Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
157 Views
Message 1 of 16
Flag for a moderator

2 x virgin mobiles not connecting to internet via hub 3.0

Recently joined Virgin Media and both kids have virgin mobiles. They can no longer connect to hub 3.0 for internet access. I had a look at the hub last night and it looks like quite a few errors in the log. I keep having to restart the hub every few days to keep everything connected which I don't think is acceptable and should not be necessary. Can anyone shed any light why devices can connect to the hub but have no internet access? TIA

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.46K
  • 889
  • 1.46K
Alessandro Volta
154 Views
Message 2 of 16
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: 2 x virgin mobiles not connecting to internet via hub 3.0

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Post a 'Live Link' to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.46K
  • 889
  • 1.46K
Alessandro Volta
153 Views
Message 3 of 16
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: 2 x virgin mobiles not connecting to internet via hub 3.0

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

Hub 2 & 3 When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Hub 4 When the page appears LOG IN then click ‘Check Router Status’.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream, Configuration and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow / straw box warning click the Post button again. Use one post for each tab if you wish.

Please do not use screen grabs.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 24.39K
  • 1.4K
  • 3.1K
Alessandro Volta
150 Views
Message 4 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2 x virgin mobiles not connecting to internet via hub 3.0

Is it just those 2 devices affected?


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
92 Views
Message 5 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2 x virgin mobiles not connecting to internet via hub 3.0

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
90 Views
Message 6 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2 x virgin mobiles not connecting to internet via hub 3.0

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

13310000001.440256 qam25
22030000003.440256 qam9
32110000003.240256 qam10
42190000003.240256 qam11
5227000000340256 qam12
62350000002.940256 qam13
72430000002.540256 qam14
8251000000240256 qam15
92590000001.740256 qam16
102670000001.240256 qam17
112750000000.940256 qam18
122830000000.740256 qam19
132910000000.740256 qam20
142990000000.940256 qam21
15307000000140256 qam22
163150000001.240256 qam23
173230000001.440256 qam24
183710000001.440256 qam26
193790000001.540256 qam27
203870000001.540256 qam28
213950000001.540256 qam29
224030000001.240256 qam30
234110000001.440256 qam31
244190000001.240256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.3110
2Locked40.3260
3Locked40.3280
4Locked40.9280
5Locked40.9290
6Locked40.9250
7Locked40.9240
8Locked40.9180
9Locked40.3180
10Locked40.3300
11Locked40.9220
12Locked40.3250
13Locked40.9260
14Locked40.3360
15Locked40.3420
16Locked40.9290
17Locked40.9270
18Locked40.3120
19Locked40.9220
20Locked40.3130
21Locked40.3200
22Locked40.3180
23Locked40.9160
24Locked40.321

0

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13939998828512064 qam2
22580000029.5512064 qam4
33260000028512064 qam3
44619999128512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0010
3ATDMA0010
4ATDMA0000

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
89 Views
Message 7 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2 x virgin mobiles not connecting to internet via hub 3.0

Not sure what happened at the bottom and hopefully it's usable. It would not allow me to Paste until the site had stripped out invalid html

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
xv9873254k;fg87dsfd;kfoA,.iye



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID474
Max Traffic Rate117000047
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID473
Max Traffic Rate10500047
Max Traffic Burst16320
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

15/11/2020 12:04:26noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/11/2020 23:12:14criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/11/2020 18:39:59noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/11/2020 00:29:22noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/11/2020 00:29:22ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/11/2020 20:00:10noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/11/2020 03:22:54criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/11/2020 01:10:53noticeSW download Successful - Via NMS
09/11/2020 01:09:3noticeSW Download INIT - Via NMS
07/11/2020 23:45:34noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/11/2020 23:45:34ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/11/2020 20:44:44criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/11/2020 12:14:2noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file
04/11/2020 12:11:32noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
03/11/2020 01:03:43criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/11/2020 01:03:9Warning!B-INIT-RNG Failure - Retries exceeded;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/11/2020 01:01:53criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/11/2020 00:57:52noticeNOTICE ATOM is restarted as part of Self Healing Mechanism;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/11/2020 00:47:32criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/11/2020 00:46:57Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.46K
  • 889
  • 1.46K
Alessandro Volta
87 Views
Message 8 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2 x virgin mobiles not connecting to internet via hub 3.0

Your Upstream Power Levels are too low.

This will need an engineer to put right.

You can either call in (08:00 is the best time) or wait on here for a few days (6 to 7 days average) until one of the VM Forum Staff comes along.

If you wait on here Do Not bump the thread it will put it further down the VM 'to do list'.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
82 Views
Message 9 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2 x virgin mobiles not connecting to internet via hub 3.0

Fantastic response. Thanks.

Was not looking forward to calling VM as I'm not a techie and would probably struggle to explain over the phone. I'll hang on a few days and see what happens. I'm lucky enough to be going to work atm so I'm not around much at home this week. Thanks again

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.46K
  • 889
  • 1.46K
Alessandro Volta
77 Views
Message 10 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2 x virgin mobiles not connecting to internet via hub 3.0

While you are waiting you may be as well refining your Wi-Fi management, it will certainly help keeping track of your Wi-Fi frequencies.

Best done with a cable connected device.

Instructions for Hub 3

Log in to the Hub.

Advanced Settings > Wireless Signal > click ‘Disable Channel Optimization’ > Click ‘Apply Changes’.

Advanced Settings > Wireless > Security > Add 2 to the 2.4GHz Channel name [SSID] > Add 5 to the 5 GHz Channel name [SSID] > Click ‘Apply Changes’

You can leave the passwords the same as they are. 

Log out of the Hub then reboot using this method ...

Switch the Hub off using the small switch on the rear of the Hub next to the power cord and pull the PSU plug from the wall socket.

Give it a good 5 minutes put the plug back in and switch the Hub back on.

Allow the Hub a few minutes to fully restart then try your Wi-Fi again.

You will need to reconnect all you Wi-Fi devices some will want to connect to 5Ghz and some to 2.4GHz and some will connect to either.

When you connect the devices do it at the furthest point from the Hub that the device will be used.

2.4GHz is a stronger signal but slower than 5GHz so if you have problems on 5GHz change to 2.4GHz.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020

0 Kudos
Reply