Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
134 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

High Latency and packet loss, router reset itself

Hi,

Around 10 days ago, our Virgin Media Super Hub 3 reset itself and rather than our usual SSID showing, it was just Virgin Media. I had to login to the router and change it back to what we had before.

Since this instance, gaming has been problematic. I am receiving spikes in my latency and packet loss too. Our internet has been working fine before this unusual rest. I called Virgin Media who told me that there is potential issues in my area since March 2020 with the network and this may have caused our router to reset and that the connection should stabilise.

Unfortunately, we are still receiving big spikes in latency and packet loss throughout the day and gaming has become unplayable.

Speedtests are fine, but it's just this high latency.

Please find the log of the router status below along with a broadband quality check t hat for some reason stopped in the afternoon.

Many thanks

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
139000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
53700000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online
 

 

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cxv9873254k;fg87dsfd;kfoA



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID856
Max Traffic Rate230000061
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID855
Max Traffic Rate22000061
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

11/11/2020 14:13:24noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/11/2020 14:13:24ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/11/2020 01:14:33criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/11/2020 01:11:54noticeSW download Successful - Via NMS
09/11/2020 01:10:27noticeSW Download INIT - Via NMS
08/11/2020 13:23:32noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/11/2020 13:23:32ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/11/2020 06:49:33criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/11/2020 12:50:4noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/11/2020 12:49:55Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/11/2020 12:32:15noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file
06/11/2020 12:30:10noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
06/11/2020 12:25:51criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/11/2020 12:19:50noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/11/2020 20:50:20criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/11/2020 16:13:48noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/10/2020 18:04:16criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/10/2020 11:36:56noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/10/2020 11:36:50Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/10/2020 09:46:6noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

 
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
131 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Latency and packet loss, router reset itself

test.png

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.91K
  • 927
  • 1.53K
Alessandro Volta
130 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Latency and packet loss, router reset itself

You may be as well refining your Wi-Fi management, it will certainly help keeping track of your Wi-Fi frequencies.

Best done with a cable connected device.

Instructions for Hub 3

Log in to the Hub.

Advanced Settings > Wireless Signal > click ‘Disable Channel Optimization’ > Click ‘Apply Changes’.

Advanced Settings > Wireless > Security > Add 2 to the 2.4GHz Channel name [SSID] > Add 5 to the 5 GHz Channel name [SSID] > Click ‘Apply Changes’

You can leave the passwords the same as they are. 

Log out of the Hub then reboot using this method ...

Switch the Hub off using the small switch on the rear of the Hub next to the power cord and pull the PSU plug from the wall socket.

Give it a good 5 minutes put the plug back in and switch the Hub back on.

Allow the Hub a few minutes to fully restart then try your Wi-Fi again.

You will need to reconnect all you Wi-Fi devices some will want to connect to 5Ghz and some to 2.4GHz and some will connect to either.

When you connect the devices do it at the furthest point from the Hub that the device will be used.

2.4GHz is a stronger signal but slower than 5GHz so if you have problems on 5GHz change to 2.4GHz.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Semi-Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - Mike Robbo
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
122 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Latency and packet loss, router reset itself

Thanks for a quick reply but I already have the settings with the above recommendations. 

I am receiving high latency spikes and packet loss whilst gaming and showing on the broadband quality check. 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
107 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Latency and packet loss, router reset itself

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
64 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Latency and packet loss, router reset itself

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/0d06a04d457d0c70c91e431aa54c695310...

 Last 12-18 hours above, not sure why packet loss is all red this morning but probably firewall related.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
34 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Latency and packet loss, router reset itself

It's getting even worse. Rang Virgin several times and they have said there is an outage/high utilisation recorded in the area that is causing the issue, reported since May!!. Initially said it was raised in May and would be finished last week but it's been extended by two weeks. Is this going to be fixed and is this really related to an outage/high utilisation I can't even see when I type most post code in the service status in my area? The spikes in high ping are both when connecting through a wired and wireless connection.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/c65d7cc026697ba652513dddc47eb1152a...

Here is the latest down stream and upstream data of the hub:

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1267000000-0.438256 qam17
2139000000138256 qam1
31470000000.938256 qam2
41550000000.940256 qam3
51630000000.538256 qam4
61710000000.538256 qam5
71790000000.538256 qam6
81870000000.538256 qam7
91950000000.538256 qam8
102030000000.438256 qam9
112110000000.238256 qam10
122190000000.238256 qam11
13227000000038256 qam12
14235000000038256 qam13
15243000000-0.238256 qam14
16251000000040256 qam15
17259000000-0.240256 qam16
18275000000-0.440256 qam18
19283000000-0.440256 qam19
20291000000-0.240256 qam20
21299000000-0.238256 qam21
22307000000040256 qam22
23315000000040256 qam23
243230000000.540256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

1Locked38.9430
2Locked38.61690
3Locked38.93060
4Locked40.92260
5Locked38.62068
6Locked38.92030
7Locked38.66200
8Locked38.91620
9Locked38.91090
10Locked38.6710
11Locked38.9800
12Locked38.9460
13Locked38.6490
14Locked38.6710
15Locked38.9550
16Locked40.3670
17Locked40.9890
18Locked40.9590
19Locked40.3560
20Locked40.3540
21Locked38.9660
22Locked40.9600
23Locked40.9560
24Locked40.3630

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
38 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Latency and packet loss, router reset itself

Upstream bonded channels

Channel

Frequency (Hz)

Power (dBmV)

Symbol Rate (ksps)

Modulation

Channel ID

1

53699996

43.8

5120

64 qam

2

2

39400000

42.3

5120

64 qam

4

3

46200000

43.8

5120

64 qam

3

4

60299969

43.8

5120

64 qam

1




Upstream bonded channels

Channel

Channel Type

T1 Timeouts

T2 Timeouts

T3 Timeouts

T4 Timeouts

1

ATDMA

0

0

3

0

2

ATDMA

0

0

2

0

3

ATDMA

0

0

1

0

4

ATDMA

0

0

1

0

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 786
  • 39
  • 62
Forum Team
Forum Team
12 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Latency and packet loss, router reset itself

Hi there @willbrown08 

 

Welcome to the community and thank you for your post. Apologies for the delay in response and to hear you've had issues with your connection. I appreciate this would be frustrating. 

 

How has it been since you last posted? Let me know if you're still having issues and I'll do my best to help. 

 

Thanks, 

 

 

Hollie - Forum Team


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
10 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Latency and packet loss, router reset itself

Hi Hollie, 

 

Unfortunately the ping/latency is even worse than when I originally reported the issue. I don't think anything has been done virgins end. 

0 Kudos
Reply