Menu
Reply
2tiredofwaiting
  • 53
  • 1
  • 3
On our wavelength
893 Views
Message 1 of 103
Flag for a moderator

Constant Hub3 restarts

My Hub3 has been restarting multiple times during the day for the last couple of weeks. I've only been a customer for a few weeks, and it has never been that reliable, but it has now become so unreliable that it is affecting my ability to work. 

I have had two engineer visits. The first scoffed at the use of a 10db wideband attenuator and swapped it for a 3db one. The second engineer boasted of his large collection of attenuator and explained that due to the use of DocSis 3.1 that they no longer need any attenuators, and so took away the one fitted by the first engineer.

After he left the reboots continued. During this the hub3 stops responding to pings and cycles through orange lights to green lights (where it starts responding to pings again) and finally back to a solid red (magenta?) when all is good with the world again.

It makes videoconferencing quite hard as you are never sure when you'll have to take a 3minute break in the middle of a call whilst the hub3 does it's little reboot dance. It makes developing software difficult when half the boxes are hiding in the cloud. 

This seems to happen mostly during the day when both my partner and I are working, which is rather frustrating.

Below are a variety of thinkbroadband monitoring pages.
23rd, 26th, 27th, 28th, 29th & 30th April:

ab7fe8ca663e6c93b182a1cde72b972c29247402-23-04-2021ab7fe8ca663e6c93b182a1cde72b972c29247402-26-04-2021ab7fe8ca663e6c93b182a1cde72b972c29247402-27-04-2021ab7fe8ca663e6c93b182a1cde72b972c29247402-28-04-2021ab7fe8ca663e6c93b182a1cde72b972c29247402-29-04-2021ab7fe8ca663e6c93b182a1cde72b972c29247402-30-04-2021 

4th May and 5th May 2021:

ab7fe8ca663e6c93b182a1cde72b972c29247402-04-05-2021ab7fe8ca663e6c93b182a1cde72b972c29247402-05-05-2021

 

It's clearly a little better the last two days, but I've also been turning off various services to limit the amount of traffic. If the Hub3 is only able to offer the stonking 350Mb when there aren't enough devices connected to make use of it then I would be better off just signing up to a telephone line broadband provider who can supply a service and router that work. 

 

Any suggestions?

0 Kudos
Reply
2tiredofwaiting
  • 53
  • 1
  • 3
On our wavelength
882 Views
Message 2 of 103
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant Hub3 restarts

Not sure why my images didn't post before, but here are some links to a few of them:

30th April 2021
My Broadband Ping - wobbly virgin internets in modem mode

3rd May 2021
My Broadband Ping - wobbly virgin internets in modem mode

 

4th May 2021
My Broadband Ping - wobbly virgin internets in modem mode

5th May 2021
My Broadband Ping - wobbly virgin internets in modem mode

0 Kudos
Reply
2tiredofwaiting
  • 53
  • 1
  • 3
On our wavelength
871 Views
Message 3 of 103
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant Hub3 restarts

Called Virgin.

Firstly the call dropped as the hub broke mid conversation and my phone had made the call over wifi. 

Then I was called back, which was a nice surprise. The rep said they were putting me through to the faults department, which seemed like a good idea, and then mid-song the call was just dropped (nothing to do with wifi this time as the hub is now restarting every few minutes). 

Calling again now...

 

My Broadband Ping - wobbly virgin internets in modem mode

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 3.85K
  • 259
  • 724
Community elder
863 Views
Message 4 of 103
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant Hub3 restarts

Can you post your Hub status and logs?
Someone should be spot if there is a problem
Navigate to http://192.168.0.1 (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode)
Don't log in!
Click on 'router status'
Copy/paste the data from each of the tabs. The forum software will remove the MAC addresses for you (you may need to click the 'post' button again).



