Menu
Highlighted
Joining in
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

2nd Wired router

Hi,

Is it possible to add a second wired (through an ethernet connect) a second router without putting the superhub 3.0 into modem mode?

If so can anyone recommend a sub £20 router?

Thanks

Stuart

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2nd Wired router

Its possible but i doubt you would need to, please can i ask what you are looking to achieve?

Here to help! I'm an install manager helping out whilst working from home. Find out more

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Joining in
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator

My hub is downstairs and works well, but in my home office upstairs I have tried everything to get  a stable fast wifi signal. Recently had a cable ran from the hub to my upstairs office. I thought for wifi items upstairs it would be good to have a second router plugged into the data point to give a strong wifi signal.

I did buy a TP-Link TL-WR841N 300Mbps Wireless N Cable Router, 4 Fast LAN Ports, but looking at the instructions I would have to change the hub to a modem, which I assume I lose all wifi capabilities of the hub

Hopefully that makes sense.

Thanks

Stuart

0 Kudos
Highlighted
On our wavelength
Message 4 of 6
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Yes,  but you don't need a second router, just use a cheaper WiFi Access Point. I use a ethernet cable to a tp-link AC1750 Wi-Fi Range Extender In Access Point Mode. You need to use the same SSID and password as the Virgin Hub 3. It helps a lot in boosting the wifi upstairs.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Joining in
Message 5 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Thanks Paul, I'll have a look.

Cheers

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Alessandro Volta
Message 6 of 6
Flag for a moderator

@stuartcmcinnes wrote:

I did buy a TP-Link TL-WR841N 300Mbps Wireless N Cable Router, 4 Fast LAN Ports

Maybe I should be surprised you didn't try and get another hub.