Menu
Reply
dickinsonjim
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
220 Views
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Connection dropping

Hi

A couple of times a day I'm getting connections dropping and have to wait 10 mins or so for the Superhub to resolve things and get back online. "Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received" is the last entry in the Network Log from this morning's issue.

Here's the numbers - thanks in advance

Jim

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1330750000-10.737256 qam25
2202750000-838256 qam9
3210750000-838256 qam10
4218750000-8.238256 qam11
5226750000-938256 qam12
6234750000-9.238256 qam13
7242750000-9.238256 qam14
8250750000-9.538256 qam15
9258750000-9.538256 qam16
10266750000-9.538256 qam17
11274750000-9.538256 qam18
12282750000-9.737256 qam19
13290750000-10.237256 qam20
14298750000-9.937256 qam21
15306750000-1037256 qam22
16314750000-10.237256 qam23
17322750000-10.537256 qam24
18370750000-11.437256 qam26
19378750000-11.537256 qam27
20386750000-1237256 qam28
21394750000-11.737256 qam29
22402750000-11.737256 qam30
23410750000-1236256 qam31
24418750000-12.537256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.36812
2Locked38.615816
3Locked38.917314
4Locked38.929414
5Locked38.638616
6Locked38.646217
7Locked38.945614
8Locked38.642514
9Locked38.631112
10Locked38.623013
11Locked38.616212
12Locked37.610711
13Locked37.610112
14Locked37.6875
15Locked37.3960
16Locked37.65510
17Locked37.68612
18Locked37.3510
19Locked37.35611
20Locked37.3742
21Locked37.64411
22Locked37.35412
23Locked36.6720
24Locked37.37413

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13940000051512064 qam4
26030000051512064 qam1
34620000051512032 qam3
45370000051512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 2.54K
  • 188
  • 457
Trouble shooter
217 Views
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Connection dropping

Power levels are way off for downstream and at the top for upstream!

VM need to book an engineer!




------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
dickinsonjim
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
197 Views
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection dropping

It's in modem mode- and the fella on the phone says he's "run a diagnostic", that it must be the third party router that's the problem, and to ditch that! Any advice?

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 2.54K
  • 188
  • 457
Trouble shooter
194 Views
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection dropping

Ignore the [redacted] on the phone! and wait for a VM forum rep! - Last Time I checked - Modem mode and router mode still need the same power levels for a DOCSIS connection!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 2.54K
  • 188
  • 457
Trouble shooter
193 Views
Message 5 of 7
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Connection dropping

You could humour VM and out it back in router mode until it gets sorted - at least then they won't be able to blame the 3rd party router for 'influencing the power levels through the coax that doesn't touch the 3rd part router'

Putting it in router mode may encourage it to change power levels though (for a while) so maybe do that and keep checking the levels!

Upstream should be between 33 and 51
D/S between -6 and +10

PostRS errors should, ideally, be zero and stable!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
Paulina_Z
  • 1.02K
  • 32
  • 65
Forum Team
Forum Team
93 Views
Message 6 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection dropping

Hi @dickinsonjim,

 

Welcome back to our Community Forums! Thank you for your post and I'm sorry to understand that you've been experiencing some ongoing connection issues! Apologies for the delay in response.

 

In cases like this, we advise setting up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM for short) which will keep an eye on your connection while your Hub is in Router mode. This will let you know if there are any drop outs in your connection at home and you'll be able to keep a track of what's happening on your home connection.

 

We also advise taking a look at our What Do The Lights Mean page, where you can identify Hub issues just by the lights. The page provides some diagnostic tools and tricks for you to try in order to identify any issues. 

 

However, after locating your account and running some checks on your power levels, I can see some ongoing downstream and upstream power issues. A technician will have to take a further look at this issue, therefore an appointment will have to be booked in.

 

I will send you a Private Message to confirm a few details with you, so please keep an eye out for a purple envelope at the top right corner of your Forum page.

 

I will be in touch soon. 

 

Thanks! 🙂

Paulina_Z
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
Paulina_Z
  • 1.02K
  • 32
  • 65
Forum Team
Forum Team
31 Views
Message 7 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection dropping

Hi @dickinsonjim,

 

Thank you for confirming your details for me over Private Message.

 

I was able to book in a technician appointment to look into your issue further and confirmed the appointment details with you via PM. 

 

You can always reschedule and manage your appointment via your online account.

 

Please keep us updated on how your appointment goes and if you need any further support.

 

Thank you! 🙂

Paulina_Z
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply