Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
175 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Faulty Router / Wifi Board?

My wife and I are both key workers. I work from home, and my wife works in an external location. However, we both need broadband access 24/7. I have fewer problems as I use a switch attached to the router and a LAN adapter. In my office I have constant ethernet access, plus should I need it I have a 4G TP-Link router, which allows me to connect my phone / mobile devices to the local 4G mast. 

However, my wife has a works iPad and her office at home tends to be the kitchen table / living room coffee table. 

Previously we have ran into VM wifi issues, and our previous Hub 3 was replaced when the wifi board was deemed faulty. 

Our current Hub 3 is a few months old and whilst of course we all moan about wifi signals in different parts of the house, it's actually been fine. I understand how wifi works etc / its limitations. However, a week ago my son told me he could not connect his mobile phone to the router. Then my wife (with the same phone) started to complain that hers kept dropping. I spent £20 on a wifi analyser and checked all the connected devices, named them and identified what exactly was on the network (initially thinking we were running out of bandwidth). 

As I tested it, I noticed devices normally connecting without issue dropping off for a few minutes and/or unable to even connect to the router. I went through all the checks...Virgin Media Connect App, 10mins off, RESET router, set up the network again. It worked for all of 30mins before devices started to drop off. 

Tonight I can't even connect. I have tried everything. Ethernet is rock solid. I hardly ever have any drop outs, but the wifi side of things has just become utterly unusable. 

Did Virgin recently upgrade their firmware and it's causing issues? 

I feel my router is completely unusable for wifi. Even in the same room my mobile devices can no longer connect. I can't even get an extender to pair up via wifi any more. 

I've totally lost faith in these Virgin Media Hub 3 devices. If replaced, it will be the 4th one we've owned since we started our contract 3 years ago. 

Before anyone suggests changing channels, turning on / off 2.4 / 5Ghz and or resetting router and starting afresh, I have tried everything. 

As we are key workers and this is essential, what's the fastest way to get a new router from Virgin Media and can we request the Hub 4? Is it even any better? 

Thanks! 

Cable Modem StatusItemStatusCommentsAcquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
203000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
60300268
Locked
Provisioning State
Online
Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
12030000003.540256 qam9
22110000003.740256 qam10
32190000003.740256 qam11
42270000003.540256 qam12
52350000003.540256 qam13
62430000003.240256 qam14
72510000003.240256 qam15
82590000003.240256 qam16
9267000000340256 qam17
102750000003.240256 qam18
112830000003.740256 qam19
122910000003.540256 qam20
13299000000440256 qam21
143070000003.940256 qam22
15315000000440256 qam23
163230000004.340256 qam24
173310000004.140256 qam25
183710000003.540256 qam26
193790000003.740256 qam27
203870000003.240256 qam28
213950000003.240256 qam29
224030000003.240256 qam30
23411000000340256 qam31
244190000002.538256 qam32

 

Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1603002684.375512064 qam1
2462002734.325512064 qam3
3394000444.3512064 qam4
4537003274.35512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA000

0

 

Network LogTime Priority Description
19/10/2020 18:53:10noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/10/2020 18:10:52Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/10/2020 16:29:49noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/10/2020 12:33:22criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/10/2020 07:12:24noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/10/2020 00:17:18criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/10/2020 15:02:9ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/10/2020 07:32:6ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/10/2020 16:57:4noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/10/2020 11:40:0criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/10/2020 08:46:1noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/10/2020 21:47:49criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/10/2020 17:51:56noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/10/2020 17:51:50Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/10/2020 17:27:39noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/10/2020 17:27:35Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/10/2020 11:00:56noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/10/2020 11:00:13Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/10/2020 10:08:51noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/10/2020 10:08:37Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.49K
  • 891
  • 1.46K
Alessandro Volta
170 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Faulty Router / Wifi Board?

Welcome to the Trials & Tribulations of Wi-Fi

The problem with Wi-Fi is that it can be brilliant at breakfast time and useless by lunchtime and you haven't changed anything, BUT, something, somewhere has changed, then you can spend hours and even days trying to find a fix for something that can be totally out of your control.

If you remove all the internal walls, electronic and electrical devices, metallic pipes and conduits and wrap the whole building in a thick lead shield you will have a good chance of getting decent Wi-Fi from a VM Hub.

