Menu
Highlighted
Tuning in
Message 1 of 3
Flag for a moderator

Account Holder Passed Away - transferred but have email addresses concerns

Hi there

The account was originally in my mother's name, who very sadly passed away in January. I called up to get the account transferred into my name, which has been done. I've logged in using the new account number, and changed the main email address from her old gmail account, to mine (I spoke to one of your tech support guys earlier who said that it had to be a non-ntlworld/non-virginmedia email address). I have also updated the contact details to my name and also changed the email address too, and updated the security questions.

When I originally rang up to inform of the death of the account holder I was told that when the account transfers, my ntlworld email address, which I've been using for around 10+ years, would expire after a month or so, and I would have to use a new @virginmedia.com account instead. Is this correct? Am I going to lose use of the email address I've had for so long? I've tried creating the same first part of the email address but with the @virginmedia.com domain instead, but it says that it isnt available. I tried sending a test email to that address but it is bouncing back, so it seems that this address may be reserved for me? Can it be allocated to me? Or is it not necessary?

I just need some clarity on whether I can continue using my ntlworld.com mail indefinitely or is it going to expire and I'll have to use a new one?

The guy I spoke to in tech support over the phone said that I should be able to add the existing email address into the "manage accounts" section but I said that the option wasnt there, he then said that the option should be there and he said he will have to login to my account and asked me for the password, I made an excuse and ended the call as I dont believe that anyone should be asking for my password and logging in as me? (correct me if I'm wrong)

So, in summary:-