Menu
Reply
becks5109
  • 30
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
267 Views
Message 1 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Constant drop outs - VM won't send new router

until local works are finished (N1, London) but we've run ping tests and believe its the router that's faulty.  Every time I call they won't send an engineer till local works are sorted but they keep moving the end date of the works.  We've had problems since around last June on and off! I find it all so frustrating and even more so with kids trying to home school and the internet booting them out of their online learning 😞 Here's a link to BQM and some bit from the router log

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/6bed94ccc0d70c13fabc255286aaabbf3e...

Time Priority Description

22/01/2021 15:50:18noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/01/2021 11:44:52criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/01/2021 23:19:2ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/01/2021 17:03:53criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/01/2021 14:07:35noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:41criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/01/2021 10:39:38noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/01/2021 02:52:48noticeSW download Successful - Via NMS
15/01/2021 02:50:51noticeSW Download INIT - Via NMS
14/01/2021 21:20:18ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
12030000001.237256 qam9
22110000000.537256 qam10
32190000000.237256 qam11
42270000000.537256 qam12
52350000000.237256 qam13
62430000000.237256 qam14
7251000000-0.237256 qam15
8259000000037256 qam16
92670000000.237256 qam17
102750000000.537256 qam18
112830000001.238256 qam19
122910000000.938256 qam20
132990000000.738256 qam21
14307000000038256 qam22
15315000000037256 qam23
16323000000-0.438256 qam24
17331000000037256 qam25
183390000000.237256 qam26
193470000000.238256 qam27
203550000000.538256 qam28
21363000000038256 qam29
223710000000.438256 qam30
23379000000038256 qam31
24387000000038256 qam32

Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked37.3870
2Locked37.61200
3Locked37.6690
4Locked37.6620
5Locked37.31600
6Locked37.6700
7Locked37.6930
8Locked37.61040
9Locked37.6880
10Locked37.3660
11Locked38.6390
12Locked38.61910
13Locked38.6520
14Locked38.6970
15Locked37.61690
16Locked38.9950
17Locked37.6890
18Locked37.61120
19Locked38.61320
20Locked38.6550
21Locked38.61160
22Locked38.6740
23Locked38.6790
24Locked38.62060


0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 28.92K
  • 1.77K
  • 3.78K
Alessandro Volta
264 Views
Message 2 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant drop outs - VM won't send new router

They’re correct. Engineers cannot be sent whilst there’s area issues/outages/works. 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
becks5109
  • 30
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
254 Views
Message 3 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant drop outs - VM won't send new router

but how long can outage works be expected to carry on - they keep moving the end dates!  Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 28.92K
  • 1.77K
  • 3.78K
Alessandro Volta
245 Views
Message 4 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant drop outs - VM won't send new router

Until it’s fixed.


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
becks5109
  • 30
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
234 Views
Message 5 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant drop outs - VM won't send new router

unhelpful...

0 Kudos
Reply
legacy1
  • 15.44K
  • 662
  • 1.51K
Alessandro Volta
231 Views
Message 6 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant drop outs - VM won't send new router

Your BQM don't look that great but the hub is likely fine so you should try the hub in modem mode with a better router with 1Gb ports.

---------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Reply
Tudor
  • 7.94K
  • 636
  • 1.38K
Alessandro Volta
215 Views
Message 7 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant drop outs - VM won't send new router

As far as they go the stats are fine, upstream power levels would be more indicative of problems. Some faults are east to fix some are difficult, “how long is a piece of elastic”. You are paying for a residential service with no SLA and fixes are best endeavours. 


Tudor
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't and F people out of 10 who do not understand hexadecimal c1a2a285948293859940d9a49385a2
0 Kudos
Reply
becks5109
  • 30
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
196 Views
Message 8 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant drop outs - VM won't send new router

I agree which is why there should be some form of SLA also for residential customers. 

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 28.92K
  • 1.77K
  • 3.78K
Alessandro Volta
184 Views
Message 9 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant drop outs - VM won't send new router


@becks5109 wrote:

I agree which is why there should be some form of SLA also for residential customers. 


Why? Residential services are meant for browsing and gaming etc. not business or work use (regardless of a pandemic or not). 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
becks5109
  • 30
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
165 Views
Message 10 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant drop outs - VM won't send new router

Regardless of the pandemic plenty of people work from home or may be vulnerable and rely on internet services.   Companies need to be responsible for the services they provide and promises they make to customers eg minimum speeds 

0 Kudos
Reply