Menu
Reply
Iansalford
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
194 Views
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Broadband constantly dropping

I need help from someone in the know. Our broadband has worked for a few years without a single problem. But recently its constantly dropping connection, usually about the same time to. Its driving us crazy 😜

Does anyone have any idea before I try to ring virgin. I've tried the reset and that does absolutely nothing. 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 20.76K
  • 2.21K
  • 3.68K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
182 Views
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband constantly dropping

Is the BB connection dropping or just your wifi? What are the various lights on the Hub showing/doing?

To test.. plug a computer/laptop etc into the Hub on an ethernet cable and see if that remains connected when the wifi ones drop.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Iansalford
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
176 Views
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband constantly dropping

The whole lot goes off. Tv, everything connected via ether et and obviously WiFi. I don't understand why all of a sudden its become so unreliable. 😔

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 20.76K
  • 2.21K
  • 3.68K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
168 Views
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband constantly dropping

First job... check for “known network faults”.

As well as trying the “check service,” Area status webpage" (link at top right of this forum), also try the “free & automated” Service Status number - 0800 561 0061 - which usually tells you of more local issues down to postcode level. These may not be listed on the Area Status web page (Areas are not “Geographic” they are billing areas) as that usually only covers faults affecting 1000’s of customers) so phone may give you more info, but even that wont cover problems affecting just a few customers.

Then if nothing shows - follow this.
___________________________

Post up your Hub/network connection details and someone will check to see if there is a problem there.  In your browser’s URL box type in http://192.168.0.1  (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode) and hit return. On the first page up [there should be no need to login if you have done so before unless you have the New Hub4 when you do] click on the “router status” icon/text at bottom-middle of first page up and then copy/paste as “Formatted Text” (not images) 3 FULL sets of data onto here – 2 pages from the Downstream, 2 from the Upstream, & the Network Logs page. Don't worry too much about the formatting it can be easily read & DON’T include personal data or MAC addresses - blank them out - if you copy/paste the data, the board software will do this for you (you may need to click the "submit" button again.

Also, in the meantime... if you haven’t already, set up a free and secure “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts , latency issues, packet drops, etc - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” to the “share live graph” (as per instructions on the TB website) when it starts to develop.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality



--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Iansalford
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
155 Views
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband constantly dropping

Thank you for your help John. i think i have copied the right stuff, please see below.

Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 258750000 4.5 38 256 qam 16
2 266750000 4.5 38 256 qam 17
3 274750000 4.1 40 256 qam 18
4 282750000 4.1 38 256 qam 19
5 290750000 4 38 256 qam 20
6 298750000 4 38 256 qam 21
7 306750000 3.7 38 256 qam 22
8 314750000 3.7 38 256 qam 23
9 322750000 3.7 38 256 qam 24
10 330750000 3.7 38 256 qam 25
11 370750000 3.4 38 256 qam 26
12 378750000 3 38 256 qam 27
13 386750000 2.7 38 256 qam 28
14 394750000 2.5 38 256 qam 29
15 402750000 2.5 38 256 qam 30
16 410750000 2.7 38 256 qam 31
17 418750000 3 38 256 qam 32
18 426750000 3 38 256 qam 33
19 434750000 2.9 38 256 qam 34
20 442750000 2.7 38 256 qam 35
21 450750000 2.2 38 256 qam 36
22 458750000 2 38 256 qam 38
23 466750000 2 38 256 qam 39
24 474750000 2 38 256 qam 40


Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 38.6 6 0
2 Locked 38.9 6 0
3 Locked 40.3 6 0
4 Locked 38.9 5 0
5 Locked 38.9 10 0
6 Locked 38.9 22 0
7 Locked 38.6 22 0
8 Locked 38.9 20 0
9 Locked 38.9 7 0
10 Locked 38.6 8 0
11 Locked 38.6 1 0
12 Locked 38.9 7 0
13 Locked 38.9 11 0
14 Locked 38.6 8 0
15 Locked 38.9 11 0
16 Locked 38.9 20 0
17 Locked 38.9 20 0
18 Locked 38.9 19 0
19 Locked 38.9 17 0
20 Locked 38.9 19 0
21 Locked 38.9 5 0
22 Locked 38.9 11 0
23 Locked 38.9 6 0
24 Locked 38.9 1 0

Upstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 39400000 46.3 5120 64 qam 6
2 53700000 46.8 5120 64 qam 8
3 32600000 45.8 5120 64 qam 7
4 46200000 46.5 5120 64 qam 5


Upstream bonded channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
3 ATDMA 0 0 1 0
4 ATDMA 0 0 0 0

Network Log

Time Priority Description

02/02/2021 19:48:45criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 19:11:22criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/02/2021 10:32:19criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/01/2021 18:02:55ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:40criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/01/2021 21:45:36Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/01/2021 17:00:5criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/01/2021 15:25:7noticeNOTICE ATOM is restarted as part of Self Healing Mechanism;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/01/2021 05:04:10criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/01/2021 09:20:26Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/01/2021 09:20:25criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/01/2021 09:14:21Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/01/2021 09:14:21criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/01/2021 09:14:15Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/01/2021 09:14:15criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/01/2021 09:14:10Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/01/2021 09:14:10criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/01/2021 09:14:5Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/01/2021 09:14:5criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/01/2021 09:14:1Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Iansalford
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
151 Views
Message 6 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband constantly dropping

the broadband monitor, i signed up for that and forgot about it. see link below 🙂

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/2f7ff03069fb1d00836990e301dc95ce2efc9f8a]My Broadband Ping[/url]

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 20.76K
  • 2.21K
  • 3.68K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
147 Views
Message 7 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband constantly dropping

Stats all ok but something's not right on the BQM. If the link is to today's connection then there is nothing in your logs covering today (looks like a dropout at ~3pm)m- did you post them all up?

Have you done a simple check that all of your coax cable connections are in nice and "finger" tight - at the Hub and wall box and also at any connectors etc. Disconnect all the connections and reconnect to be sure. Ensure there are no “unterminated cable loose ends. Also check that the internal wiring is ok with no kinking or chaffing, check that all looks good with the outside cabling and wall box.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Iansalford
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
141 Views
Message 8 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband constantly dropping

John, 

     Thank you for that. I will check the cable outside in the morning 😊👍

Yes I posted all the logs. It doesn't really go back very far on the network log.

😊

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 20.76K
  • 2.21K
  • 3.68K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
134 Views
Message 9 of 9
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Broadband constantly dropping

If it's all good it will need VM to investigate as there is no obvious reason for the total dropouts

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply