Menu
Anne61
Joining in
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Failing broadband service

Hi 

last week my broadband stopped working due to a fault (no known issues apparently but virgin identified a fault in my area) it took 18 hours to resolve.  Since then  service has dropped off many times.  I’m suspicious that since I dropped to just broadband service I am having issues whereas in the last year I had not had a single issue when I had phone tv and broadband.

I called today when service dropped again to be told I need a WiFi box for £5 month which I can have for free for six months.  I’m not a tech expert by any means but how is this box going to help if I don’t have broadband getting to my house. Apparently diagnostic tests indicate I need this.  I’m not normally having WiFi issues just connection issues.  Is virgin media service deteriorating or am I just being unlucky at the moment.  When it’s running it’s about 112 mbps no WiFi issues - it’s when I can’t get a speed test done because there’s “an error” that I can’t watch tv or load web pages.

will this box they are trying to persuade me tgst I need be of any use ? 

thank you for any help you can offer 

Anne 

0 Kudos
gary_dexter
Alessandro Volta
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Failing broadband service

How do wired devices behave in comparison?

If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Travis_M
Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Hi @Anne61

Thanks for posting on our community forum!

Sorry to hear you're experiencing issues, could you reboot the hub for me so I can review the power levels upon the reboot please?

Regards

Travis_M
Forum Team