Many people have accepted that the VM Wi-Fi is poor and have purchased third party equipment that is much, much more powerful than the VM supplied kit and once set up have wondered why they waited for so long.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
164 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Hi, And thanks for the reply. Yeah, I get it. Wifi is a p...

Hi,

And thanks for the reply. Yeah, I get it. Wifi is a pain, and we can all agree that one key aspect is "user" expectation vs "physics", however this is something else. 

It's not time related. It's not the pipework. It's not the stonewalls. It's not Christmas tree lights. It's not bandwidth. 

Even standing next to my router, with every other device switched off, I am unable to connect a mobile device to the router. It times out. 

I've literally seen what was a fairly decent wifi signal around the majority of the house last week, drop to none of us being able to use wifi. 

I could definitely go out and buy a third party router and use that instead, however until then, I kind of hoped I'd get what we paid for from Virgin Media. 

Hey ho! 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.49K
  • 891
  • 1.46K
Alessandro Volta
157 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Hi, And thanks for the reply. Yeah, I get it. Wifi is a p...

You may be as well refining your Wi-Fi management, it will certainly help keeping track of your Wi-Fi frequencies.

Best done with a cable connected device.

Instructions for Hub 3

Log in to the Hub.

Advanced Settings > Wireless Signal > click ‘Disable Channel Optimization’ > Click ‘Apply Changes’.

Advanced Settings > Wireless > Security > Add 2 to the 2.4GHz Channel name [SSID] > Add 5 to the 5 GHz Channel name [SSID] > Click ‘Apply Changes’

You can leave the passwords the same as they are. 

Log out of the Hub then reboot using this method ...

Switch the Hub off using the small switch on the rear of the Hub next to the power cord and pull the PSU plug from the wall socket.

Give it a good 5 minutes put the plug back in and switch the Hub back on.

Allow the Hub a few minutes to fully restart then try your Wi-Fi again.

You will need to reconnect all you Wi-Fi devices some will want to connect to 5Ghz and some to 2.4GHz and some will connect to either.

When you connect the devices do it at the furthest point from the Hub that the device will be used.

2.4GHz is a stronger signal but slower than 5GHz so if you have problems on 5GHz change to 2.4GHz.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020

Highlighted
  • 31.31K
  • 1.63K
  • 5.47K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
155 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hi, And thanks for the reply. Yeah, I get it. Wifi is a p...

Even standing next to my router, with every other device switched off,
And everyone in the houses next to you turned off as well?
Bluetooth off. Everyones zigbee smart meters off?
Door bells, Car alarms, Microwaves, baby monitors.

Its not just your stuff that is the problem. Its the millions of devices that share the limited spectrum now.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
148 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hi, And thanks for the reply. Yeah, I get it. Wifi is a p...

Old stone built building. I can locate every device connected using login to router option and check what is connected. 

My house isn't so expansive that I can't switch everything off. Most days I have the house completely to myself (working from home) and have been able to run through everything testing wise. 

I know the easiest option is to say "it must be the router", but it must be the router. Experience with previous Hub 3 faults has taught me the wifi board ain't that great to begin with. 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 31.31K
  • 1.63K
  • 5.47K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
141 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hi, And thanks for the reply. Yeah, I get it. Wifi is a p...

and no other people within 300m of our house?

I'm saying that devices do not need to be on your network they just have to be in range on any other network its a shared spectrum.

I

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
139 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hi, And thanks for the reply. Yeah, I get it. Wifi is a p...

I totally understand that too, however what I am saying is that my mobile device can no longer connect to my own router, which is literally right in front of me. That is the issue I am facing. Everything worked more or less perfectly a week ago. Then, at 11pm last Saturday my son's phone dropped off the router and that's when our issues began. Prior to that it was fine. 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
135 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hi, And thanks for the reply. Yeah, I get it. Wifi is a p...

The deed is done... 😉 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.49K
  • 891
  • 1.46K
Alessandro Volta
131 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hi, And thanks for the reply. Yeah, I get it. Wifi is a p...

There is a local authority / police CCTV on a lamppost just outside my house. When they used it the whole of my VM Hub 3 Wi-Fi disappeared, that is the reason that I went third party and have never had a problem since.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020

0 Kudos
Reply