Menu
Highlighted
Dialled in
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

150 retention more staff answering from home now during lockdown

Ofcom rules came into force on 15 February 2020 before lockdown and shortage of staff, to make sure you can see whether you’re on the best deal and not an automatic price rise. Virgin/Sky must inform you of their best deals, including any prices only available to new customers. Phone, broadband and pay-TV companies have to warn customers between 10 and 40 days before their contract comes to an end.

I don't know anyone who has received a new deal from Virgin under Ofcom rules but my contract is up shortly and I needed to give 30 days notice or renegotiate.

I phoned retention on 150 Virgin landline and to their credit they answered within 10 minutes. I explained the same thing I have been explaining annually for the past 20 years and in the end got their bigger bundle with movies for the same price I am paying now. When I got my contract the movies was for 6 months not 12 as promised but the price will go up in 6 months time. So I phoned Virgin back which again they answered within 15 minutes but was told only a manager can sort out my contract problem and he would email the manager who would phone me back before 9pm.

Four days later I am still waiting and gave them another call which was answered within 20 minutes only to be told the manager is aware and is listening to my previous phone conversations with the agent who gave me the contract and there is nothing retention can do until the manager phones me which I am still waiting for him to do.

For me at the moment getting through to retention isn't a problem as they have extra staff working from home. The real problem started when I received a contract that I didn't agree over the phone with a Virgin agent and trying to resolve it.