Menu
Reply
APowell1
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
200 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Continual RCS Partial Service

Hi All,

Every couple of hours our internet keeps cutting out for a few seconds (20-60 seconds), this is so frustrating as there seems to be no pattern to when it happens.

I've called the helpline a few times only to be told 'we cant see an issue at the moment' so no engineer can be sent.

Below are the logs from the past couple of hours (pretty much the same every hour you go back), any ideas on how to resolve??

 

TimePriorityDescription
##########Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=XYZ;CMTS-MAC=XYZ;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
##########criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=XYZ;CMTS-MAC=XYZ;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
##########Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=XYZ;CMTS-MAC=XYZ;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
##########criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=XYZ;CMTS-MAC=XYZ;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
##########Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=XYZ;CMTS-MAC=XYZ;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
##########criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=XYZ;CMTS-MAC=XYZ;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
##########Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=XYZ;CMTS-MAC=XYZ;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
##########criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=XYZ;CMTS-MAC=XYZ;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
##########Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=XYZ;CMTS-MAC=XYZ;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
##########criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=XYZ;CMTS-MAC=XYZ;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
##########criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=XYZ;CMTS-MAC=XYZ;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
##########Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=XYZ;CMTS-MAC=XYZ;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
##########criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=XYZ;CMTS-MAC=XYZ;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
##########Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=XYZ;CMTS-MAC=XYZ;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
##########criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=XYZ;CMTS-MAC=XYZ;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
##########Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=XYZ;CMTS-MAC=XYZ;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
##########criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=XYZ;CMTS-MAC=XYZ;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
##########criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=XYZ;CMTS-MAC=XYZ;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
##########Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=XYZ;CMTS-MAC=XYZ;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
##########criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=XYZ;CMTS-MAC=XYZ;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
##########Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=XYZ;CMTS-MAC=XYZ;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
##########criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=XYZ;CMTS-MAC=XYZ;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
##########Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=XYZ;CMTS-MAC=XYZ;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
##########criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=XYZ;CMTS-MAC=XYZ;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
##########Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=XYZ;CMTS-MAC=XYZ;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
##########criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=XYZ;CMTS-MAC=XYZ;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
##########criticalUnicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=XYZ;CMTS-MAC=XYZ;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
##########criticalRanging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=XYZ;CMTS-MAC=XYZ;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
##########criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=XYZ;CMTS-MAC=XYZ;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.19K
  • 1.09K
  • 2.63K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
197 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Continual RCS Partial Service

Post the data for Downstream and Upstream tabs where you found the Network log, and we can look for a probable cause.  Post as text, not screenshots otherwise the data is illegible.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
APowell1
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
186 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Continual RCS Partial Service

Downstream bonded channels  
      
ChannelFrequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)SNR (dB)ModulationChannel ID
13310000004.840256 qam25
22030000003.740256 qam9
32110000003.540256 qam10
42190000003.540256 qam11
52270000003.440256 qam12
62350000003.540256 qam13
72430000003.540256 qam14
82510000003.740256 qam15
92590000003.740256 qam16
10267000000440256 qam17
11275000000440256 qam18
122830000004.140256 qam19
132910000004.440256 qam20
142990000004.540256 qam21
153070000004.540256 qam22
163150000004.540256 qam23
173230000004.840256 qam24
183710000004.540256 qam26
193790000004.640256 qam27
203870000004.840256 qam28
213950000004.640256 qam29
224030000004.940256 qam30
23411000000540256 qam31
244190000004.940256 qam32
      
      
Downstream bonded channels  
      
ChannelLocked StatusRxMER (dB)Pre RS ErrorsPost RS Errors 
1Locked40.37093983276 
2Locked40.366593206846 
3Locked40.366228187813 
4Locked40.367447178099 
5Locked40.367686171119 
6Locked40.367419154502 
7Locked40.367821156622 
8Locked40.367443126818 
9Locked40.368712141918 
10Locked40.367342111044 
11Locked40.368752128860 
12Locked40.368287101610 
13Locked40.369420113259 
14Locked40.36879397305 
15Locked40.369879107433 
16Locked40.37009090434 
17Locked40.97138393307 
18Locked40.97207574565 
19Locked40.37218575277 
20Locked40.97236072069 
21Locked40.37311670523 
22Locked40.37259165187 
23Locked40.97289465824 
24Locked40.97307561350 
      
