cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

High Latency for over 12-18 months

YahNansBakedDog
Tuning in

Hi my name is James 

Firstly I would like to start this thread off with saying I am no stranger to high latency issues and how to resolve them in most cases I work as a 2nd line computer engineer full time. I have explained this to numerous operators on the phone and never get through to anyone who understands the terminology of my current issue.

I have been with Virgin since Sept 2020 and from the get go had nothing but issues regarding latency errors while on Ethernet. I started off on VM100 and I am now on Gig1 .

I have tried numerous phone calls to Virgin and numerous attempts to fix the issue my self. After about 18 months (Last month) an Engineer finally came out to look at my issue as I was originally told by an over seas operator it was £150? The last person I spoke to was shocked and did not understand why this was told to me. 

Anyway the engineer who came out swapped out the wall socket into my house and checked the cab on my road. He saw and I quote "The cabling going to your house doesn't seem right it was all lose and didn't seem connected in correctly" 

After the mans visit my issues of High latency packet loss were a thing in the past until about 2 weeks later where they came back. 

Now as someone who works from home very often using VOIP services and RDP's to clients machines/servers High latency is a kick in the teeth. When I say high latency Im not just talking about 60-70ms response times im talking jumping from 29ms (On ethernet) to 350ms and up and down from there. This is especially frustrating when gaming too. 

I have gone to the extent of doing countless firmware updates even rebuilding windows then at one point I even got a whole new ethernet cable and motherboard (I run a 20m cable through my walls)