Menu
Reply
GutsyChavMonkey
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
215 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

2-4% Packet Loss with Super Hub 3

I've been having this problem for a few months I've been having intermittent lag while gaming and I thought it was my network adapter, but after pinging google on multiple devices I noticed 2-4% packet loss. 

I tested to see if there was trouble connecting to the router but there were no issues when pinging the router internally or externally from any device.

I've tried, resetting, changing channels, turning off Smart Wifi. I am also not able to connect a device through ethernet that can also test for packet loss.

0 Kudos
Reply
Z92
  • 2.01K
  • 166
  • 308
Problem sorter
202 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2-4% Packet Loss with Super Hub 3

If you are unable to setup a cable then you need to create a BQM so we can see the VM side of the connection: 

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Adduxi
  • 2.5K
  • 177
  • 511
Problem sorter
192 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2-4% Packet Loss with Super Hub 3


@GutsyChavMonkey wrote:

<snip>
I've tried, resetting, changing channels, turning off Smart Wifi. I am also not able to connect a device through ethernet that can also test for packet loss.


VM will not accept wifi tests, so you need to get an ethernet cable adapter or a temporary long ethernet cable to your kit.  Either of these will be cheap and you can keep them for any further tests in the future.

Also post your power level and network logs from the Hub for comments.  Do not post screenshots, but copy and paste the text from the logs.

0 Kudos
Reply
GutsyChavMonkey
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
167 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2-4% Packet Loss with Super Hub 3

I didn't want to have to do it partially because I was almost sure changing to ethernet would reproduce the same problem and checking would require me to carry my monitor and desktop over to the Hub 3 but I got it all connected and it reproduced the same problem, 2-4% packet loss. Here's power levels and network logs

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

13310000001.938256 qam25
22350000001.537256 qam13
32430000001.538256 qam14
42510000001.538256 qam15
52590000001.537256 qam16
62670000001.738256 qam17
72750000001.738256 qam18
82830000001.738256 qam19
92910000001.738256 qam20
102990000001.738256 qam21
113070000001.738256 qam22
123150000001.938256 qam23
133230000001.938256 qam24
143710000001.438256 qam26
153790000001.238256 qam27
163870000001.538256 qam28
173950000001.938256 qam29
18403000000238256 qam30
19411000000238256 qam31
204190000001.738256 qam32
21427000000238256 qam33
224350000002.438256 qam34
234430000002.238256 qam35
244510000002.538256 qam36

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

15370000046.8512064 qam2
23940000046512032 qam4
34620000046.3512064 qam3
46030000047512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0030
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

26/01/2021 15:20:24criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/01/2021 11:18:16noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/01/2021 11:13:45criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/01/2021 10:24:20noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/01/2021 10:24:15Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/01/2021 04:59:21criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/01/2021 04:03:30Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/01/2021 12:08:20criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/01/2021 11:44:20Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/01/2021 11:13:11criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/01/2021 10:49:23ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/01/2021 04:22:19criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/01/2021 23:13:51Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/01/2021 22:44:11criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/01/2021 21:39:28Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/01/2021 15:40:30criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/01/2021 13:14:28Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/01/2021 12:42:41criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/01/2021 11:16:0Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/01/2021 16:15:9criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

0 Kudos
Reply
GutsyChavMonkey
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
166 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2-4% Packet Loss with Super Hub 3

I've had a broadband monitor set up for a while, here's todays monitor:

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/2b3ffd56472155077cd92774ffaf089c957031bf-26-01-2021



 

0 Kudos
Reply
Z92
  • 2.01K
  • 166
  • 308
Problem sorter
149 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: 2-4% Packet Loss with Super Hub 3

Seems like you have a small upstream problem. When was the last time you rebooted your router? 

0 Kudos
Reply
GutsyChavMonkey
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
137 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2-4% Packet Loss with Super Hub 3

I tried rebooting it yesterday, was one of the first things I tried

0 Kudos
Reply
Adduxi
  • 2.5K
  • 177
  • 511
Problem sorter
132 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: 2-4% Packet Loss with Super Hub 3

The Upstream channel 2 is running at 32QAM which suggests noise ingress.  They should all be at 64QAM.  Check all connections are tight from the Hub to outside box.  Otherwise you will need an engineer to fix this.

0 Kudos
Reply
GutsyChavMonkey
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
121 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2-4% Packet Loss with Super Hub 3

I see what you mean about channel 2, it keeps switching between 64qam and 32qam periodically when I refresh. Today I'm averaging a 1% packet loss. I've made sure all the connections are tight

0 Kudos
Reply
Z92
  • 2.01K
  • 166
  • 308
Problem sorter
116 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2-4% Packet Loss with Super Hub 3

Don't forget there's usually an outside box which has a connector on as well, make sure that's tight too and not corroded. 

0 Kudos
Reply