Menu
Reply
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
202 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

High Latency and Packet Loss

Hi,

I am on Virgin Media M350 Fibre Broadband and have my Hub 3.0 set up in modem mode. I am then using pFsense as a router for my home network.

For a long time now I have been experiencing increased packet loss on my network when using video conferencing apps and gaming. It usually happens during heavy usage. The packet loss happens on WiFi and on wired connections.

Does anyone have any ideas on how to fix this issue? It has been happening since I can remember.

harnamc_0-1605698052362.png

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 25.12K
  • 1.44K
  • 3.2K
Alessandro Volta
200 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Latency and Packet Loss


@harnamc wrote:

Hi,

I am on Virgin Media M350 Fibre Broadband and have my Hub 3.0 set up in modem mode. I am then using pFsense as a router for my home network.

For a long time now I have been experiencing increased packet loss on my network when using video conferencing apps and gaming. It usually happens during heavy usage. The packet loss happens on WiFi and on wired connections.

Does anyone have any ideas on how to fix this issue? It has been happening since I can remember.

harnamc_0-1605698052362.png


Post the network, upstream and downstream logs from the hubs admin page


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
187 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Latency and Packet Loss

harnamc_0-1605701012927.pngharnamc_1-1605701026499.png

 

harnamc_2-1605701045916.png

 

 

harnamc_3-1605701068585.pngharnamc_4-1605701082269.png

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 25.12K
  • 1.44K
  • 3.2K
Alessandro Volta
177 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Latency and Packet Loss

Can you paste the tables as text please

*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
166 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Latency and Packet Loss

Time Priority Description
18/11/2020 13:24:48 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/11/2020 12:34:0 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/11/2020 10:34:52 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/11/2020 17:38:8 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/11/2020 08:55:30 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/11/2020 10:38:52 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/11/2020 07:14:2 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/11/2020 16:55:19 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/11/2020 15:12:36 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/11/2020 05:38:7 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/11/2020 16:55:5 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/11/2020 17:38:6 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/11/2020 08:54:35 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/11/2020 08:29:12 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/11/2020 07:53:18 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/11/2020 03:09:1 notice SW download Successful - Via NMS
04/11/2020 03:05:57 notice SW Download INIT - Via NMS
03/11/2020 13:46:57 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/11/2020 16:34:36 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/10/2020 20:56:6 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

I have removed the MAC and replaced with **:**:**:**:**:**

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
97 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Latency and Packet Loss

Hi @gary_dexter

Any ideas from looking at the logs?

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 25.12K
  • 1.44K
  • 3.2K
Alessandro Volta
91 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Latency and Packet Loss

When was the hub last rebooted?

Theres a large number of post rs errors there that could just be historical data. 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
86 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Latency and Packet Loss

I resterted the moden yesterday and still experiencing the same problem.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
49 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Latency and Packet Loss

Can anything be done for this?

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 25.12K
  • 1.44K
  • 3.2K
Alessandro Volta
44 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Latency and Packet Loss

You'll need to wait for a forum rep to reply - the response time is 5-7 days give or take.

Or you can phone in or use the SMS service

*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply