cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cancellation insanity

philtimm
Joining in

Hi, all.

I have been out of my 18 month contract for about 4 months.  I've been paying £65/month for a few months, now, but have decided to change broadband providers.

I talked to a UK based member of the retentions team who were unable to provide an "offer" price that was better than my new broadband provider.

I've been on the phone for about 45 minutes to a call centre person and I have absolutely lost my temper with this poor, inevitably minimum-wage phone operator.

I just wanted to cancel my service.  I have already had the sales pitch with a too-high offer.  I don't want to discuss my new provider, their price, their speed, how many devices are connected to wifi. I just want to notify them of my 30 days notice of disconnection.

But again and again I was told "I hear that you want to cancel, sir, but can you please help me understand why you want to leave." No. I just want to cancel. "OK, sir, can you please tell me how many wireless devices you use" No, please just start my cancellation. "OK, sir, I just want to understand why you don't want this package.  I see you have been with us for a long ti-" NO, I JUST WANT TO CANCEL MY VIRGIN MEDIA SERVICE PLEASE.  "I understand sir, but can you please help me understa-" 

And so on, round and round for probably 20 minutes, at the end of which I was absolutely apoplectic with rage, screaming down the phone.    I asked her if she was a human being - as I was seriously starting to think she was a bot.  I asked her if she was enjoying this interaction.  She said she was not.  I asked her to just do as I had repeatedly asked, and cancel my service.