Menu
Reply
Postal69
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
372 Views
Message 1 of 18
Flag for a moderator

High Latancy and packet loss issues

Hi, 

Not sure if anyone can help, certainly the helpdesk can't, all I've had for the last week to solve the issue are router restarts by the service desk. Issue I'm  having is consistent latency issues and intermittent packet loss. 

I feel completely at my witts end, so much so that I've raised an Offcom approval case to get the disconnection fees dropped so I can leave.

I'll post some logs below:

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/7767b9be5d7cc683371e68d85fdc294d1150d271

 

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
Reply
Postal69
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
324 Views
Message 2 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Latancy and packet loss issues

Today's report

 

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/d0820d03d84b48fdf7c126d6ccc2167e30938530-08-04-2022

No idea how Virgin can tell me there is nothing wrong with my boardband? 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 29.86K
  • 2.96K
  • 5.64K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
317 Views
Message 3 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Latancy and packet loss issues

Those 2 BQM's look identical to me ?

Also do this.....

Post up your Hub/network connection details and someone will check to see if there is a problem there.  In your browser’s URL box type in http://192.168.0.1 (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode) (DONT click these links) - and hit return. On the first page up dont login (unless you have the Hub4/5 - when you do login) just click on the “router status” icon/text at bottom-middle (Hub3/4) or top/right (SH’s) of the Login page and then Navigate to these “pages” and just copy/paste the normal “Formatted Text” (not images) 3 FULL sets of data onto here – 2 tables from the Downstream, 2 from the Upstream, & the Network Logs page. Don't worry too much about the formatting it can be easily read & DON’T include personal data or MAC addresses - blank them out - if you copy/paste the data, the board software will do this for you (you may need to click the "submit" button again. If character limits are “exceeded” - just do two posts


--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Postal69
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
306 Views
Message 4 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Latancy and packet loss issues

Thanks John,

Many thanks for assisting with this, here you go:

Downstream 

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
12910000007.140256 qam20
2139000000840256 qam1
3147000000840256 qam2
4155000000840256 qam3
51630000007.940256 qam4
61710000007.940256 qam5
7179000000840256 qam6
81870000007.940256 qam7
91950000007.840256 qam8
102030000007.540256 qam9
112110000007.540256 qam10
122190000007.540256 qam11
132270000007.440256 qam12
142350000007.140256 qam13
15243000000740256 qam14
162510000006.940256 qam15
172590000006.940256 qam16
182670000006.940256 qam17
19275000000740256 qam18
202830000006.840256 qam19
21299000000740256 qam21
22307000000740256 qam22
233150000007.440256 qam23
243230000007.540256 qam24


Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked40.9520
2Locked40.31420
3Locked40.3670
4Locked40.3770
5Locked40.3740
6Locked40.9510
7Locked40.9410
8Locked40.99723
9Locked40.335026
10Locked40.336681011
11Locked40.91150
12Locked40.3300
13Locked40.3780
14Locked40.3690
15Locked40.3360
16Locked40.92092
17Locked40.9126118
18Locked40.31401
19Locked40.3778
20Locked40.91430
21Locked40.9790
22Locked40.33730
23Locked40.35233
24Locked40.919019

 

Upstream

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
15370000749.8512064 qam2
23940000049.8512064 qam4
34620000049.8512064 qam3
46030000049.8512064 qam1


Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0010

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Postal69
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
305 Views
Message 5 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Latancy and packet loss issues

Logs

07/04/2022 21:05:35criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=4c:b3;CMTS-MAC=:ce;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/04/2022 19:53:8noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=1:b3;CMTS-MAC=d:ce;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/04/2022 19:53:8ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=4b3;CMTS-MAC=d:ce;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/04/2022 20:32:7criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=:b3;CMTS-MAC=0e;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 29.86K
  • 2.96K
  • 5.64K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
296 Views
Message 6 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Latancy and packet loss issues

A few too many post RS errors there - can you do this....
__________________

Switch the Hub off and unplug it from the mains supply for five minutes. Whilst it's off, do a quick check that all of your coax cable connections are in nice and "finger" tight - at the Hub and wall box and also at any connectors etc. Ensure there are no “unterminated cable loose ends. Disconnect all the connections and reconnect to be sure. Also check that the internal wiring is ok with no kinking or chaffing, check that all looks good with the outside cabling and wall box (no “staples, etc.,) piercing the cables. Then switch the Hub back on and leave ~5 minutes

When all done, check back in the settings and ensure that the RS error counts and T3 errors have all reset to 0. Then check every hour or so to see if they start reappearing - they shouldn't. If they do (particularly the PostRS andnany T3 ones) you have a problem (noise) that only a Tech visit will sort.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Postal69
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
289 Views
Message 7 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Latancy and packet loss issues

Thanks John,

I've tried all of your suggested actions so I phoned Virgin back up explaining what the investigation results of the router logs suggested, and I need an engineer onsite to investigate further. Its so difficult to get anyone from Virgin to listen, fortunately explaining to the guy on the phone your observations I have an engineer booked for tomorrow! Will let you know how it goes.

0 Kudos
Reply
Postal69
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
253 Views
Message 8 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Latancy and packet loss issues

Engineer came out Saturday, he changed the cables, tweaked the green box as some Frequencies were slightly high, unfortunately hasn't made a difference.

The report I got back was my call was classed as a no fault found. The engineer did tell me to maybe look into a business account, as the infrastructure wouldn't be so heavily utilised, and comes with the bonus of 24 hour support. Thing is you shouldn't have to! Anyhow let's see what Ofcom make of it.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/81b68c0baa9e6b8cfe34358bfb34aa275d2ef00b-09-04-2022

 We had so many new build houses around by me, and I'm inclined to believe the infrastructure isn't in place at Virgins end to support?

Incidentally the red 100% packet loss on the monitoring results would of been while the engineer was redoing the cables and running tests on the router.

0 Kudos
Reply
Postal69
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
219 Views
Message 9 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Latancy and packet loss issues

Keeping the thread going!!

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/aca64a0cecd86fbd3c1a3ae73002eb11f41a296a-11-04-2022

 Now back using my own tp link router

Not heard anything from Ofcom as of yet 

0 Kudos
Reply
Carley_S
  • 1.28K
  • 61
  • 131
Forum Team
Forum Team
199 Views
Message 10 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Latancy and packet loss issues

Sorry to hear this issue is still ongoing @Postal69
I have check our system and can't see anything this moment that would be causing these issues. Has the TP link helped at all with getting you a more stable/faster connection? When do you notice this to latency? Is it mostly at the peak times or is it on all devices all day?

Carley - Forum Team


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply