Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
188 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Hub 3.0 resetting every night between 12am and 1am

Hi there, I've had this problem since I joined VM and got the router, thinking it was normal and just that VM were doing an update or something but it happens every night without fail still and it's getting a little annoying.

Not sure what info to post but I can try my best.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 17.51K
  • 1.84K
  • 3.05K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
184 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 resetting every night between 12am and 1am

How long has it been going on? Does it happen at other times? what do the Hub lights do at this time?  Is it a "reset/reboot" or is it just a loss of connection?  If that - does it happen on ethernet cable wired connections as well as wifi ones?


--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
178 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 resetting every night between 12am and 1am

It's been going on for as long as I can remember. I've been with VM since 25/05/2020.

I get 2 green flashing lights and the bottom one is white.

I have my pc connected by ethernet cable and my mobile phone by wifi. Everything disconnects at this time.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 17.51K
  • 1.84K
  • 3.05K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
168 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 resetting every night between 12am and 1am

Can you post up your Network Logs from the Hub status page?

To get the evidence that VM will accept, (if you haven’t already) set up a free “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts , latency issues, packet drops, etc - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” (as per instructions on the TB website) when you have the first period covering the drop out time.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
161 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 resetting every night between 12am and 1am

Oh I set up one of those before 🙂
Here's the link from yesterday. It pretty much does the same thing every day.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/bbd4ba8da0844ae2fef3a5f67f461e5954331b36-31-10-2020

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

01/11/2020 16:39:31Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/11/2020 16:39:31Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/11/2020 16:33:51Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/11/2020 16:33:50Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/11/2020 16:32:14Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/11/2020 16:32:14Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/11/2020 16:27:24Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/11/2020 16:27:23Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/11/2020 16:26:35Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/11/2020 16:26:34Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/11/2020 16:25:47Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/11/2020 16:25:46Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/11/2020 16:24:59Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/11/2020 16:24:58Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/11/2020 16:22:57Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/11/2020 16:22:57noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/11/2020 16:21:43Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/11/2020 16:21:43Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/11/2020 16:02:18Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/11/2020 16:02:18Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 17.51K
  • 1.84K
  • 3.05K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
155 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 resetting every night between 12am and 1am

That is not a good looking BQM!

Can you do a quick check that all of your coax cable connections are in nice and "finger" tight - at the Hub and wall box and also at any connectors etc. Ensure there are no “unterminated cable loose ends. Disconnect all the connections and reconnect to be sure. Also check that the internal wiring is ok with no kinking or chaffing, check that all looks good with the outside cabling and wall box (when it's daylight). 🙂

Then post up the data from the Downstream & Upstream pages in the settings (2 tables in each) and see if we can see a connection issue that needs attention.

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
149 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 resetting every night between 12am and 1am

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

11870000004.538256 qam7
21390000004.338256 qam1
31470000004.338256 qam2
41550000004.138256 qam3
51630000004.338256 qam4
61710000004.438256 qam5
71790000004.138256 qam6
81950000004.338256 qam8
92030000004.138256 qam9
102110000004.138256 qam10
11219000000436256 qam11
12235000000438256 qam13
132430000003.438256 qam14
142510000003.538256 qam15
152590000003.538256 qam16
162670000003.738256 qam17
172750000004.138256 qam18
182830000004.340256 qam19
192910000004.138256 qam20
202990000004.438256 qam21
213070000003.938256 qam22
22315000000438256 qam23
23323000000438256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.91800
2Locked38.65750
3Locked38.96450
4Locked38.6710
5Locked38.632812
6Locked38.9620
7Locked38.91276
8Locked38.9830
9Locked38.9600
10Locked38.91980
11Locked36.645028703179066
12Locked38.9170
13Locked38.9120
14Locked38.9410
15Locked38.9580
16Locked38.91940
17Locked38.9940
18Locked40.3420
19Locked38.9510
20Locked38.92580
21Locked38.9800
22Locked38.9970
23Locked38.91070

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1326000004.2512064 qam5
2537000004.375512064 qam2
3462000004.3512064 qam3
4394000004.25512064 qam4



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

All indoor cables seem fine. I live in a top floor flat and the cable that comes from outside, under my bedroom window and into the flat flaps around in the wind a lot. I can't fully open the window to get a good look at it either.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 12.06K
  • 939
  • 1.54K
Alessandro Volta
142 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 resetting every night between 12am and 1am

How many floors up are you ?

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Semi-Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - Mike Robbo
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
138 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 resetting every night between 12am and 1am

I'm on the 4th floor in a small block of flats.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 24.94K
  • 1.44K
  • 3.17K
Alessandro Volta
136 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 resetting every night between 12am and 1am

BQM is poor and there is significant noise on 2 of the downstream channels - one of them being really bad. 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi