Menu
Reply
neilmacadam
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Settling in
176 Views
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Connection issues Hub 4

I know others have posted but thus far I have not seen an answer that has solved my issues so...

I upgraded to the Virgin Hub 4 and ever since I have been having issues with devices dropping internet connections. They are connected to the hub but either show no internet, or whilst surfing, drop the connection. 

Customer Services tested and made some changes to my router today but to no avail. My phone keeps dropping the internet connection and my wife's laptop connects intermittently.

I'm paying £62 a month for a 500mb package and it isn't even stable let alone  registering anything like 500mb. (330 is the best i have seen)

Any suggestions or help would be appreciated as Virgin tell me "everything looks fine from our end."

Thanks,

Neil

 

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 937
  • 69
  • 141
Well-informed
172 Views
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection issues Hub 4

Can you post your Hub status and logs?
Someone should be spot if there is a problem
Navigate to http://192.168.0.1 (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode)
Don't log in!
Click on 'router status'
Copy/paste the data from each of the tabs. The forum software will remove the MAC addresses for you (you may need to click the 'post' button again).

Also, set up a 'Broadband Quality Monitor'. This will monitor the state of your connection and record any network dropouts etc - You can do this at ThinkBroadband (https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality)



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
neilmacadam
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Settling in
169 Views
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection issues Hub 4

Router status
Cable Modem StatusItem Status CommentsChannel Overview Downstream Upstream
Cable Modem Status
Online
DOCSIS 3.1
Primary downstream channel
Locked
SC-QAM
DOCSIS 3.0 channels
31
4
DOCSIS 3.1 channels
1
0
 
 
 
router status
Network LogTime Priority Description
Tue Apr 27 11:06:08 20216CM-STATUS message sent. Event Type Code: 24; Chan ID: 33; DSID: N/A; MAC Addr: N/A; OFDM/OFDMA Profile ID: 1.;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Tue Apr 27 11:14:07 20213SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Tue Apr 27 11:14:11 20215Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Tue Apr 27 11:15:22 20213SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Tue Apr 27 11:15:23 20213No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Tue Apr 27 11:15:29 20213SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Tue Apr 27 11:15:33 20215Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

 

 

Configuration

General Configuration
Network access
true
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
true
DOCSIS Mode
3.1
Config file
cmreg-vmdg640-bbt053-b.cm


Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID
247686
Max Traffic Rate
575000000
Max Traffic Burst
42600
Min Traffic Rate
0


Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID
247685
Max Traffic Rate
38520000
Max Traffic Burst
42600
Min Traffic Rate
0
Max Concatenated Burst
16320
Scheduling Type
bestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 30.55K
  • 1.89K
  • 4.06K
Alessandro Volta
166 Views
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection issues Hub 4

Is this happening to wired or wireless connections?


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
neilmacadam
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Settling in
164 Views
Message 5 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection issues Hub 4

Wireless connections - my wire devices appear to be stable

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 30.55K
  • 1.89K
  • 4.06K
Alessandro Volta
162 Views
Message 6 of 7
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Connection issues Hub 4


@neilmacadam wrote:

Wireless connections - my wire devices appear to be stable


Then you need to try and optimise the hubs (poor) Wifi output or put the hub into modem mode and attach your own router or mesh system.

 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Kath_F
  • 27.48K
  • 1.05K
  • 2.07K
Forum Team
Forum Team
23 Views
Message 7 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection issues Hub 4

Hi neilmacadam, 

Thanks for your post and apologies to hear that you are having an issue with your wireless connection. 

I have taken a look at the account and our diagnostics on your home network and Hub have not found any issues that could account for connection drop-outs. There are no open faults in your area either.

As you have specifically mentioned this is happening on your wireless network try these tips and hints to help optimise your network. 

Let us know how you get on. 

Thanks,

Kath_F
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply