 qam3



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
PaulH2011
  • 173
  • 0
  • 17
Dialled in
145 Views
Message 5 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 takes ages to connect

Network log:

Network Log

Time Priority Description

28/01/2021 13:17:21Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/01/2021 10:04:7criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/01/2021 08:13:41noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file
20/01/2021 08:11:28noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
11/01/2021 16:42:39criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/01/2021 08:19:49noticeNOTICE ATOM is restarted as part of Self Healing Mechanism;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/01/2021 12:58:33Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/01/2021 21:23:54criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/01/2021 18:13:4criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/01/2021 18:13:4Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/01/2021 18:12:57Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/01/2021 18:12:53criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/01/2021 18:12:53Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/01/2021 18:12:53criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/01/2021 18:02:2Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/01/2021 18:02:2Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/01/2021 18:02:2Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/01/2021 18:02:2Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/01/2021 18:02:2Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/01/2021 18:02:2Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
PaulH2011
  • 173
  • 0
  • 17
Dialled in
143 Views
Message 6 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 takes ages to connect

Incidentally I had to click Post twice for all three, and an extra bit of info once connected it stays connected for the rest of the day apart from the occasional Virgin network problem.

0 Kudos
Reply
Andruser
  • 5.52K
  • 970
  • 2.28K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
124 Views
Message 7 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 takes ages to connect

Power levels and reported SNR are OK.  the network log looks like there's occaisional bad days and then no problems for a several?  The downstream error counts may indicate an issue - the "post-RS" errors are a bit high across most channels, and the logged error "Atom is restarting as part of self healing" remains a serious sounding but unexplained error.  Maybe you do need a new hub?  I'll flag for the staff to comment.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
PaulH2011
  • 173
  • 0
  • 17
Dialled in
111 Views
Message 8 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 takes ages to connect

Thanks.

The problem occurs every single day, only very rarely does it finally connect in less than five minutes, I can't recall it ever connecting first time.  I don't load the mail program (or anything else) until my anti-virus program (Kaspersky) is showing as loaded and active.

0 Kudos
Reply
Emma_C
  • 8.28K
  • 512
  • 545
Forum Team
Forum Team
93 Views
Message 9 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 takes ages to connect

Hi PaulH2011, 

I am really sorry you're having some on going issues with your broadband service, this isn't good. 

We can certainly have a look and see what's going on and replace the hub if needed. 

To do this I will need some account information so I'll pop you a personal message now and we can take it from there. 

Thanks. 

Emma_C - Forum Team
0 Kudos
Reply
PaulH2011
  • 173
  • 0
  • 17
Dialled in
68 Views
Message 10 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 takes ages to connect

Thanks.

However I did respond to that message, and reply here, but from one of those got an 'authentication failed' message and I can't see my reply here, or my response when going back to the private message, so I don't know what went and what didn't.  I'll try posting this and see what happens ...

0 Kudos
Reply