Menu
DCFC79
Dialled in
Message 1 of 34
Flag for a moderator

Best way to keep landline number but also sign up as a new customer

I posted back in July about transferring the account into a parents name but also making sure she gets the best deal, the transferring of the account isn't an issue as such as Ive done that before, its making sure she pays less than what I do now (its about £70 a month), is this possible to do ?

Would she be classed as a new customer to get a better deal but also keep the landline number ?

Previous question is here

Thanks for the advice.

0 Kudos
VM-Jon
Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 2 of 34
Flag for a moderator

Re: Best way to keep landline number but also sign up as a new customer

To take a new customer deal it needs to be a new customer so you would need to cancel your contract and then your parents would need to join in their name.

keeping the number is something that can be done but it’s a little more tricky 

Here to help! I'm an install manager helping out whilst working from home. Find out more

Anonymous
Not applicable
Message 3 of 34
Flag for a moderator

if you cancel your account the number can;t be ported. so you risk losing it.

Why not look at something like voip provider like www.sipgate.co.uk to port your number to and not have to pay line rental and be able to use the number anywhere with a internet conenction
VM-Jon
Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 4 of 34
Flag for a moderator

It doesn’t sound like the customer wishes to port their number to or from another provider so it should be fine.

Happy to help if you would like some support in making this happen.

Jon

Here to help! I'm an install manager helping out whilst working from home. Find out more

Anonymous
Not applicable
Message 5 of 34
Flag for a moderator

@VM-Jon can you confirm that if an account has been cancelled that the number can still be moved?
Also how long after the number is cancelled can it be moved?