Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 1
  • 1
Tuning in
228 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Home network has problems

I get this message but no information as to what the issues are. I have checked service status - there is apparently a local TV issue and run broadband test which identified a “technical” problem & sent a signal to fix. It says fixed on the VM site but network diagnostics for Hub still says problems on WiFi connection.

My Samsung TV is right next to the hub & when I try to update firmware I get an error message that my internet is too unstable so the update won’t run.


Telephony also has an issue. The phone works but I rarely use it due to much interference- constant buzz on the line - I think the error here (from what I read) is linked to my connection being an original Telewest box which is what is in my street.

The information I have suggests a problem but no guidance as to what it is or how to fix it ...

26F621F3-10E9-4CA7-A920-24B3F1FE7597.png

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.65K
  • 899
  • 1.49K
Alessandro Volta
212 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Home network has problems

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Post a link to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

Then

 

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

Hub 2 & 3 When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Hub 4 When the page appears LOG IN then click ‘Check Router Status’.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow warning click the Post button again. Use one post for each tab if you wish. Please do not use screen grabs.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 24.48K
  • 1.4K
  • 3.11K
Alessandro Volta
205 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Home network has problems

Contact support and raise the issue with them


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 1
  • 1
Tuning in
182 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Home network has problems

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 24.48K
  • 1.4K
  • 3.11K
Alessandro Volta
169 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Home network has problems

There’s nothing wrong with that BQM. It shows no signs of dropped connections. 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 1
  • 1
Tuning in
163 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Home network has problems

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12030000000.236256 qam9
22110000000.237256 qam10
3219000000037256 qam11
4227000000-0.236256 qam12
5235000000-0.736256 qam13
6243000000-1.236256 qam14
7251000000-1.236256 qam15
82590000000.237256 qam16
92670000001.537256 qam17
10275000000237256 qam18
112830000002.437256 qam19
122910000002.537256 qam20
132990000002.737256 qam21
143070000002.737256 qam22
153150000002.737256 qam23
163230000002.937256 qam24
17331000000337256 qam25
183390000003.437256 qam26
193470000003.537256 qam27
20355000000337256 qam28
213630000001.937256 qam29
22371000000137256 qam30
233790000001.237256 qam31
243870000001.537256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked36.6250
2Locked36.6440
3Locked37.3220
4Locked36.6300
5Locked36.6410
6Locked36.6680
7Locked36.3740
8Locked36.6560
9Locked37.390
10Locked37.3260
11Locked37.6260
12Locked37.3230
13Locked37.6140
14Locked37.6200
15Locked37.3230
16Locked37.6350
17Locked37.6240
18Locked37.3460
19Locked37.6220
20Locked37.6220
21Locked37.6120
22Locked37.6140
23Locked37.3250
24Locked37.640
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 1
  • 1
Tuning in
162 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Home network has problems

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14620000046.8512064 qam3
25370000047512064 qam2
33940000046.5512064 qam4
46030000047.5512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 1
  • 1
Tuning in
155 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Home network has problems

Time Priority Description

24/10/2020 20:14:37noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:34criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/10/2020 18:49:22noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/10/2020 04:36:27criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/10/2020 03:16:35ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/10/2020 02:25:51criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/10/2020 14:46:35ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/10/2020 05:00:16criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/10/2020 02:46:35ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/10/2020 03:34:59criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/10/2020 16:20:37ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/10/2020 16:04:59criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/10/2020 09:19:50Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/10/2020 09:19:50criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/10/2020 09:19:46Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/10/2020 08:26:59criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/10/2020 08:22:13Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/10/2020 08:22:8criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/10/2020 08:22:7Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/10/2020 08:22:7criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 17.3K
  • 1.82K
  • 3K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
151 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Home network has problems

Hub data shows nothing obviously wrong suggesting any issues may be wifi related. What issues are you having on any devices connected by wifi and then on ethernet cables

Have you tried connecting the Samsung TV to the Hub by ethernet cable and see if that connects it to the internet and allows the updates? Mine is right next to my router but I still use a short Cat6 cable to connect it - much more reliable way to connect.

Re. the phone - are you using an old landline or the new phone connection directly to the Hub?

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 1
  • 1
Tuning in
144 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Home network has problems

Thanks

I think you’re right - there are 2 Ethernet ports on the hub so one has my Tado & currently the other an XBox but I will swap the XBox for the TV & see if that makes any difference.

i have a netgear powerline to get WiFi upstairs - I was sent out a VM booster but my printer wouldn’t connect & WiFi was poor so I plugged the Netgear back in again. I have Ethernet cable from booster to my laptop for home working but no longer get WiFi signal upstairs - big old house thick walls etc ...

phone is via old landline I believe. 

0 Kudos
Reply