cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New customer. Two problems. Not happy!

wesw82
On our wavelength

I’m brand new to VM. I’ve just switched from BT. As welcomes go, VM have to have given me the worst welcome ever. 

My QuickStart package was left outside in the rain by Yodel. The courier didn’t knock or ring my bright red video doorbell. 

Problems (so far!):

When attempting to sign up for My Virgin Media, I enter my details as written on my VM contract. I am then met with an error message:

Oops, we've ran into a problem.
Wait a minute and try again. If this doesn't work, please come back later. (Code: DEF01)

I’ve tried countless times and using different browsers and devices. I’ve cleared the caches on each browser. Nothing works. 

Like many others, when trying to activate Volt benefits (I’ve got an O2 pay monthly contract) now that I’m a VM customer, I’m told to sign up with VM when I try to activate it through My O2 and when I try to sort it via my VM I can’t because of problem number 1! 

This is infuriating. Add on to this that the design of the Hub 3 is ridiculous. It’s designed so that it tips over backwards if you attach the power brick and any number of Ethernet cables into the back of it. The unit that arrived with me when I received my kit was also clearly a second hand unit with scuffs and scratches and a worrying rattling sound. 

TL:DR - can’t sign up for My Virgin Media and can’t activate Volt benefits! I’ll be leaving during my cooling off period and going elsewhere unless this is sorted within the week! 

11 REPLIES 11

Ilyas_Y
Forum Team
Forum Team

Hey @wesw82, thanks for reaching out to us and a warm welcome to the Virgin Media forums!

I'm sorry to hear about the poor journey you've had since joining with Virgin Media, it is definitely not the service we wish to deliver.