Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 15
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
189 Views
Message 1 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Broadband drops few times a day, even in modem mode, normal tricks haven't worked...

Hi all, 

For the last few weeks I have been seeing the internet stop for a few moments before returning to normal, this has been happening a couple times a day. It happens on all devices connected wirelessly  but when it happens I see no error messages on the HUB 3 router. Since then I have purchased a new 3rd party router and put the HUB 3 in modem mode. Sadly the issues are still continuing.

Can anyone help?

I have tried turning the HUB 3 on and off again about 100 times, hard rebooted it, and triple checked all the connections. Whenever I've run. test its told me it's fine...

Thanks!

Ollie 

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 25.02K
  • 1.44K
  • 3.19K
Alessandro Volta
185 Views
Message 2 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband drops few times a day, even in modem mode, normal tricks haven't worked...

Do any wired connections drop?

*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 15
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
182 Views
Message 3 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband drops few times a day, even in modem mode, normal tricks haven't worked...

Hey Gary, 

No I haven't noticed any, I only have a console plugged in wired and anytime I've used that it's been fine. Which I know makes no sense since connecting a different router should have fixed it 😞 

I called the automated Virgin line earlier and their test suggested I should restart the router so clearly something isn't right with the thing

Cheers

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 25.02K
  • 1.44K
  • 3.19K
Alessandro Volta
179 Views
Message 4 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband drops few times a day, even in modem mode, normal tricks haven't worked...

Restarting the router is a standard thing.

Post the network, upstream and downstream logs from the hubs admin pages

*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 15
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
176 Views
Message 5 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband drops few times a day, even in modem mode, normal tricks haven't worked...

Sure! Here's Network:

Network Log

Time Priority Description

28/10/2020 15:04:47noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/10/2020 17:15:45noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/10/2020 17:15:45ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/10/2020 18:51:5criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/10/2020 12:35:21noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/10/2020 01:52:16criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 23:10:24noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 15:06:29criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/10/2020 08:32:14noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/10/2020 00:20:53Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/10/2020 00:20:48criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/10/2020 00:20:48Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/10/2020 00:10:40noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/10/2020 13:45:1criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/10/2020 10:52:7noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/10/2020 10:52:7ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/10/2020 10:22:30noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file
19/10/2020 10:20:5noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
19/10/2020 00:54:28criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/10/2020 23:10:54noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

Downstream:

13307500005.340256 qam25
22507500003.540256 qam15
3258750000440256 qam16
42667500004.440256 qam17
52747500004.540256 qam18
62827500004.640256 qam19
72907500004.840256 qam20
8298750000540256 qam21
93067500005.340256 qam22
103147500005.440256 qam23
113227500005.340256 qam24
123707500004.540256 qam26
133787500004.940256 qam27
143867500005.140256 qam28
15394750000540256 qam29
164027500004.540256 qam30
174107500003.738256 qam31
184187500003.440256 qam32
194267500003.440256 qam33
204347500003.240256 qam34
214427500002.940256 qam35
22450750000338256 qam36
23458750000340256 qam37
244667500003.240256 qam38

 

Upstream:

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1394000094.15512064 qam2
2257999644512064 qam4
3326000194.15512064 qam3
4462000244.15512064 qam1

 

Thanks again

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 25.02K
  • 1.44K
  • 3.19K
Alessandro Volta
170 Views
Message 6 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband drops few times a day, even in modem mode, normal tricks haven't worked...

Nothing recent to indicate any drops.

Are you sure the hub is in Modem Mode?

If so, is your 3rd party router the only thing connected to the virgin hub by ethernet?

*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 15
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
165 Views
Message 7 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband drops few times a day, even in modem mode, normal tricks haven't worked...

It's super weird, I never lose connect to the routers, the internet just completely dies on all my devices. 

 

Yup just double checked, its ticked in the admin settings and none of my devices are connected to it. Yeah so I have an Ethernet cable going into the new router, and from the new router I have the xbox plugged in via a different Ethernet. Thats it though 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 25.02K
  • 1.44K
  • 3.19K
Alessandro Volta
162 Views
Message 8 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband drops few times a day, even in modem mode, normal tricks haven't worked...

Wireless devices are dropping you say?

Is it an ASUS router per chance?

*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 15
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
155 Views
Message 9 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband drops few times a day, even in modem mode, normal tricks haven't worked...

Sorry yeah I dont lose any connections, just the internet completely dies on all my devices connected. My Sonos Speakers seem to be constantly disconnecting. 

Ah it's not, its a Tenda AC1200 router, but like I said, this was playing up before I even spent the £30 on a new router.. 

I noticed it started after I had two nights of the HUB 3 restarted at 1am in the morning (I'm guess to install updates?) a few weeks back

Highlighted
  • 25.02K
  • 1.44K
  • 3.19K
Alessandro Volta
151 Views
Message 10 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband drops few times a day, even in modem mode, normal tricks haven't worked...

If it's an AC6 there does seem to be some reviews online that reference connections dropping out and installing the latest firmware (or reinstalling) seemed to fix the issue

*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply