Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
131 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Ethernet connection disconnects

Hi support, 

I work form home and the work pc is plugged with the Ethernet connection. it's been disconnecting for months - it was not big deal until now but I'm soon changing work and need to have a proper connection. 

I could be wrong but it seems it disconnects when my housemates connect to the Wifi. 

I did reset the hub yesterday, changed the password twice and it keeps happening. 

Below are the info available:  

Super Hub Version

Software Version   "V2.01.15"
Hardware Version   1.03
 
Any help would be greatly appreciated, 
 
Thank you 
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 24.72K
  • 1.43K
  • 3.15K
Alessandro Volta
121 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ethernet connection disconnects

Post the network, upstream and downstream logs from the hubs admin pages

*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
111 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ethernet connection disconnects

Thanks for your reply - 

Apologies, im not sure about where to find this data - is it in advanced settings? I'll post it as soon as I locate this. Thanks again 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
99 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ethernet connection disconnects

Screenshot 2020-10-26 at 14.27.50.png

Screenshot 2020-10-26 at 14.27.12.png

 That's what I can see in the advanced settings - I looked in each submenus but I'm not sure about where to find the required info. 

 

Thank you, 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
95 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ethernet connection disconnects

In terms of network logs, this is all I can see: 

Screenshot 2020-10-26 at 14.34.56.png

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 24.72K
  • 1.43K
  • 3.15K
Alessandro Volta
94 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ethernet connection disconnects

gary_dexter_0-1603723130958.png

 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
Highlighted
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
83 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ethernet connection disconnects

Screenshot 2020-10-26 at 15.02.07.png

 ok, thank you for your patience and for your help - just uploaded the pic here -

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
82 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ethernet connection disconnects

They are still checking the image: I paste/copy the data so: 

 

Downstream ChannelsLock Status Channel ID Frequency Modulation Rx Power RxMER Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
Locked1139000000 Hz256 QAM-2.3 dBmV 37.1 dB7037294
Locked2147000000 Hz256 QAM-2.2 dBmV 37.4 dB3983312
Locked3155000000 Hz256 QAM-2.3 dBmV 37.4 dB561294
Locked4163000000 Hz256 QAM-2.8 dBmV 37.1 dB893292
Locked5171000000 Hz256 QAM-2.5 dBmV 37.9 dB59645899
Locked6179000000 Hz256 QAM-2.9 dBmV 37.9 dB312303
Locked7187000000 Hz256 QAM-2.8 dBmV 37.9 dB312311
Locked8195000000 Hz256 QAM-2.8 dBmV 37.9 dB299298

To reset the Pre and Post RS error counts please use the Downstream screen under the router status screen available from the login page.

Upstream ChannelsLock Status Channel ID Frequency Modulation Tx Power Mode Channel Bandwidth Symbol Rate
Locked253700000 HzATDMA43.0 dBmV64QAM6400000 Hz5120 Ksym/sec
Locked439400000 HzATDMA43.8 dBmV64QAM6400000 Hz5120 Ksym/sec
Locked346200000 HzATDMA43.0 dBmV64QAM6400000 Hz5120 Ksym/sec
Locked160300000 HzATDMA42.5 dBmV64QAM6400000 Hz5120 Ksym/sec
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 17.41K
  • 1.83K
  • 3.03K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
71 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ethernet connection disconnects

That looks like an old Superhub1 - should only be used as a doorstop these days. Get it swapped for free as soon as.

try the "free" SH1/2/2ac upgrade/replacement scheme - see the link below - as they are trying to get everyone onto Hub3's.
It works first time for about 50% of customers, but if you get the - "Ooops - please call" message, that usually means you are on an old package that the computer cant recognise so they want to speak to you about it. When you call it in it's a coin toss whether the agent knows about the scheme. If they do they will just say "ok we will send one out" - or - they say "oh no, that's an upgrade there will be a charge and it starts a new contract". Neither of those statements in correct - so just say no thanks and leave the call.

After that you could try texting on 07533 051809 - include account name/number and what the issue is and see what they say – replies may take a bit longer

Finally a VM person should pick this up here and sort the swap for you, but it can take several days.

https://www.virginmedia.com/shop/hub-swap.html?buspart=uk_app_connect2_hubswap


--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
Highlighted
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
29 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ethernet connection disconnects

Thank you John, just texted the user you provided - fingers crossed! many thanks for your help - 

0 Kudos
Reply