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
2tiredofwaiting
  • 53
  • 1
  • 3
On our wavelength
842 Views
Message 5 of 103
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant Hub3 restarts

Item Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
138750000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
46200000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

11387500003.437256 qam1
21467500003.537256 qam2
31547500003.237256 qam3
41627500003.437256 qam4
51707500003.537256 qam5
61787500003.737256 qam6
71867500003.737256 qam7
81947500003.737256 qam8
92027500003.537256 qam9
102107500003.537256 qam10
112187500003.437256 qam11
122267500003.237256 qam12
13234750000337256 qam13
142427500002.737256 qam14
152507500002.537256 qam15
162587500002.437256 qam16
172667500002.237256 qam17
182747500001.937256 qam18
192827500001.737256 qam19
202907500001.437256 qam20
212987500001.237256 qam21
223067500001.237256 qam22
233147500001.537256 qam23
243227500001.537256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.600
2Locked37.650
3Locked37.350
4Locked37.370
5Locked37.300
6Locked37.660
7Locked37.650
8Locked37.670
9Locked37.370
10Locked37.360
11Locked37.350
12Locked37.350
13Locked37.660
14Locked37.670
15Locked37.310
16Locked37.370
17Locked37.350
18Locked37.360
19Locked37.3140
20Locked37.650
21Locked37.340
22Locked37.660
23Locked37.350
24Locked37.360
0 Kudos
Reply
2tiredofwaiting
  • 53
  • 1
  • 3
On our wavelength
841 Views
Message 6 of 103
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant Hub3 restarts

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14620000036.5512064 qam3
23940000036.8512064 qam4
35370000036.5512032 qam2
46030000036.5512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt062-b.cm



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID33390
Max Traffic Rate402500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID33389
Max Traffic Rate38500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply
2tiredofwaiting
  • 53
  • 1
  • 3
On our wavelength
839 Views
Message 7 of 103
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant Hub3 restarts

Network Log

Time Priority Description

01/01/1970 00:01:42criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/05/2021 09:19:31noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:44criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/05/2021 08:02:50noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/04/2021 19:02:34criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/04/2021 18:53:53noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:42criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/04/2021 16:19:40noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/04/2021 16:07:30Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/04/2021 16:07:29criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/04/2021 16:07:23Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/04/2021 16:07:23criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/04/2021 16:07:22Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/04/2021 16:07:21criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/04/2021 16:07:13Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/04/2021 16:07:8Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/04/2021 16:07:8criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/04/2021 16:07:8Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/04/2021 16:07:8criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/04/2021 16:07:7Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
2tiredofwaiting
  • 53
  • 1
  • 3
On our wavelength
786 Views
Message 8 of 103
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant Hub3 restarts

Andrew-G
  • 9.53K
  • 1.54K
  • 4.56K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
779 Views
Message 9 of 103
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant Hub3 restarts

BQM confirms unreliability.  I don't think the hub is restarting, I think it is re-registering from scratch (looks the same, but a restart is usually a PSU or mains problem, a re-registration is when the PSU is good, but the hub can't maintain any stable connection).  The network log is full of nasties and confirms what the BQM shows, and there's a sniff of suspicion that this might be an upstream noise problem due to dropping modulation on channel 3.  I've flagged that for staff to take a look and advise - I suspect you'll need a technician visit, if they agree they'll sort that out for you without the misery of trying to deal with VM by telephone.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Kath_F
  • 31.41K
  • 1.2K
  • 2.5K
Forum Team
Forum Team
765 Views
Message 10 of 103
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant Hub3 restarts

Hi 2tiredofwaiting, 

Thanks for your post and apologies to hear about the issues you are having with your broadband. 

Taking a look at your account, I can see you had an engineers visit earlier today. They have noted that there may be a possible area issue and have raised this with the networks team for them to check this out further. 

In the meantime keep the broadband graph going so it can check the network now the engineer has changed things up. 

Keep us updated via the thread here 🙂

Thanks,

Kath_F
Forum Team




New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply