Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
440 Views
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Broadband dropping out

Which is better? 

100meg connection with VM which drops out repeatedly, often affecting watching of TV apps, or  a 40meg connection with sky, which couldn't possibly drop out as much as VM?

 In fact, i think if I built a hub myself, and connected it to a green box in the street, it couldnt get any worse.

Why does VM drop out so much? It is absolutely awful, and really not worth the money as far as I am concerned!

Repeated synchronisation fails, at all times of the day or night, severely restricting any (limited) gaming time i have!

Even my dial up connection didnt drop this frequently in 1993.

Frustrated, and angry,

Tony

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 28.85K
  • 1.36K
  • 4.97K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
434 Views
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband dropping out

the VM connection with your own router and get a engineer out if needed,

What do the power levels on the hub look like? are you testing wired or wireless?

As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13K
  • 1.34K
  • 2.16K
Alessandro Volta
434 Views
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband dropping out

To be clear..... is it just wifi connected devices that drop out frequently or do those connected directly to the Hub by ethernet cable also lose connection ?

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
401 Views
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband dropping out

Thanks for the response.

Its a hub 3, I think....occasionally get the green broken link sign on the front, but when it works normally, just the white line on the bottom of it.

I have a signal booster plugged into it, to feed downstairs better, and it stays active when the wifi goes down. (Obviously not connecting to the internet though).

I tried hard wiring the xbox thru it, but it makes no difference to connection dropping.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
400 Views
Message 5 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband dropping out

When it goes down we lose everything. Not Virgin TV tho, i mean we can still watch cable channels...most of the time! Occasionally we are stuck with BBC TV!!!

The TV is hard wired into signal booster downstairs, but that goes down frequently too.

Almost everything is WiFi tho....phones, xboxes, laptops.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13K
  • 1.34K
  • 2.16K
Alessandro Volta
311 Views
Message 6 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband dropping out

OK if wired connections are dropping out too, try these things..

First check for “known network faults”?
As well as trying the “check service,” weblink (at the top of this forum board), there is also a Service Status number - 0800 561 0061 - which usually tells you of more local issues down to postcode level (that might even not yet be listed on the Service Status web page) - that may give you more info.
---------------
Also, check all your coax connections are in nice and "finger" tight at the Hub and wall box and at any splitters/attenuators/etc with no “unterminated loose ends, and that the internal wiring is ok with no kinking or chaffing. Also check that all looks good with the outside cabling and wall box.

If that’s all good.... Post up your Hub/network connection details and someone will check to see if there is a problem there. In your browser’s URL box type in http://192.168.0.1 (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode) and hit return. On the first page up [there should be no need to login if you have done so before] click on the “router status” icon/text at bottom-middle of first page up and then copy/paste 3 FULL sets of data onto here – from the Downstream, Upstream, & Network Logs pages. Don't worry too much about the formatting it can be easily read & DON’T include personal data or MAC addresses - blank them out - if you copy/paste the data, the board software will do this for you.

Also, set up a free “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any network dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM. Make sure you uncheck the “ignore ping from WAN side” box in the settings if you see a wall of "red" - note it will take an hour or two to start seeing a sensible picture.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
254 Views
Message 7 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband dropping out

Not sure if this is the info requested...

Refresh data

 

Upstream bonded channelsChannelFrequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)Symbol Rate (ksps)ModulationChannel ID1394000005.05512064 qam42462000004.9512064 qam33603000004.825512064 qam14537000004.825512064 qam2

 

Upstream bonded channelsChannelChannel TypeT1 TimeoutsT2 TimeoutsT3 TimeoutsT4 Timeouts1ATDMA00002ATDMA00003ATDMA00004ATDMA0000

Refresh data

 

Downstream bonded channelsChannelFrequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)SNR (dB)ModulationChannel ID12030000002.740256 qam922110000001.740256 qam1032190000001.740256 qam114227000000138256 qam125235000000138256 qam1362430000001.238256 qam1472510000000.738256 qam1582590000000.238256 qam169267000000038256 qam1710275000000-1.238256 qam1811283000000-1.538256 qam1912291000000038256 qam20132990000001.738256 qam21143070000001.740256 qam22153150000000.538256 qam23163230000000.940256 qam24174270000000.940256 qam2518435000000140256 qam2619443000000-0.238256 qam2720451000000-1.438256 qam2821459000000-138256 qam2922467000000-138256 qam3023475000000-138256 qam3124483000000-138256 qam32

 

Downstream bonded channelsChannelLocked StatusRxMER (dB)Pre RS ErrorsPost RS Errors1Locked40.38202Locked40.31303Locked40.31604Locked38.91905Locked38.92306Locked38.9607Locked38.9108Locked38.9509Locked38.65010Locked38.66011Locked38.610012Locked38.97013Locked38.94014Locked40.30015Locked38.63016Locked40.30017Locked40.30018Locked40.313019Locked38.913020Locked38.95021Locked38.99022Locked38.98023Locked38.921024Locked38.660

Refresh data

 

Network LogTimePriorityDescription02/01/2020 11:40:28criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;02/01/2020 11:40:36Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;02/01/2020 11:40:36criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;02/01/2020 11:40:52Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;02/01/2020 11:40:52criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;02/01/2020 11:41:7Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;02/01/2020 11:41:8criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;02/01/2020 11:41:24Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;02/01/2020 11:41:32criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;02/01/2020 11:41:48Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;02/01/2020 11:41:48criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;02/01/2020 11:42:3Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;02/01/2020 11:42:3criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;02/01/2020 11:42:10Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;02/01/2020 11:42:10criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;02/01/2020 11:42:11criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;02/01/2020 11:42:12Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;02/01/2020 11:42:12criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;02/01/2020 11:42:15Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;02/01/2020 11:46:11criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply