Menu
Reply
PeteA539
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
220 Views
Message 1 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Another timing sync error

Hi Forum folks (and hopefully virgin team members). 

 

Sorry for another Timing sync error. Every since I've had my line (just over a year now) I've had continual issues with timing sync errors causing disconnections which is horribly annoying. The past couple of weeks I've barely been able to go more than a day without rebooting my router and frequently factory resetting. 

 

The helpline people have never been able to help and with covid twice ive had engineers cancel on me when I'd requested home support (with the intention of paying for it under a line move). 

 

From seeing other posts it seems to be noise on the line which causes it. I've posted pictures below of some logs and the downstream errors. Nothing seems to be the matter with voltages so I'm stuck and hoping a forum member will pick this up to help resolve.

 

The below screenshots from the router are a little under 48 hours old (with error count that happened to be stable at near zero for the first 24 hours and today it's been appalling) 

Screenshot_20210413_212159_com.android.chrome.jpg

Screenshot_20210413_210910_com.android.chrome.jpg

Screenshot_20210413_210920_com.android.chrome.jpg

Screenshot_20210413_202935_com.android.chrome.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
Kath_F
  • 27.48K
  • 1.06K
  • 2.08K
Forum Team
Forum Team
114 Views
Message 2 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Another timing sync error

Hi PeteA539, 

Thanks for your post and welcome to the forums. It's really great having you on board with us in the community. 

I'm sorry to hear that you are having an issue with your connection. Line moves have been put on hold for now but had the engineer been booked for a fault, it wouldn't of been cancelled. 

I have checked the Hub stats today and can see that the downstream power levels are too high. We will need to correct these and then can see how things are. I have booked you in for the next available appointment. We cannot confirm the appointment time slot publicly, so to view this please sign in to My Virgin Media here: My VM


If the appointment is unsuitable or if anyone living at your property has tested positive for Coronavirus, has been asked to self-isolate or has flu-like symptoms then please reschedule the appointment on the same link. 


Lets us know how the appointment goes. 


Take care.

Kath_F
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
PeteA539
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
96 Views
Message 3 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Another timing sync error

Hi Kath,

Thanks for sending an engineer. Unfortunately they've been and things are now worse. 

Drop outs are less significant but FAR more frequent. Talking minutes not hours or sometimes days. Video calls for work this morning are awful. 

Further help would be appreciated

 

Peter

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 937
  • 70
  • 142
Well-informed
92 Views
Message 4 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Another timing sync error

Crikey! What did the engineer do???



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
PeteA539
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
87 Views
Message 5 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Another timing sync error

Re-comissioned power levels to be back in line with normal. I can see the change on the router and the cut outs are less disruptive (likely caused by the reduction in noise due to power) but the cut outs now way more frequent. 

My guess is that something else is the issue (and very unlikely to be his fault, just that what he's done uncovered the root cause)

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 937
  • 70
  • 142
Well-informed
76 Views
Message 6 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Another timing sync error

Can you re-post your hub stats - it'd be worth comparing them!

Can you do as text as opposed to images (the forum will format them correctly and blank any MAC addresses - you may need to hit 'post' twice though)



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
PeteA539
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
66 Views
Message 7 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Another timing sync error

Current list (and i've included a before power level in the column to the left)

Channel Frequency (Hz) POwer Before Power After SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

113900000012.63.938256 qam1
214700000012.63.738256 qam2
315500000012.53.738256 qam3
416300000012.53.538256 qam4
517100000012.43.538256 qam5
617900000012.43.738256 qam6
718700000012.33.538256 qam7
8195000000123.440256 qam8
9203000000123.238256 qam9
1021100000011.8338256 qam10
1121900000011.6340256 qam11
1222700000011.42.938256 qam12
1323500000011.32.538256 qam13
1424300000011.12.438256 qam14
1525100000010.92.238256 qam15
1625900000010.52.238256 qam16
1726700000010.82.238256 qam17
1827500000011238256 qam18
1928300000010.8240256 qam19
2029100000010.3238256 qam20
2129900000010.42.238256 qam21
22307000000112.538256 qam22
2331500000011.62.940256 qam23
2432300000011.5338256 qam24

 

Errors since reset 4 hours(ish) ago.

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.91196310703
2Locked38.61129910398
3Locked38.9108639824
4Locked38.91005710007
5Locked38.994969827
6Locked38.989869537
7Locked38.986119196
8Locked40.382628516
9Locked38.980377788
10Locked38.979707663
11Locked40.975647218
12Locked38.975667237
13Locked38.971637702
14Locked38.972257734
15Locked38.971267972
16Locked38.968668463
17Locked38.967968415
18Locked38.967157904
19Locked40.366297599
20Locked38.966788086
21Locked38.965007524
22Locked38.963337278
23Locked40.363987188
24Locked38.961956980

This is what my current error log looks like!

 
0 Kudos
Reply
PeteA539
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
65 Views
Message 8 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Another timing sync error

This is what my failures are like. It's awful.

Time Priority Description
19/04/2021 14:15:3noticeLAN login Success;
19/04/2021 14:13:44Warning!RCS Partial Service;
19/04/2021 14:13:44criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;
19/04/2021 14:13:27Warning!RCS Partial Service;
19/04/2021 14:13:26criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;
19/04/2021 14:13:25Warning!RCS Partial Service;
19/04/2021 14:13:25criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;
19/04/2021 14:13:1Warning!RCS Partial Service;
19/04/2021 14:10:48criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;
19/04/2021 14:10:16Warning!RCS Partial Service;
19/04/2021 14:10:16criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;
19/04/2021 14:09:42Warning!RCS Partial Service;
19/04/2021 14:09:28criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;
19/04/2021 14:09:28Warning!RCS Partial Service;
19/04/2021 14:09:26criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;
19/04/2021 14:06:58Warning!RCS Partial Service;
19/04/2021 14:06:58criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;
19/04/2021 14:06:56Warning!RCS Partial Service;
19/04/2021 14:06:56criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;
19/04/2021 14:06:55Warning!

RCS Partial Service;

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 937
  • 70
  • 142
Well-informed
58 Views
Message 9 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Another timing sync error

Yikes - if the RS Errors reset and are back there already then there's likely to be a serious noise ingress problem that VM would need to fix!

Looks like an attenuator may have been fitted but not really cured the noise problem!

The noise could be coming in 'before the property' though!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
Steven_L
  • 4.65K
  • 340
  • 462
Forum Team
Forum Team
56 Views
Message 10 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Another timing sync error

Hey @PeteA539,

 

I can see from your account that you've had an engineer visit earlier today, was the visit not successful then? 

 

Regards

Steven_L

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply