Menu
Reply
Martyn_R
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
243 Views
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Faulty Hub3 ?

I think my Hub 3 is faulty.  No issues with ethernet connections.  No broadband issues reported in my postcode.  I have Intermittant WiFi connection.  I have tried switching hub off and resetting hub.  I have used the online tools to try to fix problems. I have tried to put hub in modem mode but only get single RED light (overheat ?)  Can anyone help in deciphering the log below?

WiFi appears to be better since yesterdays reset but I have done this before and issues recur.

Many thanks Martyn

Downstream bonded channels

Channel

Frequency (Hz)

Power (dBmV)

SNR (dB)

Modulation

Channel ID

1

659000000

-3.4

37

256 qam

32

2

475000000

-0.2

37

256 qam

9

3

483000000

-0.4

37

256 qam

10

4

491000000

-0.4

37

256 qam

11

5

499000000

-0.5

37

256 qam

12

6

507000000

-0.5

37

256 qam

13

7

515000000

-0.5

37

256 qam

14

8

523000000

-0.9

37

256 qam

15

9

531000000

-1.2

37

256 qam

16

10

539000000

-1.5

37

256 qam

17

11

547000000

-1.5

37

256 qam

18

12

555000000

-1.7

37

256 qam

19

13

563000000

-1.9

37

256 qam

20

14

571000000

-2.2

37

256 qam

21

15

579000000

-2.4

37

256 qam

22

16

587000000

-2.5

37

256 qam

23

17

595000000

-2.7

37

256 qam

24

18

603000000

-2.7

37

256 qam

25

19

611000000

-2.7

37

256 qam

26

20

619000000

-3

37

256 qam

27

21

627000000

-3

37

256 qam

28

22

635000000

-3

37

256 qam

29

23

643000000

-3.2

37

256 qam

30

24

651000000

-3.2

37

256 qam

31

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel

Locked Status

RxMER (dB)

Pre RS Errors

Post RS Errors

1

Locked

37.3

159

0

2

Locked

37.6

25

0

3

Locked

37.6

34

0

4

Locked

37.6

31

0

5

Locked

37.6

26

0

6

Locked

37.6

29

0

7

Locked

37.6

31

0

8

Locked

37.6

29

0

9

Locked

37.6

39

0

10

Locked

37.3

39

0

11

Locked

37.3

57

0

12

Locked

37.3

57

0

13

Locked

37.6

58

0

14

Locked

37.3

69

0

15

Locked

37.3

55

0

16

Locked

37.6

96

0

17

Locked

37.6

93

0

18

Locked

37.3

115

0

19

Locked

37.3

107

0

20

Locked

37.6

128

0

21

Locked

37.3

117

0

22

Locked

37.3

143

0

23

Locked

37.6

135

0

24

Locked

37.6

165

0

 

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel

Frequency (Hz)

Power (dBmV)

Symbol Rate (ksps)

Modulation

Channel ID

1

60300294

41.8

5120

64 qam

1

2

39400134

40.3

5120

64 qam

4

3

53700078

41.5

5120

64 qam

2

4

46200020

41

5120

64 qam

3

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel

Channel Type

T1 Timeouts

T2 Timeouts

T3 Timeouts

T4 Timeouts

1

ATDMA

0

0

1

0

2

ATDMA

0

0

1

0

3

ATDMA

0

0

3

0

4

ATDMA

0

0

2

0

 

Network Log

Time

Priority

Description

19/07/2021 11:49:6

notice

LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

18/07/2021 14:28:3

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

18/07/2021 11:17:39

notice

LAN login Success;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

01/01/1970 00:02:3

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

18/07/2021 10:46:51

notice

LAN login Success;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

01/01/1970 00:02:3

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

18/07/2021 10:29:53

notice

LAN login Success;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

01/01/1970 00:02:1

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

18/07/2021 09:55:23

notice

NOTICE ATOM is restarted as part of Self Healing Mechanism;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

18/07/2021 09:50:26

notice

LAN login Success;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

18/07/2021 05:05:7

notice

NOTICE ATOM is restarted as part of Self Healing Mechanism;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

18/07/2021 04:56:33

notice

LAN login Success;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

17/07/2021 16:12:7

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

17/07/2021 14:57:5

notice

LAN login Success;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

17/07/2021 07:39:29

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=X;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

17/07/2021 01:30:45

notice

LAN login Success;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

16/07/2021 04:27:57

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

16/07/2021 04:03:28

Error

DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

13/07/2021 15:58:9

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

13/07/2021 11:32:53

Error

DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 2.54K
  • 190
  • 462
Trouble shooter
238 Views
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Faulty Hub3 ?

Stats don't look bad - a few T3 timeouts (of which a handful are to be expected and the drops when that happens will affect ethernet connections too)

In Modem mode - the light is supposed to be magenta (mine is red as well though)

DO all WiFi connections drop at the same time! (You may have got my old hub if they do) if so that would definitely indicate a fault!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
Martyn_R
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
215 Views
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Faulty Hub3 ?

Yes, all WiFi connections do drop out at the same time.

Thanks for the info about the "Magenta" light.  I might try modem mode if the Wifi fails again.

WiFi has been OK for the last 24 hours, longest uptime for weeks.

Thanks for the comments on the log.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.92K
  • 1.21K
  • 3.02K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
207 Views
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Faulty Hub3 ?

I'm suspicious of that network log - four T3 timeouts per day is far too high, and the "Atom is restarting" message is often associated with a failing hub?

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Martyn_R
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
160 Views
Message 5 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Faulty Hub3 ?

If I run the VM diagnostic test "No network issue is found" but when I click on "View connected devices" I get ...

Martyn_R_0-1626732950984.png

Any ideas?

0 Kudos
Reply
Martyn_R
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
158 Views
Message 6 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Faulty Hub3 ?

Image above just says...

Technical error
Something's gone wrong. To get you to the right help, go back to service status.
 
Which takes me round an endless loop !
 
0 Kudos
Reply
Laurie_C
  • 816
  • 27
  • 80
Forum Team
Forum Team
49 Views
Message 7 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Faulty Hub3 ?

Hi Martyn_R,

 

Thanks for getting in touch, and a very warm welcome to the Community Forum. I'm sorry that you're having some issues with your Hub.

 

I've been able to locate your account using your Forum Details, and I can see that there our diagnostic checks are returning some errors. I'd therefore like to book a technician appointment for you. I'll just need to confirm a few details via Private Message. Please look out for a purple envelope in the top right corner of this page.

 

Kind regards,
Laurie

Laurie_C
Forum Team
0 Kudos
Reply