Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 33
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
387 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Connection problems lots of packet loss

My connection has been really flakey for quite a while now, i put it down to problems in the local are as we fairly regularly had issues posted on the service status page...however this seems to now be ok but my connection is still regularly awful.

This is a BQM snapshot of issues yesterday evening and currently:

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/b82e53f7aa5b4f77f66984511c977b49a5b1bbf1-11-06-2020

This is a live BQM graph:

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/b487379713a425d8bdddb0835594d35c4953b637

 I'm running the superhub in modem mode, but the issues persist even when run as a router:

Item Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
323000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
39400000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online
 

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

13230000001.536256 qam24
2267000000-0.235256 qam17
32750000000.236256 qam18
42830000000.936256 qam19
52910000001.236256 qam20
62990000001.736256 qam21
73070000001.736256 qam22
83150000001.736256 qam23
93310000001.436256 qam25
103390000001.436256 qam26
113470000001.536256 qam27
123550000001.536256 qam28
133630000001.736256 qam29
143710000001.736256 qam30
153790000001.536256 qam31
16387000000136256 qam32
173950000000.536256 qam33
18403000000036256 qam34
19411000000036256 qam35
204190000000.236256 qam36
214270000000.436256 qam37
224350000000.536256 qam38
234430000000.236256 qam39
244510000000.436256 qam40



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked36.6165067
2Locked35.7666997
3Locked36.34640103
4Locked36.3338482
5Locked36.6191370
6Locked36.32135194
7Locked36.61369105
8Locked36.61535217
9Locked36.31547117
10Locked36.31649222
11Locked36.61568144
12Locked36.31429209
13Locked36.61302111
14Locked36.61129106
15Locked36.31579122
16Locked36.61601116
17Locked36.62770100
18Locked36.63382232
19Locked36.34088111
20Locked36.6332174
21Locked36.6315690
22Locked36.33211196
23Locked36.63406101
24Locked36.63380131

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1394000004.95512032 qam4
2462000004.9512064 qam3
3537000004.95512064 qam2
4603000004.85512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Let me know if you need anything else, hopefully someone can advise as whilst its generally ok...but not great for browsing/streaming, its basically unusable for gaming.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 33
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
375 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection problems lots of packet loss

Just a few traces to cloudflare and google dns:

Tracing route to 1.1.1.1 over a maximum of 30 hops

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 146 ms 94 ms 87 ms 10.70.244.1
3 11 ms 33 ms 37 ms 80.1.80.25
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 * * * Request timed out.
6 23 ms 40 ms 20 ms 62.253.174.178
7 21 ms 42 ms 15 ms 162.158.32.254
8 27 ms 49 ms 14 ms 1.1.1.1

C:\Users\Lee>tracert -d 1.1.1.1

Tracing route to 1.1.1.1 over a maximum of 30 hops

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 159 ms 32 ms 15 ms 10.70.244.1
3 81 ms 13 ms 67 ms 80.1.80.25
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 * * * Request timed out.
6 114 ms 23 ms 48 ms 62.253.174.178
7 16 ms 33 ms 48 ms 162.158.32.254
8 75 ms 80 ms 13 ms 1.1.1.1

Tracing route to 8.8.8.8 over a maximum of 30 hops

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 46 ms 78 ms 14 ms 10.70.244.1
3 26 ms 20 ms 88 ms 80.1.80.29
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 32 ms 14 ms 15 ms 94.174.238.226
6 20 ms 59 ms 45 ms 72.14.212.2
7 112 ms 23 ms 46 ms 216.239.40.71
8 17 ms 26 ms 30 ms 216.239.57.121
9 47 ms 53 ms 88 ms 8.8.8.8

First hop off my network is all over the place ping wise..
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 33
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
343 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection problems lots of packet loss

Bumping this, I appreciate it'll probably be slow to get a reply but I get absolutely no joy via the phone when calling so I'd rather wait

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 33
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
310 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection problems lots of packet loss

Still crap, still packet loss today.

I'll ring if need be, but it'd be nice to get some feedback on the power levels and whatnot, from reading the primer im not sure if theyre outside of the acceptable level or not.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 1.42K
  • 99
  • 140
Forum Team
Forum Team
264 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection problems lots of packet loss

Hey afx,

 

Thank you for your post. I am sorry to hear that you have been facing some difficulties with your broadband connection.

 

I've had a quick look at things from here and it seems that you're currently affected by an SNR issue in your area. This fault is estimated to be resolved by the 22nd June.

 

Apologies for any inconvenience and frustration caused until this gets fixed.

 

Let me know if there's anything else you need.

 

Beth

 

Highlighted
  • 33
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
253 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection problems lots of packet loss

ok, thanks for replying Beth. I'll keep an eye on things and reply if nothing seems to resolve itself after the 22nd.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 33
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
231 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection problems lots of packet loss

so, the 22nd has come and gone, i left it a week just to see and sadly its as crap as ever. online gaming, forget it, its like being on a rubber band.
Can you please advise is anything still ongoing in the WS10 area? as i'm getting a bit sick of it 😞
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 1.46K
  • 80
  • 117
Forum Team
Forum Team
193 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection problems lots of packet loss

Hi afx,

 

Sorry to hear that your connection issues are on-going. Doing remote diagnostics, I am getting some uptime errors that will require your hub to be reset. If you can reset your hub and let us know how it goes or if needed I can do this remotely.

 

Cheers,

Corey C

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 33
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
182 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection problems lots of packet loss

Thanks for the reply Corey, I've just rebooted the superhub

System up time : 0 days 0h:10m:49s
Network access : Allowed
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.24K
  • 90
  • 136
Forum Team
Forum Team
156 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection problems lots of packet loss

HI afx, thanks for the reply, can you confirm if you are still having issues with this? Can you perform a broadband quality monitor here ^Chris 

0 Kudos
Reply