Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
218 Views
Message 1 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Hub 3.0 rebooting

Hi - Our Hub 3.0 is continually rebooting.

Having read a number of threads it seems we require another visit from a VM engineer. We have had an engineer out and the hub rebooted a few time whilst so they’ve replaced the Hub stating the issue was with the Hub. Surprise surprise this hasn’t fixed the problem.

Spent 50mins on a call trying to get support only for the operative to hang up - great customer service.

Any advice how we can simply get a engineer to revisit and fix the service once and for all? During the original install the engineer stated there was not much for them to connect onto which suggest to me from some of the threads this is an issue with the connection into the house.

 

Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.49K
  • 891
  • 1.46K
Alessandro Volta
216 Views
Message 2 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 rebooting

Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page ?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may be affecting your district. Be aware that it isn't a manned line.

Go round all the accessible internal and external co-ax connections and ensure that they are finger tight.

If everything above is OK we need do some more troubleshooting; to start with …

 

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Post a link to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

Then

 

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

Hub 2 & 3 When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Hub 4 When the page appears LOG IN then click ‘Check Router Status’.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow / straw box warning click the Post button again. Use one post for each tab if you wish. Please do not use screen grabs.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
161 Views
Message 3 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 rebooting

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.49K
  • 891
  • 1.46K
Alessandro Volta
154 Views
Message 4 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 rebooting

Go round all the accessible internal and external co-ax connections and ensure that they are good finger tight.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
150 Views
Message 5 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 rebooting

Hi - rechecked and finger tight - the VM engineer also checked this when he swapped out the hub 3.0 and replaced it with a new one the other week. Additional info.....

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
148 Views
Message 6 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 rebooting

Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 203000000 2 40 256 qam 9
2 211000000 2 40 256 qam 10
3 219000000 1.9 40 256 qam 11
4 227000000 1.4 38 256 qam 12
5 235000000 1.7 38 256 qam 13
6 243000000 1.4 38 256 qam 14
7 251000000 1 40 256 qam 15
8 259000000 1.2 38 256 qam 16
9 267000000 1.4 38 256 qam 17
10 275000000 1.4 40 256 qam 18
11 283000000 1.2 40 256 qam 19
12 291000000 1.4 38 256 qam 20
13 299000000 1.5 38 256 qam 21
14 307000000 1.5 38 256 qam 22
15 315000000 1.5 38 256 qam 23
16 323000000 1.5 38 256 qam 24
17 331000000 1.5 38 256 qam 25
18 371000000 1.2 38 256 qam 26
19 379000000 1 38 256 qam 27
20 387000000 1 38 256 qam 28
21 395000000 1 38 256 qam 29
22 403000000 0.9 38 256 qam 30
23 411000000 0.7 38 256 qam 31
24 419000000 0.7 38 256 qam 32


Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 40.3 4 0
2 Locked 40.3 5 0
3 Locked 40.3 4 0
4 Locked 38.9 0 0
5 Locked 38.6 4 0
6 Locked 38.9 5 0
7 Locked 40.3 0 0
8 Locked 38.9 7 0
9 Locked 38.9 5 0
10 Locked 40.3 5 0
11 Locked 40.3 6 0
12 Locked 38.9 6 0
13 Locked 38.9 5 0
14 Locked 38.9 6 0
15 Locked 38.9 5 0
16 Locked 38.9 0 0
17 Locked 38.6 3 0
18 Locked 38.9 5 0
19 Locked 38.9 6 0
20 Locked 38.9 5 0
21 Locked 38.6 5 0
22 Locked 38.9 6 0
23 Locked 38.9 1 0
24 Locked 38.6 4 0

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
147 Views
Message 7 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 rebooting

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1326000004.775512032 qam5
2394000004.825512064 qam4
3462000004.9512032 qam3
4537000005.075512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
126 Views
Message 8 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 rebooting

Network log:

Time Priority Description

02/11/2020 17:18:50criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/11/2020 17:17:51criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/11/2020 16:41:13criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/11/2020 16:38:0Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/11/2020 16:26:44criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/11/2020 15:57:53Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/11/2020 15:56:41criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/11/2020 15:56:41Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/11/2020 15:54:42criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/11/2020 15:50:39criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/11/2020 15:50:38ErrorService Delete rejected - Service flow not found;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/11/2020 15:50:38criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/11/2020 15:50:37ErrorService Delete rejected - Service flow not found;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/11/2020 15:50:37criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/11/2020 15:50:36ErrorService Delete rejected - Service flow not found;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/11/2020 15:50:23criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/11/2020 14:53:12Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/11/2020 14:52:21criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/11/2020 14:49:46criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/11/2020 14:45:56Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
87 Views
Message 9 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 rebooting

Any ideas MikeA / anyone?

As we have been dealing with this problem for 2+ months now getting nowhere last week we have raised a complaint. Basically, Virgin Media customer service is pointless and non existent, 

Today, unsurprisingly, we received an email closing the complaint down. The response stated we have tried to contact you (they have not) so assume your complaint is resolved.

Without a doubt, dealing with Virgin is the worst customer service experience anyone could ever have to endure. To add insult to injury we spent an hour today trying to get the complaint reopened for yet again (we have stopped counting) the line to go dead.

If anyone from Virgin Media reads this and does value their customers, in fact even cares about customer service please have some decency and contact us to fix the problem. Also, reopen complaint C-271020937. Thanks in desperation...

H

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.49K
  • 891
  • 1.46K
Alessandro Volta
68 Views
Message 10 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 rebooting

The modulation on two of your four Upstream channels are at 32 QAM, they should be at 64 QAM.

Try a reboot to see if the Hub can renegotiate a better connection using this method ...

Switch the Hub off using the small switch on the rear of the Hub next to the power cord and pull the PSU plug from the wall socket.

Give it a good 5 minutes put the plug back in and switch the Hub back on.

Allow the Hub a few minutes to fully restart then try your connection again.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020

0 Kudos
Reply