Menu
Reply
warrendm
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
220 Views
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Asked by VM to raise post and share BQM data - as intermittent service

I have had Google Nest Mesh running of Hub 3.0 in Modem mode for a long time, but not long after upgrading to 200Mbps from 100Mbps started losing internet multiple times in evenings.

Switched back to Router mode to collect data and sharing here for review, as can't understand it myself!  🙂

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/3290d4be060bc2066d2ae363e6db901d88d71e70-21-02-2021

 

<a title="Broadband Ping" href="https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/3290d4be060bc2066d2ae363e6db901d88d71e70-21-02-2021"><img alt="My Broadband Ping - VM_WM" src="https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/3290d4be060bc2066d2ae363e6db901d88d71e70-21-02-2021.png" /></a>

 

warrendm_1-1613905124460.png

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1667000000640256 qam33
24910000008.440256 qam11
34990000008.140256 qam12
45070000008.340256 qam13
55150000007.840256 qam14
6523000000840256 qam15
7531000000840256 qam16
8539000000840256 qam17
95470000007.540256 qam18
105550000007.540256 qam19
115630000006.438256 qam20
125710000006.940256 qam21
13579000000740256 qam22
145870000007.340256 qam23
155950000007.140256 qam24
166030000006.938256 qam25
176110000005.638256 qam26
186190000006.438256 qam27
196270000006.538256 qam28
206350000006.538256 qam29
21643000000638256 qam30
226510000006.138256 qam31
236590000005.538256 qam32
246750000005.538256 qam34



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.3600
2Locked40.3290
3Locked40.9400
4Locked40.3520
5Locked40.3330
6Locked40.3350
7Locked40.9500
8Locked40.9270
9Locked40.3410
10Locked40.3210
11Locked38.9350
12Locked40.3410
13Locked40.3390
14Locked40.3430
15Locked40.3440
16Locked38.9330
17Locked38.6530
18Locked38.9390
19Locked38.6460
20Locked38.9400
21Locked38.9470
22Locked38.9470
23Locked38.9580
24Locked38.9570

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13940000032512064 qam4
24620000032.5512064 qam3
35370000033512064 qam2
46030002033.5512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0010
2ATDMA0020
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0010
0 Kudos
Reply
Andruser
  • 5.53K
  • 970
  • 2.28K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
207 Views
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Asked by VM to raise post and share BQM data - as intermittent service

Looks to me like your area has a slight hint of utilisation issues (which should resolve when lockdown eases), but your upstream power levels are pretty low.  I'll flag that for staff to comment.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Adduxi
  • 2.51K
  • 178
  • 513
Problem sorter
205 Views
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Asked by VM to raise post and share BQM data - as intermittent service

Your BQM looks okay as does your power levels, except for Upstream is a tad on the low side at 33 and will need an engineer to fix.

By the way, you don't need to be in Router mode to get all these logs, you can stay in Modem mode and still have access to the stats and BQM. Note however when in Modem mode your WAN IP changes, so you would need to edit your BQM with the new IP.

0 Kudos
Reply
Andruser
  • 5.53K
  • 970
  • 2.28K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
157 Views
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Asked by VM to raise post and share BQM data - as intermittent service

..however, for VM staff to check your hub's status logs, they will need you to keep it in router mode.  Although the hub continues to collect status data when in modem mode, it isn't visible to VM staff remotely.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Adduxi
  • 2.51K
  • 178
  • 513
Problem sorter
133 Views
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Asked by VM to raise post and share BQM data - as intermittent service


@Andruser wrote:

..however, for VM staff to check your hub's status logs, they will need you to keep it in router mode.  Although the hub continues to collect status data when in modem mode, it isn't visible to VM staff remotely.


I didn't know that, I always run in Modem mode.  Every day is a school day !

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 28.92K
  • 1.77K
  • 3.78K
Alessandro Volta
128 Views
Message 6 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Asked by VM to raise post and share BQM data - as intermittent service


@Adduxi wrote:

@Andruser wrote:

..however, for VM staff to check your hub's status logs, they will need you to keep it in router mode.  Although the hub continues to collect status data when in modem mode, it isn't visible to VM staff remotely.


I didn't know that, I always run in Modem mode.  Every day is a school day !


I’m in modem mode and the support team had no issues getting the stats from my hub when speaking to them recently about an ongoing area issue. 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Beth_G
  • 2.52K
  • 159
  • 246
Forum Team
Forum Team
126 Views
Message 7 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Asked by VM to raise post and share BQM data - as intermittent service

Hi warrendm,

 

Thank you for posting on the Community Forums.

 

I'm sorry to see you've been having a few problems with your broadband service. As Adduxi has correctly pointed out, some of your upstream power levels are on the low side and we will need to arrange an engineer visit so this can be resolved.

 

I've booked in the next available slot for you - as we cannot confirm appointment time slots publicly, you can sign in your online My Virgin Media account to view and manage your time slot from there.

 

Do let us know how the appointment goes and if you need anything else.

 

Beth

0 Kudos
Reply
warrendm
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
103 Views
Message 8 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Asked by VM to raise post and share BQM data - as intermittent service

Will do - thanks

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Beth_G
  • 2.52K
  • 159
  • 246
Forum Team
Forum Team
49 Views
Message 9 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Asked by VM to raise post and share BQM data - as intermittent service

No worries 🙂

 

Beth

0 Kudos
Reply