Menu
DeadSignal
Joining in
Message 1 of 3
Flag for a moderator

Elderly Parents - Connection Fault (Loss of Sync / RS Errors)

Hi all,

I'm aware of several similar threads, just had a couple of specific questions.

I'm a Linux sysadmin / ex network engineer but know very little about DOCSIS.

Zoom call to my parents was dropping repeatedly so I did some diagnostics and tracked it down to their router / connection.

I'm seeing between 3000 and 80000 Pre RS and ~100,000 Post RS errors per downstream channel.

Network log gives CRITICAL: Loss of Sync. RCS Partial Service and Lost MDD Timeout

See attached screengrabs.

003. Router Network Log.png004. Router Downstream Channels.png

This happened last week. I got them to unplug the router, disconnect and reconnect the coax and the problem seemed to resolve itself for a while but it resurfaced tonight. Haven't attempted a factory reset but can when I next visit if advised.

My parents are in their 80s and really can't deal with the stress of over the phone diagnostics. My main question is - is there enough information here to identify the problem as a faulty router vs a line fault? My second question is, can I arrange the replacement router / engineer visit on their behalf (I have access to their account details, phone password etc).

Thanks very much for your time.

Rich.

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
jbrennand
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 2 of 3
Flag for a moderator

Re: Elderly Parents - Connection Fault (Loss of Sync / RS Errors)

A VM person will respond in a few days - in the meantime....

When zooming can they connect a laptop/computer on an ethernet cable direct into the Hub and see if that stabilises the connection? It may be just a wifi issue rather than a network connection one. A test on an ethernet connection will be good data to help.

Do they have other problems - or is it just when Zooming?