Menu
Highlighted
Joining in
Message 1 of 3
Flag for a moderator

Wrong contract length

Hey guys
I'm a student, and was looking to cancel my last contract (12 months period had just ended) and was offered a new contract for another 12 months at a less price. The guy on the phone assured me constantly that it was 12 months, and that it would say 18 months initially but to ignore as it was 12 months, and would say so later. I checked and checked and he was insistent that it was going to be 12 months, so I said yes to the deal.

Now I have a contract that says 18 months, and I am fairly sure that it is not going to be 12 months. I feel somewhat scammed, and unsure of what to do. This is not the length that I agreed to and I feel like I am stuck on false information. 

I'm a student - I wouldn't agree to longer than 12 months. 

Any advice on what I should do? If I have any legal grounds or whether I'm just stuck here.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 2 of 3
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wrong contract length

These "didn't get the deal I agreed" situations happen from time to time.  However, your legal rights are crystal clear - information provided by a company verbally or written is binding if the consumer relies upon it when entering a contract (Consumer Rights Act 2015), so VM have to honour whatever was promised, whether they like it or not.  And perhaps they need to re-train some of their staff, because this sounds like the agent realised he wouldn't get you to agree 18 months, and simply lied to get the sale.