Menu
Reply
trobinson18
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
231 Views
Message 1 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Constant cut-outs -- please check for SNR issue

On roughly 50% of the days I spend working at home I experience repeated, intermittent dropouts in internet connection throughout the day. Up to 15-20 times per day at times. The other 50% of the time my internet is fine.

I have restarted the hub, factory reset and all other advice from the website and nothing helps. Impossible to get any useful information via the helpline or to talk to a real person.

Postcode is EH11 1PF. Would a member of virgin staff please check the area for an SNR issue and give results below.

Many thanks. I am hoping to get this resolved before I simply quit and leave Virgin for another company.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
-tony-
  • 16.52K
  • 1.31K
  • 3.9K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
222 Views
Message 2 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant cut-outs -- please check for SNR issue

log into hub3 - 192.168.0.1 [or 192.168.100.1 if in modem mode] - DON'T SIGN IN, click - click router status [centre of screen] - and post the downstream and upstream figures - to see those press on the grey buttons/boxes labelled - upstream - downstream

if its an earlier hub button is top right

you DO need to sign in on hub4

you can leave obviously but if you are in contract it will cost you early disconnection fees - max is £240 afaik

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 838
  • 56
  • 119
Well-informed
219 Views
Message 3 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant cut-outs -- please check for SNR issue

Also, set up a 'Broadband Quality Monitor'. This will monitor the state of your connection and record any network dropouts etc - You can do this at ThinkBroadband (https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality)



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 30.36K
  • 1.88K
  • 4.04K
Alessandro Volta
215 Views
Message 4 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant cut-outs -- please check for SNR issue

Are both wired and wireless connections dropping?

*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
trobinson18
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
210 Views
Message 5 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant cut-outs -- please check for SNR issue

In response to Tony -- thank you Tony --  here are the downstream and upstream channels

Downstream:

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1251000000238256 qam15
22030000001.740256 qam9
32110000001.738256 qam10
42190000001.938256 qam11
52270000001.940256 qam12
62350000001.938256 qam13
7243000000238256 qam14
82590000002.438256 qam16
92670000002.738256 qam17
102750000002.538256 qam18
112830000002.738256 qam19
122910000002.738256 qam20
13299000000338256 qam21
14307000000338256 qam22
153150000003.240256 qam23
163230000003.440256 qam24
173630000003.740256 qam25
183710000003.740256 qam26
193790000003.740256 qam27
20387000000440256 qam28
213950000003.940256 qam29
224030000003.940256 qam30
234110000003.940256 qam31
244190000003.740256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.900
2Locked40.370
3Locked38.970
4Locked38.940
5Locked40.340
6Locked38.920
7Locked38.960
8Locked38.900
9Locked38.650
10Locked38.660
11Locked38.640
12Locked38.650
13Locked38.960
14Locked38.940
15Locked40.360
16Locked40.300
17Locked40.900
18Locked40.940
19Locked40.940
20Locked40.950
21Locked40.360
22Locked40.970
23Locked40.960
24Locked40.340

 

Upstream:

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13260001242.8512064 qam13
23939995944.3512064 qam12
34619999844.3512064 qam11
45370001444.3512064 qam10



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
trobinson18
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
208 Views
Message 6 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant cut-outs -- please check for SNR issue

Thanks Lotharmat, I have had an account for several months now, here's today's most recent:

trobinson18_1-1619539275289.png

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
trobinson18
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
204 Views
Message 7 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant cut-outs -- please check for SNR issue

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 838
  • 56
  • 119
Well-informed
196 Views
Message 8 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant cut-outs -- please check for SNR issue

Apart from the reboot - That doesn't look too bad.

What are any ethernet-connected devices doing at the time? Are they still up and working!

I would say, looking at those figures, combined with your stats that the modem is fine and the wifi could be borked!

Mine did this - all wifi devices dropped connection at the same time for about 20 seconds - 2 minutes.

VM ended up replacing my hub and I ended up getting my own router! - Full control over the settings and a good signal all through the house!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

trobinson18
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
183 Views
Message 9 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant cut-outs -- please check for SNR issue

Thank you, that's encouraging to hear! And I appreciate your interpretation of my broadband graph, thank you very much. 

Sorry but I don't quite understand this sentence: 'I would say, looking at those figures, combined with your stats that the modem is fine and the wifi could be borked!'

Are you talking about two seperate parts of my Hub: a modem part and a wifi part? If so: I just learned something.

(P.S. You said 'Mine did this - all wifi devices dropped connection at the same time for about 20 seconds - 2 minutes.' yes this is just what's been happening to me!)

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 838
  • 56
  • 119
Well-informed
175 Views
Message 10 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant cut-outs -- please check for SNR issue

No worries - Basically the hubs contain the modem that 'translates' the signal and the router part that distributes the signal (either via cable - ethernet or wirelessly)

The BQM pings your modem (I believe) by sending a tiny packet of data to it once per second - it times how long the response is and averages it over 100 pings (latency on the BQM) it also measures how many of these packets are dropped.

The modem can be all good but the routing part can fail - hence the WiFi dropouts!

Hope this helps!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7