Menu
Reply
htailor23
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
159 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Broadband keeps cutting for few seconds

Keep having issue with the Broadband cutting for few seconds, VM help can't find issue because I'm using 3rd party Router (Draytek 2860) and the hub3 is modem mode. When I log into the Hub and check Router Status network. I see below errors. Any one able to help?

Network Log

Time Priority Description

02/02/2021 10:13:13Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 10:13:10criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 09:49:44Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 09:49:44criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 09:39:43Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 09:38:52criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 09:38:51Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 09:38:51criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 09:38:49Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 09:38:48criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 09:38:48Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 09:38:47criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 09:07:53Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 09:06:23criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 08:53:48Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 08:52:59criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 06:16:48Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 06:15:34criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 04:07:51Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 03:42:27criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1202750000-2.537256 qam9
2138750000-138256 qam1
3146750000-138256 qam2
4154750000-1.238256 qam3
5162750000-1.238256 qam4
6170750000-1.438256 qam5
7178750000-1.538256 qam6
8186750000-1.738256 qam7
9194750000-238256 qam8
10210750000-2.937256 qam10
11218750000-3.238256 qam11
12226750000-3.737256 qam12
13234750000-3.938256 qam13
14242750000-4.237256 qam14
15250750000-4.537256 qam15
16258750000-4.737256 qam16
17266750000-4.537256 qam17
18274750000-5.537256 qam18
19282750000-7.236256 qam19
20290750000-6.437256 qam20
21298750000-4.437256 qam21
22306750000-4.237256 qam22
23314750000-4.237256 qam23
24322750000-4.237256 qam24

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.61085571168195
2Locked38.63033106891734
3Locked38.61408705295989
4Locked38.61169739209496
5Locked38.61194417223600
6Locked38.91132064195232
7Locked38.61077757171159
8Locked38.91113069171688
9Locked38.61154268190859
10Locked37.6986945144722
11Locked38.6950664133621
12Locked37.61029958148790
13Locked38.61002721140755
14Locked37.6880949111241
15Locked37.682808497029
16Locked37.677482982743
17Locked37.373179272438
18Locked37.676400377938
19Locked36.6853881101395
20Locked37.378945888287
21Locked37.659263347492
22Locked37.652611938021
23Locked37.350462734938
24Locked37.651605338064

 

 

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
tehwolf
  • 1.56K
  • 252
  • 379
Superfast
142 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband keeps cutting for few seconds

yeah those post-rs errors don't look healthy.

sorry, can't be much more help than that - but others around here can 🙂 suspect you'll need an engineer visit to put it right though.

either call it in or wait here for 5 - 10 days for a forum staffer to respond. 

htailor23
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
92 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband keeps cutting for few seconds

BQM Link

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/fc9fde7bee87a33db7aadf8dbdb952e27be2c67a-03-02-2021
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 20.44K
  • 2.18K
  • 3.61K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
89 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband keeps cutting for few seconds

BQM not great. can you start from a blank sheet and do this...
_______________________________________________

First switch the Hub off for 5 minutes AND unplug it from the mains. Whilst it's off, do a quick check that all of your coax cable connections are in nice and "finger" tight - at the Hub and wall box and also at any connectors etc. Ensure there are no “unterminated cable loose ends. Disconnect all the connections and reconnect to be sure. Also check that the internal wiring is ok with no kinking or chaffing, check that all looks good with the outside cabling and wall box. Then switch it on again and leave 5 minutes

Then do a Hub “pinhole reset” - make sure the 2 passwords on the Hub sticker are still there and legible first ! Disconnect any ethernet cables from the Hub, and then with the Hub still "switched on" throughout, press pin in firmly with paper clip/SIM tray tool or similar "thin thing" and hold it firmly for at least 60 seconds, release the pin, leave for 10’ to stabilise - dont manually switch it off at any time.

When done, check back in the settings and ensure that the RS error counts have all reset to 0. Then check every hour or two for the next day or two to see if they start reappearing - they shouldn't. If they do (particularly the postRS ones) you have a problem (noise) that only a Tech visit will sort.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
htailor23
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
73 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband keeps cutting for few seconds

Thanks John,

I did give all this a try, but error's still appearing, and broadband still losing connection. 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 20.44K
  • 2.18K
  • 3.61K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
66 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband keeps cutting for few seconds

Post a link to the live BQM.

Also show us the upstream data

You deffo need a tech visit if the RS errors are still going up and the down power levels are still low

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
htailor23
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
59 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband keeps cutting for few seconds

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13940007342.5512064 qam4
24620000043.5512064 qam3
33260000041.8512064 qam5
42579999541.5512064 qam6



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0030
2ATDMA0030
3ATDMA0080
4ATDMA00180

 

Live BQM

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/5a248e06d7ae63500a9abe8205a27c1492...

Been on the phone to Virgin, but they keep saying they don't see a problem. When there is clearly a problem.

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 20.44K
  • 2.18K
  • 3.61K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
54 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband keeps cutting for few seconds

Its an issue - I will flag for a proper VM person to come here and take a look

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
Corey_C
  • 2.72K
  • 152
  • 220
Forum Team
Forum Team
29 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband keeps cutting for few seconds

Thanks for your post and for reaching out to the Community Forums, htailor23

 

Sorry to hear that you have been having connection issues with your broadband. I have been running some remote diagnostics which has confirmed some errors with your connection,. I have set up an engineer’s visit for you which you will be able to view from your online account here.

 

Cheers,

Corey C

0 Kudos
Reply
htailor23
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
25 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband keeps cutting for few seconds

Thanks Corey,

I logged in but couldn’t see when the engineer is booked? 

0 Kudos
Reply