Menu
Reply
PhilRJ
  • 20
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
140 Views
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Help Please - No Ranging Response

Keep getting No ranging response errors and keeps affecting broadband speed.   Vriginmedia status shows no problems in area (but there was one earlier today).

Data below.

Many thanks in advance,

P

Network Log

Time Priority Description

02/02/2021 16:32:30criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 16:32:30criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 16:32:11criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 16:32:10criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=4xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

11467500003.740256 qam2
2138750000440256 qam1
31547500003.540256 qam3
41627500003.440256 qam4
51707500003.440256 qam5
61787500003.240256 qam6
71867500003.240256 qam7
81947500003.240256 qam8
92027500002.740256 qam9
102107500002.538256 qam10
11218750000240256 qam11
12226750000238256 qam12
13234750000240256 qam13
142427500001.738256 qam14
152507500001.738256 qam15
162587500001.540256 qam16
172667500001.738256 qam17
182747500001.738256 qam18
192827500001.738256 qam19
202907500001.738256 qam20
212987500001.538256 qam21
223067500001.740256 qam22
233147500001.538256 qam23
243227500001.238256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.3130
2Locked40.3230
3Locked40.9160
4Locked40.3320
5Locked40.91230
6Locked40.31400
7Locked40.3810
8Locked40.9770
9Locked40.3180
10Locked38.6230
11Locked40.3200
12Locked38.9370
13Locked40.3170
14Locked38.9240
15Locked38.9220
16Locked40.3350
17Locked38.6250
18Locked38.6150
19Locked38.9270
20Locked38.6340
21Locked38.6210
22Locked40.3160
23Locked38.9220
24Locked38.9370

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13940000043.3512064 qam12
23260000039.8256064 qam13
34620000044.8512064 qam11
45370000046512064 qam10



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA00560
2ATDMA00770
3ATDMA00560
4ATDMA00440
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 20.69K
  • 2.2K
  • 3.66K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
112 Views
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Help Please - No Ranging Response

T3 timeouts are a worry. Can we see all of the Logs for the past week or so and in the meantime... if you haven’t already, set up a free and secure “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts , latency issues, packet drops, etc - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” to the “share live graph” (as per instructions on the TB website) when it starts to develop.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
PhilRJ
  • 20
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
96 Views
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Help Please - No Ranging Response

Thanks John,

Full log below.

Thanks for the tip re Broadband monitor - I will set it up. 

My hub is in router mode as I have an Asus router.  Wifi itself seems fine.  When I look into its log I can see the link drops out every few minutes (also posted a few lines below).  Both problems started at the same time as Virginmedia reporting a problem in the area so I'm assuming that they're related.  Virgin report that problem is cleared but issue still remains.

Phil

Network Log

Time Priority Description

02/02/2021 16:32:30criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 16:32:30criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 16:32:11criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 16:32:10criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 16:31:51criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 16:31:50criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 16:30:52criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 16:30:51criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 16:30:31criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 16:30:30criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 10:15:0criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 10:14:40criticalUnicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 10:14:40criticalRanging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 10:14:20criticalUnicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 10:14:20criticalRanging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 10:14:0criticalUnicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 10:14:0criticalRanging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:29:31criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:28:52criticalDHCP FAILED - Request sent, No response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:26:59criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

Example of Router Log as follows:

Feb 3 08:24:33 kernel: eth2 (Ext switch port: 1) (Logical Port: 9) Link DOWN.
Feb 3 08:24:36 kernel: eth2 (Ext switch port: 1) (Logical Port: 9) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
Feb 3 08:25:09 kernel: eth2 (Ext switch port: 1) (Logical Port: 9) Link DOWN.
Feb 3 08:25:12 kernel: eth2 (Ext switch port: 1) (Logical Port: 9) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
Feb 3 08:25:43 kernel: eth2 (Ext switch port: 1) (Logical Port: 9) Link DOWN.
Feb 3 08:25:47 kernel: eth2 (Ext switch port: 1) (Logical Port: 9) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex
Feb 3 08:26:23 kernel: eth2 (Ext switch port: 1) (Logical Port: 9) Link DOWN.
Feb 3 08:26:26 kernel: eth2 (Ext switch port: 1) (Logical Port: 9) Link UP 100 mbps full duplex

 

0 Kudos
Reply
PhilRJ
  • 20
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
79 Views
Message 4 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Help Please - No Ranging Response

Hi Again John,

So looking into router log further, I've now actually brought it down to the LAN connection to the TV (and not upstream to the Modem).  I suspect therefore that not much VirginMedia will want to look into now.

I just find it really weird that the problem occurred at precisely the same time that the T3 errors happened and Virgin declared the problem in my area.  Any thoughts?

My recent QM graph below in case interesting (I dont know how to interpret)

PhilRJ_1-1612355990211.png

Best regards,   PJ

 

0 Kudos
Reply
PhilRJ
  • 20
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
53 Views
Message 5 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Help Please - No Ranging Response

Update:  Switched the TV off and then on again and the problem is gone.  I still think its an odd coincidence that it happened at the same time as the network problem but I don’t think I’ll ever get to the bottom of that.

Thanks again @John for looking into it.

PJ

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 20.69K
  • 2.2K
  • 3.66K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
50 Views
Message 6 of 6
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Help Please - No Ranging Response

It may have just disconnected an in the time honoured CS way.... just needed a reboot/reconnection 🙂

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.