Menu
Highlighted
Tuning in
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Google nest wifi router question

Hi, I am looking at purchasing Google's router to try and improve the wifi in my home. My question is I have my Xbox, NAS Drive and TV all connected via ethernet to the Hub 3 and I've heard that you can't have wired connections if your using the hub 3 in Modem mode  is this true?

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Google nest wifi router question

Hi there my name is Chris Bithell I am a virgin media technician

When in modem modem, only ethernet port 1 will be active.

You could always not put into modem mode to keep all 4 ethernet ports active but login and disable the wifi from broadcasting.

If I've helped in any way, please give me Kudos and mark my response as a helpful answer!

Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more

Highlighted
Alessandro Volta
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Contrary for the above - you need to run it in Modem Mode so the primary Google Node runs as a router.

Dependinf how many Ethernet ports the Google device has you’ll need to invest in a desktop switch 

If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
Highlighted
Tuning in
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Broadcast mode? Could you please explain a little more please.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Alessandro Volta
Message 5 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Broadcast mode?

If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
On our wavelength