cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HUB 4 Deco Mesh and Landline issues.

RozT
Tuning in

Firstly disclaimer I am not very technical savvy. This is my situation, with a Hub 4 router upstairs wi-if for two gamers was rubbish and so I bought and easily connected a Deco E4R mesh system all seemed ok then I started have issues with the landline which is connected to the HUB4 I could hear what people were saying but they could not hear me.

I decided the issue must be with the telephone so I purchased a Panasonic KX-TGC262E replaced the old phone set up exactly and now no dialling tone gave up and put the old phone back in place now that does not have any dialling tone either. Did try rebooting the Hub 4. When I ring the number from my mobile there is a ringing sound but nothing on the landline.

I logged into the HUB4 and let run a check it ticked telephone services but the only connected device was the Deco E4R . Any help greatly appreciated.

7 REPLIES 7

carl_pearce
Community elder

Are the Decos in router mode?

If your HUB 4 is still in router mode there would be conflicts between the two.

What subscription are you on? The Deco E4 only have 100Mbps ethernet ports so you'll be limited to this speed (Around 90Mbps including overheads) with any devices connected to the Decos, wired or wireless.

legacy1
Alessandro Volta

You need to look for a router with 1Gb ports and put hub in modem mode

---------------------------------------------------------------

goslow
Alessandro Volta

The 'one-way conversation' issue is a problem which gets regular mentions on the forums when the phone is connected via the VM hub. If you have now lost dial tone, that suggests a problem with your phone line.

For testing purposes, your phone should ideally be connected using the VM-supplied adapter and the original phone cable which came with the phone (as this combo is the one most likely to work).