cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do Intelligent Wi-Fi Pods actually work?

tom2021
Tuning in

I am investing in some of the new Virgin Intelligent Wi-Fi Pods.

They are expensive, so I'd like to know what I'm buying, but the information avaiable on Virgin's website is vague and non-technical.

Does anyone have any lnks to information on how they actually work? i.e.

How are they different to previous Wi-Fi boosters?

How do they communicate withthe Hub?

How is the status of the Wi-Fi network viewed and managed?

How do they mesh?

How do devices roam between the pods as they move around the house?

How do they identify black spots and optimise connectivity?

I'm not a network engineer, but I have worked in IT for 25 years, so I'm interested in the detail and can read a manual.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Andrew-G
Alessandro Volta

The pods are based on the Plume mesh wifi system.  The hub runs Plume router emulation software, and the pods then synchronise to form a mesh wifi setup.  It's not a bad system, and can even work quite well, but its unlikely to match even a modest dedicated mesh system for ultimate performance because the hub's hardware and spec was pretty feeble when it was launched back in 2016, and the compromises of both the Puma bug workaround, and then adding mesh emulation won't be helping.  I'm not rubbishing VM's pods - for the technophobe, or those who are getting the pods free, there's much to like about them.  But if you're prepared to read a manual, and don't get the pods free then I would suggest you put the money you'd otherwise have spent on pods towards a mesh system of your choosing.  The TP-Link Deco S4 for £100 would be a good bet, but you can spend a whole lot more or choose other makes if you want. 

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Networking-and-WiFi/Hub-3-0-compatibility-with-Mesh-systems/m-p...

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

3 REPLIES 3

Andrew-G
Alessandro Volta