Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
121 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

1 Gig HUB4 - Upload speed issue

I'm extremely annoyed that i had to wait for a 40min call with a virgin operative and have it cut out when they pick up.

I've been experiencing very bad upload speed for the past few days and thought that it would be resolved as i recently got the 1 Gig hub.

I've restarted my new router, did the crappy signal thing which does nothing and called in as well.

Capture.PNG

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.67K
  • 288
  • 516
Superfast
116 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1 Gig HUB4 - Upload speed issue


@Ryukami-VM wrote:

I'm extremely annoyed that i had to wait for a 40min call with a virgin operative and have it cut out when they pick up.

I've been experiencing very bad upload speed for the past few days and thought that it would be resolved as i recently got the 1 Gig hub.

I've restarted my new router, did the crappy signal thing which does nothing and called in as well.

Capture.PNG


Could you access your router using http://192.168.0.1/ or http://192.168.100.1 for modem mode . Log in, select the 'Advanced settings / Tools / Network status' option and paste your 'Downstream', 'Upstream', and 'Network Log' tabs? Please copy/paste this data as text, split between multiple posts (Sometimes you have to click 'Post' twice due to an error message).

Could you please create a BQM (Broadband Quality Monitor) here, and post the live link?

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 25.12K
  • 1.44K
  • 3.2K
Alessandro Volta
115 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1 Gig HUB4 - Upload speed issue


@Ryukami-VM wrote:

I'm extremely annoyed that i had to wait for a 40min call with a virgin operative and have it cut out when they pick up.

I've been experiencing very bad upload speed for the past few days and thought that it would be resolved as i recently got the 1 Gig hub.

I've restarted my new router, did the crappy signal thing which does nothing and called in as well.

Capture.PNG


Post the network, upstream and downstream logs from the hubs admin pages


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
109 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1 Gig HUB4 - Upload speed issue

3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

304027500004.69999740.946209QAM25630
11387500003.29999940.366287QAM2561
21467500003.50000040.366287QAM2562
31547500003.70000140.366287QAM2563
41627500003.79999938.983261QAM2564
51707500003.70000140.946209QAM2565
61787500003.90000240.366287QAM2566
71867500004.19999740.366287QAM2567
81947500004.40000240.946209QAM2568
92027500004.19999740.366287QAM2569
102107500004.19999740.366287QAM25610
112187500004.19999740.946209QAM25611
122267500004.09999840.366287QAM25612
132347500004.09999840.366287QAM25613
142427500004.00000040.366287QAM25614
152507500003.90000240.366287QAM25615
162587500003.90000240.366287QAM25616
172667500003.79999940.366287QAM25617
182747500004.09999840.366287QAM25618
192827500004.09999840.366287QAM25619
202907500003.90000240.366287QAM25620
212987500003.50000040.366287QAM25621
223067500003.09999840.946209QAM25622
233147500003.09999840.366287QAM25623
243227500003.40000240.366287QAM25624
253307500003.70000140.366287QAM25625
263707500004.30000340.366287QAM25626
273787500004.30000340.366287QAM25627
283867500004.30000340.366287QAM25628
293947500004.50000040.366287QAM25629
314107500004.80000340.946209QAM25631



3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Lock Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

30Locked000
1Locked49478628300
2Locked17937684400
3Locked18377015600
4Locked18419226600
5Locked50040657800
6Locked18449164800
7Locked17938942900
8Locked12543036400
9Locked12520675200
10Locked12495570000
11Locked11988910900
12Locked11243503800
13Locked11520727100
14Locked11299511300
15Locked11262071900
16Locked11406002600
17Locked11724209700
18Locked12225175200
19Locked12619535000
20Locked12265464500
21Locked12836020200
22Locked12916758100
23Locked12212008500
24Locked47656284900
25Locked15388088600
26Locked15101823400
27Locked14535574800
28Locked14745091700
29Locked13714934100
31Locked47262806600



3.1 Downstream channelsChannel Channel Width (MHz) FFT Type Number of Active Subcarriers Modulation (Active Profile) First Active Subcarrier (Hz)
33864K1680QAM4096424


3.1 Downstream channelsChannel ID Lock Status RxMER Data (dB) PLC Power (dBmV) Correcteds (Active Profile) Uncorrectables (Active Profile)
33Locked 5.033421280

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
108 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1 Gig HUB4 - Upload speed issue

3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13260000037.7705995120 KSym/sec8QAM3
22580000037.5205995120 KSym/sec8QAM4
34620000037.7705995120 KSym/sec8QAM1
43940000037.7705995120 KSym/sec8QAM2



3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1US_TYPE_STDMA0020
2US_TYPE_STDMA0020
3US_TYPE_STDMA0020
4US_TYPE_STDMA0020

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 25.12K
  • 1.44K
  • 3.2K
Alessandro Volta
99 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1 Gig HUB4 - Upload speed issue

Upload on 8QAM when it should be 64QAM.

One thing to try - power the hub off and make sure the Coax cable is correctly seated and tight at both ends (hub and wallbox - unscrew then re-screw them again to be sure).

Then power on the hub and try another test.

*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.67K
  • 288
  • 516
Superfast
97 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1 Gig HUB4 - Upload speed issue


@Ryukami-VM wrote:

3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13260000037.7705995120 KSym/sec8QAM3
22580000037.5205995120 KSym/sec8QAM4
34620000037.7705995120 KSym/sec8QAM1
43940000037.7705995120 KSym/sec8QAM2



3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1US_TYPE_STDMA0020
2US_TYPE_STDMA0020
3US_TYPE_STDMA0020
4US_TYPE_STDMA0020

 


All of your upstream channels are out of spec on the QAM value (Should be 64).

This explains why you have a slow upload speed.

This will need an engineer visit to correct.

You can:

  • EDIT: Do as Gary says above first.
  • Try to contact VM again by phone.
  • Text them on 07533051809.
  • Wait 5 - 7 days for a response on here by the VM staff.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
85 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1 Gig HUB4 - Upload speed issue

I have done what Gary has stated twice and no luck.

Still waiting for someone to pick up after 51mins on wait...

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
67 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1 Gig HUB4 - Upload speed issue

Seriously???!!??? 2 hour wait and the hub 4 specialist team picks up.
Says nothing for a good 3 minutes and hangs up???
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 25.12K
  • 1.44K
  • 3.2K
Alessandro Volta
61 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1 Gig HUB4 - Upload speed issue

You can persist with the phone, use the SMS service, or wait 5-7 days for a mod to respond here.

*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply