Menu
Reply
Priingleton
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
282 Views
Message 1 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Connectivity issue

For the last month or 2 i have noticed that i am not getting the speeds i pay for. i seem to get on average 100mb - 150mb download but pay for 600mb. I have rebooted my Virgin Hub 3 multiple times and my router multiple times, this fixes the issue for a couple of hours then the speeds drop again. Can anyone help?

Please find below my Virgin Hub 3 logs.

Status:

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
283000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
39400029
Locked

 

Downstream:

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1283000000340256 qam19
2139000000638256 qam1
31470000005.838256 qam2
41550000005.538256 qam3
51630000005.338256 qam4
61710000005.438256 qam5
71790000004.938256 qam6
81870000004.838256 qam7
91950000004.338256 qam8
102030000003.738256 qam9
112110000003.538256 qam10
122190000003.238256 qam11
13227000000338256 qam12
142350000002.738256 qam13
152430000002.438256 qam14
162510000002.238256 qam15
17259000000338256 qam16
18267000000338256 qam17
19275000000338256 qam18
202910000002.738256 qam20
212990000002.738256 qam21
22307000000338256 qam22
233150000002.938256 qam23
243230000002.538256 qam

24

 

Upstream:

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13940002938.3512064 qam10
22580004136.3512064 qam12
33260000738.3512064 qam11
44619997138.3512064 qam9

 

Network Log:

Time Priority Description

25/06/2021 05:41:26criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/06/2021 10:50:36noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt078-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/06/2021 10:50:36ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/06/2021 08:32:58criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**:cf;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/06/2021 22:50:36noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt078-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/06/2021 22:50:36ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/06/2021 17:04:18criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/06/2021 10:08:27noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt078-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/06/2021 10:08:27ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/06/2021 07:41:49criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/06/2021 22:08:27noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt078-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/06/2021 22:08:27ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/06/2021 10:44:40criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/06/2021 10:08:27noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt078-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/06/2021 10:08:27ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/06/2021 05:21:36criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/06/2021 22:08:27noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt078-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/06/2021 22:08:27ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/06/2021 10:08:27noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt078-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/06/2021 10:08:27ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

Any help will be much appreciated. 

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 7.05K
  • 1.22K
  • 3.08K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
271 Views
Message 2 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connectivity issue

I'm afraid there's nothing stands out in the hub status data - all figures and network log posted look OK, though you've not posted the second table of downstream data, and that might show something - in particular the post-RS error counts, which will be collected since the hub was last rebooted.

How are you measuring speed?

And you might want to setup a BQM over at https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality as that'll show if anything is going on with your VM connection.  Post a LINK to a LIVE, SHARED graph here and we'll see what's happening.  Usually needs to run for 24 hours before we can draw reasonable conclusions, but the live graph will continuously update so you can post the link immediately.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Priingleton
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
231 Views
Message 3 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connectivity issue

Please find my BQM below. (please note the red bars corresponed when i rebooted my modem and router)

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/dfbae07887ed85345faa6b934054d8fc89...

0 Kudos
Reply
Ayisha_B
  • 1.46K
  • 50
  • 137
Forum Team
Forum Team
156 Views
Message 4 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connectivity issue

Hi @Priingleton,

 

Welcome to our Community Forums and thanks for posting. 

 

I am sorry to hear you are having issues with your service. Thanks for setting up the BQM and providing the link.

 

So that I can run some further tests, can you please pop the router out of modem mode please?

 

Cheers

Ayisha_B
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
Priingleton
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
151 Views
Message 5 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connectivity issue

Hi @Ayisha_B

My Virgin Hub is now inrouter mode for you to run some tests.

 

Many Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
jpeg1
  • 4.78K
  • 264
  • 773
Superstar
145 Views
Message 6 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connectivity issue

Your BQM looks very good. 

Just to confirm, since you haven't mentioned it, but your speed tests were done with an ethernet connection to your router?  You are probably aware that WiFi speeds are not guaranteed. 

0 Kudos
Reply
Priingleton
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
140 Views
Message 7 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connectivity issue

Yes, all tests have been done via ethernet. All devices in the house that support ethernet are using it only devices like phones and smart speakers are on wifi.

 

Many thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
jpeg1
  • 4.78K
  • 264
  • 773
Superstar
135 Views
Message 8 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connectivity issue

Have you checked the speed with a direct connection to the Hub rather than through your router?

0 Kudos
Reply
Priingleton
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
132 Views
Message 9 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connectivity issue

I have, i get around 250mb down so a good improvment but not great for my package.
0 Kudos
Reply
jpeg1
  • 4.78K
  • 264
  • 773
Superstar
128 Views
Message 10 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connectivity issue

Certainly not.

As a last desperate measure you could try another ethernet lead.  They do fail sometimes. 

0 Kudos
Reply