Menu
Reply
RK6
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
Joining in
2,604 Views
Message 61 of 188
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 and BT Whole Home WiFi

Hi Kev_B

I've also just purchased the BT Premium Whole Home and I'm using a SuperHub 3.0. (Having similar intermittent issues). Please can you push the updated firmware down to my SuperHub 3.0 please.

Thanks

Richard 

acooke2020
  • 13
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
2,594 Views
Message 62 of 188
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 and BT Whole Home WiFi

Just by way of a further update;

The connectivity is much better between the Hub 3.0 and the PWH disks. However, it’s not without issue.

Yesterday the whole home system decided to randomly do a factory reset, in the middle of working from home. It took me a solid 2 hours to get them back up and running.

Ever since, 1 of the disks continually disconnects from the system.

Likely to be a BT related issue as opposed to anything on the Virgin side but I would urge anybody that hasn’t yet purchased not to or if you still have a return window to do so.

When the system works, it’s great. But more often than not it doesn’t and the disks become very expensive paperweights.

I’m actually going to look into a better mesh system and just take the loss on the BT system!

0 Kudos
Sookrah
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
2,538 Views
Message 63 of 188
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 and BT Whole Home WiFi

Spoiler
Hi Kev, could you please push the new firmware to my new Hub 3.0

I've just had a visit from a VM engineer to speed up my network and he gave me a new Hub. 

Thanks

moore1984
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
2,517 Views
Message 64 of 188
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 and BT Premium Whole Home WiFi

Hi Kev_B,

Please confirm when update has been completed - I am giving the PWH one more chance after this and if it fails I'll be returning.

At £350 they are very expensive dust collectors right now.

Thanks

Moore

 

0 Kudos
nedpx
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
Joining in
2,501 Views
Message 65 of 188
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 and BT Whole Home WiFi

Hi Kevin,

I have just purchased the BT whole home premium system and found this when failing to set up! I'm in modem mode and conected by ethernet cable but I cannot get the first disc to successfully connect. 

My hub will not have been identified as needing the new firmware (9.1.1910.200 according to a thread on the BT forum I started at), any chance you can get me lined up for the update so I can see if it resolved the issue before I have to return this whol BT mesh system?

thanks

Ned 

jpeg1
  • 4.78K
  • 264
  • 773
Superstar
2,497 Views
Message 66 of 188
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 and BT Whole Home WiFi

The BT mesh system doesn't have its own router, so don't switch the Hub3 to modem mode.  Put it back in Router mode, but turn its own WiFi off.

0 Kudos
oggy6409
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
2,419 Views
Message 67 of 188
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 and BT Premium Whole Home WiFi

Hi Kev

I am having the same problem with a BT Whole Home Premium “internet dropping” what do I need to do to have my hub 3 firmware updated. It is currently on 9.1.1811.401

Regards

Dave

moore1984
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
2,396 Views
Message 68 of 188
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 and BT Premium Whole Home WiFi

Gave up on this equipment. Would be interested to know of decent alternatives for Ethernet backhaul.

0 Kudos
acooke2020
  • 13
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
2,390 Views
Message 69 of 188
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 and BT Premium Whole Home WiFi

I’m still having dropouts. Albeit not as frequent, they still happen. 

Often it requires a full restart of the WH network, sometimes the Hub 3 too. 

Also about to give up, Amazon’s Eero looks like a decent contender. Considering that, Plume or Google WiFi at the moment...

0 Kudos
Kev_B
  • 8.07K
  • 288
  • 920
Community Manager (Retired)
Community Manager (Retired)
2,351 Views
Message 70 of 188
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 and BT Premium Whole Home WiFi

@RK6 @Sookrah @nedpx @oggy6409 

I'm so sorry for the slow response, I've requested that the firmware be rolled out for all of you.

@moore1984

Apologies for not picking this up before you gave up. If you still have the product and would like to try with the firmware just let me know.

@acooke2020 

I'll feed this back as well, do you notice any sort of patterns to the dropouts? Is the hub dropping all devices, or is it just devices connected via the BT devices?

Kev

The do's and don'ts. Keep the community welcoming for all. Follow the house rules


0 Kudos