Upstream bonded channels  
      
ChannelFrequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)Symbol Rate (ksps)ModulationChannel ID
16030000051512064 qam1
23940000051512032 qam4
34620002042.3512064 qam3
45370000043.3512064 qam2
      
      
Upstream bonded channels  
      
ChannelChannel TypeT1 TimeoutsT2 TimeoutsT3 TimeoutsT4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0020
2ATDMA00610
3ATDMA0030
4ATDMA0030
0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.19K
  • 1.09K
  • 2.63K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
177 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Continual RCS Partial Service

Looks like an upstream noise issue, judging by the varied modulation on upstream channels and large T3 timeout count on upstream channel 2.  That would also explain the high downstream post-RS (uncorrected) error counts.  That'll likely need a technician visit, I'll flag your post for forum staff to advise, and they can arrange a technician visit if needed.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
newapollo
  • 5.74K
  • 916
  • 1.36K
Hero
174 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Continual RCS Partial Service

When was the last time you rebooted your hub?

The Post RS errors are too high.

Also the upstream power levels are too high, and the modulation should all be 64qam.

You should  factory reset your hub so that Pre and Post RS errors are set back to zero.

Keep the hub switched on and disconnect any ethernet connections, then push the reset button firmly with a paperclip or something similair. keep it pressed in for around a minute.

Wait around 10 minutes and it should revert to factory settings. You can now reconnect the ethernet cables.

If you previously changed your router password it won't work and you will have to use the one printed on the sticker on the router. You can always change it again by going into the settings

You can also  click check service status at the top of this page after performing the reset and run a fault test.

It might be worthwhile checking your cables are all snug and tight with no kinks in them.

 

You could also set up a BQM monitor  at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you can post the link straight away.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

 In the URL box paste the link you copied and then click OK.

 

ChannelFrequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)Symbol Rate (ksps)ModulationChannel ID
16030000051512064 qam1
23940000051512032 qam4
34620002042.3512064 qam3
45370000043.3512064 qam2

 

Dave

The Service you do for others is the rent you pay for your room here on Earth - Muhammad Ali
0 Kudos
Reply
Laurie_C
  • 440
  • 19
  • 46
Forum Team
Forum Team
122 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Continual RCS Partial Service

Hi APowell1,

 

Thanks for getting in touch and welcome to the Community Forum! I'm sorry to hear about the problems that you've been having.

 

I've been able to locate your account using your Forum details, and it looks like there might be an issue with your coax (white) cable. Could you please check that the coax cable is securely connected to your Hub, any splitters, and to the wall socket?

 

Please let me know if these issues persist once this has been checked, and I'll be more than happy to take a closer look.

 

Thanks,

Laurie

If the that the coax cables is connected securely to the Virgin Media equipment, any splitters (standard and powered) and to the wall socket. Could

Laurie_C
Forum Team
0 Kudos
Reply
APowell1
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
112 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Continual RCS Partial Service

Hi Laurie_C,

Yes the white cable is securly attached to the wall socket and secure into the back of the hub. I've checked this a few times over the past weeks assuming there could just be a loose cable however the issue does not change.

Thanks,

Alex

0 Kudos
Reply
Laurie_C
  • 440
  • 19
  • 46
Forum Team
Forum Team
108 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Continual RCS Partial Service

Hi Alex,

 

Thanks for confirming this. I've booked a technician to come and take a look at this for you, you can find the details on your MyVM page.

 

Please let me know if you need any more help with this.

 

Thanks,

Laurie

Laurie_C
Forum Team
0 Kudos
Reply
APowell1
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
106 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Continual RCS Partial Service

Amazing thanks Laurie, I cant see anything in my orders & appointments section - would it show somewhere else?

0 Kudos
Reply
Laurie_C
  • 440
  • 19
  • 46
Forum Team
Forum Team
99 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Continual RCS Partial Service

Hi APowell1,

 

It should be in that section, but it can occasionally take a little bit of time for the system to update. Please keep checking and let me know if no appointment shows.

 

Thanks,

Laurie

Laurie_C
Forum Team
0 Kudos
Reply